國泰航空由客機改裝成的「貨運客機」首航

波音777客機啟程飛往悉尼,所有貨物穩妥地固定於機艙地板

今年新型冠狀病毒疫情反覆,空運業無論是在運力或靈活度方面,均面臨極大的調度需求。

一直以來,國泰貨運均可透過其專屬波音747貨機機隊及客機提供運力,滿足客戶需求,然而疫情期間客機幾乎全面停飛,因此無法利用客機機腹載貨,為貨運業務帶來挑戰,尤其在需求突然激增之際。雖然國泰貨運已獲得香港民航處批准,利用客運航機改為只運載貨物,更有部分航班獲准將貨物固定在乘客座椅上和艙頂置物櫃內營運,但整體運力仍然有限。

因此,國泰航空推出一個新的解決方案,並於本月早前於一架飛往悉尼、專門載貨的波音777客機上啟用。B-KQQ航機是國泰機隊中兩架被改裝成「貨運客機」的波音777飛機之一,其經濟艙和特選經濟艙內的座椅已全部移除,在實施額外的安檢措施下,可另外運載多12噸貨物。

國泰貨運產品經理梁煒鏗表示:「在客機停飛的情況下,空運市場的運力需求依然強勁,再者,中國内地的工廠仍然正常生產,因此仍未能滿足貨運需求。」

澳洲便是對貨運需求殷切的目的地之一。梁煒鏗指出:「由於航班數量減少,當地的貨運需求量頗大,所以我們採用這個解決方案以增加貨運運力。」

這架客機的改裝工作由廈門太古飛機工程有限公司(HAECO)負責。 改裝工作於其廈門的設施進行,包括拆除機艙座椅、修改座椅軌道以便將貨物固定於地板,以及標記繫繩點和放置特製貨物袋的位置。

所有改裝項目均遵照波音公司和監管機構的要求,當中包括在每個客艙內保留最前排及最後排座椅,此舉可預防貨物萬一在亂流期間移位,不會碰撞到艙門和艙壁。由於貨物袋已被固定於三個客艙內23個位置上,發生上述情況的可能性極小。

(左起)梁煒鏗及梁世豪

國泰貨運的貨運標準政策及營運支援經理梁世豪表示:「這些貨物袋專為是次解決方案度身訂造,同時也應香港民航處的要求而設。做法雖與其他航空公司不同,但是這些貨物袋用了具有阻燃功能的物料而製,既符合機艙內裝要求,亦有助保持貨物的形狀。」

每個貨物袋均會以貨網和索帶加強固定。為了進一步保障安全,機組人員會在航機上巡視檢查。首航團隊由機艙服務經理Gloria  Lanorias帶領,另外還有兩名機組人員隨行。

他們都對這些「沉默的乘客」很感興趣。Lanorias表示:「它們都固定得非常穩妥,安坐椅上,看起來非常『乖巧』。」在飛行途中,隨行的機組人員每隔20到30分鐘會巡視一次貨物。然而,這只是一項額外的安全防範措施,因為危險及需特殊處理的貨物均不會獲准放置在客艙內。

「貨運客機」面臨的最大挑戰,可能是裝載貨物的過程。由於涉及多個前所未有的工序,因此更加需要國泰上下多個團隊通力合作。在國泰航空貨運站內,貨運團隊按照機艙內貨物袋的擺放位置裝載AKE集裝箱,之後再由國泰子公司香港機場地勤服務(HAS)以拖車運至飛機旁,再逐一把貨物裝入國泰航空飲食服務的貨車。工作人員將貨車升至機尾的艙門位置,再將貨物以手推車推入機艙,並依照拼裝負載表裝入貨物袋,最後由另一個HAS團隊關上拉鏈並固定。

這是一個勞力密集的過程,因此需要預留足夠時間讓地勤人員工作。「貨運客機」首航時,比往常花費了更多時間才將總重約五公噸的521箱服飾運上飛機。涉及的貨物愈多,裝載時間愈長。

但梁世豪認為,就首航的經驗來說,「貨運客機」的裝載時間應該可輕鬆縮短至三小時。 他說:「總有進步的空間。」

目前只有兩架飛機已改裝為「貨運客機」,但隨著2020進入下半年及疫情持續發展,情況或許會有改變。梁煒鏗補充說:「目前正值踏入貨運高峰期,所以如果市場需求持續並且在合乎商業營運許可下,我們將會改裝更多客機成為『貨運客機』。」

機長Mark Chumas(中)及其他領航員
香港機場地勤服務 (HAS) 團隊

Cathay Pacific’s passenger ‘preighter’ makes its debut

Boeing 777 takes off for Sydney with cargo secured to cabin floor

There have been two overwhelming requirements on air cargo carriers this year during the ebbs and flows brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic – capacity and flexibility.

As a combination carrier with a dedicated Boeing 747 freighter fleet, Cathay Pacific Cargo has always been able to deliver, but the loss of belly space due to the near-grounding of the passenger fleet has made operations more challenging, especially during sudden peaks in demand. Even with hundreds of cargo-only passenger flights – some with certification from the Hong Kong Civil Aviation Department (HKCAD) to operate flights with cargo secured in passenger seats and overhead baggage bins – overall capacity remains limited.

Now, Cathay Pacific has a new option, which debuted earlier this month on a Boeing 777 cargo-only flight to Sydney. Aircraft B-KQQ is one of two B777s in the fleet that have been converted into ‘preighters’, with seats removed in the Economy and Premium Economy cabins to enable us to carry 12 tonnes of additional cargo under extra safety and security measures.

Cargo Products Manager Alex Leung said: ‘Capacity in the air cargo market is still in high demand with the grounding of passenger aircraft, but factories in the Chinese mainland are still running so there is some need for cargo that isn’t being met in the market.’

Australia is one of those demand points. ‘There is a significant demand there because of the reduction in the number of flights, so we looked at this as a solution to increase our cargo capacity,’ said Leung.

The aircraft was modified at the HAECO facility in Xiamen. Seats were removed and modifications made to the seat track to enable cargo to be secured to the floor, as well as markings for the lashing points and bespoke cargo bags.

All changes conformed to Boeing and regulator requirements, which included keeping the front and rear seat rows in place inside each cabin to protect the doors and bulkheads in case cargo shifts during turbulence. But with cargo bags secured across 23 positions in three cabin areas, such an event would be highly unlikely.

B777 Preighter Cathay Pacific Cargo
(From left) Simon Leung & Alex Leung

Cathay Pacific Cargo Standards Policy and Operations Support Manager Simon Leung said: ‘These cargo bags are tailor-made for this project, and it is part of the HKCAD requirement. It’s different to what other carriers are doing, but the bag is made from a fire- retardant material, which meets the compartment interiors requirement and helps keep the cargo shape.’

Each bag is further secured by cargo nets and lashings. To add a further layer of safety, cabin crew are on board to serve as cargo marshals. The team on the inaugural flight was led by ISM (Inflight Services Manager) Gloria Lanorias, accompanied by two cabin crew.

They were all intrigued by the silent passengers. ‘They look well strapped in and as if they are going to be very well behaved,’ Lanorias said. Teams like hers check on the cargo every 20 to 30 minutes during the flight. However, because dangerous and special-handling cargo is not permitted in the cabin, this is mainly an extra safety precaution.

Perhaps the biggest challenge with the preighters is in the loading process. With so many innovations involved, it calls for the efforts of a number of teams across the business. In the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal, the team loads AKE containers to replicate the bag positions in the cabin. These are towed aircraft side by ground-handling subsidiary HAS, and unloaded one box at a time into Cathay Pacific Catering Service trucks that rise up to the rear doors of the aircraft. Boxes are then wheeled into the cabin, loaded into cargo bags as per the load plan, and finally zipped and secured by another HAS team.

This is a labour-intensive process, so enough ground time has to be factored in. For the first commercial flight, more ground time was factored in to load the 521 boxes of garments totaling around five tonnes. The more boxes, the longer the load time.

But Simon Leung believes that preighter load times can be brought down to three hours quite comfortably, as on the debut flight. ‘But there is always room for improvement,’ he said.

For now, just two aircraft have been converted into preighters, but as both the year and the pandemic progress, that could change. Alex Leung added: ‘It’s traditionally the peak period, so we will convert more if market demand persists and justifies the operations commercially.’

B777 Preighter first flight Cathay Pacific cabin crew
Captain Mark Chumas (centre) and the cargo marshals
The Hong Kong Airport Services (HAS) team