前瞻國泰貨運的數碼技術

隨著集裝箱區塊鏈追蹤管理系統於全球推行,提升追蹤技術的工作亦進行得如火如荼

國泰貨運一直抓緊機遇,善用數碼化和自動化航空貨運流程的優勢,至今已透過區塊鏈網絡技術和新一代的貨件追蹤技術進行多項試驗計劃。國泰一直積極探索運用創新科技為本,旨在為業界及客戶提供更方便快捷的服務。現時正是檢視其成效的最佳時機,並提供明確指引,讓客戶了解到何時可試行當前我們提供的服務。

國泰貨運服務總經理劉爾修表示:「這些積極主動的解決方案,反映出我們採用領先業界的數碼技術,加強客戶服務及更謹慎地處理貨物,矢志成為以客為本的最佳航空貨運服務供應商,同時鞏固香港作為全球空運樞紐的領先地位。」

集裝箱區塊鏈追蹤管理系統

2019年,國泰貨運成為以區塊鏈記錄集裝箱保管情況的首家航空公司,並於旗下位於香港國際機場的貨運站試行該項技術。第二階段推行之際,香港的貨運代理亦納入系統參與其中。

在數碼化系統推出之前,當司機交付預先包裝好的貨物或領取集裝箱時,他們必須在提單上寫下集裝箱的編號,並在貨運站親手領取及提交文件。在新系統實施後,他們可以透過專屬的智能手機應用程式輸入集裝箱的編號,該程式會在區塊鏈的分類記帳內,將集裝箱的保管轉換情況記錄下來,故貨運代理及航空公司雙方均清楚知道集裝箱當時由哪一方保管。

電子貨運及數碼協作經理許進豪

由於此系統可加快集裝箱的交接過程,並有助增加透明度,推行至今已獲得各方貨運代理接納及採用,使用率更已逐步上升至77%。

現在,司機交收集裝箱時已不用在貨運站內等待,還可避免在收據上因手寫錯誤而需重新核對及填寫集裝箱的編號。一位參與問卷調查的受訪者說:「我們的司機很喜歡這個安排。下雨時,他們無需下車前往車輛管制辦事處遞交文件。」

區塊鏈系統新一階段的試驗計劃亦已於今年9月開展,在美國包括邁阿密、紐約的約翰甘迺迪、芝加哥及洛杉磯四個航站實施。電子貨運及數碼協作經理許進豪表示:「透過新系統的定位資料,現在我們便可掌握集裝箱在機場的確實位置。」

以上技術是通過使用來自集裝箱控制訊息(ULD control message,簡稱UCM)的現有數據,並將之加入區塊鏈分類記帳之中,以提供更多定位詳情。許進豪說:「當航機起飛時,UCM會明確顯示該集裝箱是用於運送郵件、行李或是貨物。有了這些數據,我們知道集裝箱在抵達目的地後會送往相應的設施,並得知其所在位置。這是一個簡單、卻極為有用的解決方案。」

此數碼化系統將陸續於全球各地推行,同時還會進一步使用自動化的藍牙追蹤器,並勢將成為新一代貨件追蹤技術的首選工具。

許進豪又指出:「一個全面的智能解決方案,必須完美結合軟件和硬件。有賴我們的資訊科技團隊設計的應用程式,讓區塊鏈的分類記帳行之有效。下一個階段便是妥善整合前台的智能硬件,因為萬一用戶輸入錯誤資料,區塊鏈記錄便會出錯。」

我們未來的目標,是利用藍牙技術,讓系統自動記錄集裝箱所在位置的相關數據。今年年底,將開始為全數兩萬多個集裝箱加裝藍牙閱讀器,區塊鏈的分類記帳便會自動操作,確保整個流程萬無一失。由於大部分集裝箱是按照合约與多家航空公司的共用資源,所以加裝藍牙閱讀器較為需時。許進豪指出:「我們預計於兩年內方能將集裝箱完全智能化。」

採用低功耗藍牙裝置(BLE)似乎是領導業界的新興技術,因為它在運作時不會像RFID等近場通訊技術般受到干擾,也不需要掃描打印出來的二維碼。另外,裝有應用程式的智能裝置便成為用戶手中的硬件,讓不同航空公司的貨運代理也可以共同使用。許進豪表示,其團隊目前正與ULD CARE公司和國際航空運輸協會的工作小組合作,致力建立更為普及化的用戶體驗。

新一代貨件追蹤技術

隨著新一代貨物追蹤解決方案的出現,新興技術亦帶動供應商、各種系統和藍本陸續湧現,而記錄及追蹤集裝箱中要特別處理的貴重及鮮活貨物的最佳選擇,似乎又非BLE莫屬。國泰電子貨運主管林美萍說:「隨著更多航空公司選擇藍牙技術作為追蹤集裝箱的解決方案,愈來愈多機場設施開始使用藍牙閱讀器,啟發我們採用相同的技術來追蹤貨件。」

藍牙解決方案可在必要時提供GPS定位,並記錄貨物在溫度、濕度、光線和有否受到震動的情況。許進豪表示這並不是一種新的概念,很多托運藥品的公司都會使用數據記錄儀來記錄相關資料,但當中也存在一些問題。「許多這類型的記錄儀普遍採用手提電話的晶片來實時發送數據。你可以把它想像成一部不斷記錄GPS位置和溫度的手機,它每到一個地方便會不斷搜尋當地的流動網絡,每隔約15分鐘上傳一次數據。這種 『手機 』的價格不菲,然而電池壽命卻很短。」

藍牙傳輸器與流動裝置的分別,在於前者低成本及低功耗,意即電池壽命較長,可維持多於一年;而連接流動網絡的記錄儀約每15分鐘傳輸一次數據,電池壽命則只足夠用上一星期左右。然而,很多代理只會在貨物抵達目的地後才下載數據作為調查之用。許進豪表示:「貨運代理檢查時發現溫度設定值有所偏差,但貨物已完成付運,此時才聯絡我們糾正問題亦為時已晚。我們希望提供一個更具主導性的解決方案,以預防類似的情況發生。 」

國泰貨運將於2021年初實施試行計劃,推出更具牽頭性的解決方案,為貨運代理提供可應用於個別貨物的藍牙追蹤裝置,再於明年上半年內,於多個外站機場分階段試行。當貨物抵達貨運站時,追蹤系統便即時啟動,專屬團隊將全天候24小時監控貨運站內每個傳輸設備的感應器,並於必要時作出補救行動,重新調整溫度設定值。貨運代理亦可如往常一樣,透過為此而優化的Ezycargo系統或在cathaypacificcargo.com網站,輸入提單編號來查看貨物的情況。

許進豪說:「系統會實時接收數據,每當紅燈亮起,工作人員就會開啟服務記錄,而客戶則會收到一封提示有關狀態更新的郵件。我們可以因應情況派人前往檢查貨物的狀況,並當場即時解決問題。」

在貨運站內,閱讀器的作用是讀取數據,而在出發地及目的地機場的停機坪區域,則會透過智能手機的應用程式提供數據。然而,當貨物從停機坪送往航站再上機的這段短暫路程,則無法取得實時數據,在航機上的情況也一樣。這是由於機上提供無線網絡服務尚未於航空業全面普及,而航空公司亦有可能因應營運需求而更改是否提供此服務。

儘管系統已通過概念驗證,在明年首次試驗和推出前仍有些工作需要完成,其中包括選擇合適的硬件供應商。國泰貨運產品經理梁煒鏗說:「我們亦正在考慮成本計算的模式,探討應該按月費提供服務,或是一次性付清貨運成本。」

我們相信,透過採用先進的科技,國泰貨運為用戶提供開放、可靠及具主導性的高質素服務將指日可待。

許進豪(圖中)與國泰貨運團隊
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Digital future of Cathay Pacific Cargo

As blockchain ULD tracking continues to roll out worldwide, high-tech tracking enhancements are in the works

Cathay Pacific Cargo is seizing the opportunities and benefits that digitisation and automation can offer the air cargo industry – and its customers. To date, there have been a number of proof of concepts using blockchain and trialling next-generation track and trace, so now is a good time to take stock of these evolving programmes of innovation and outline what customers can expect – and when.

As Frosti Lau, Cathay Pacific General Manager Cargo Service Delivery, says: ‘These proactive solutions typify both our industry-leading adoption of technology to improve our service and care, which underpins our ambition to be the world’s most customer-centric air cargo service provider, and to maintain the status of Hong Kong as the world’s number one air cargo hub.’

Blockchain ULD Management

In 2019, Cathay Pacific Cargo became the first airline to use blockchain to manage custody of its stock of Unit Load Devices (ULD), applying the technology in its own Cargo Terminal at Hong Kong International Airport. The second phase included Hong Kong cargo agents.

Previously when drivers delivered or collected pre-packed shipments or empty ULDs, they would write down the ULD numbers and manually exchange the paperwork at the Cargo Terminal. Under the new system, they can enter the ULD number into a dedicated smartphone app that logs the transfer of custody in a blockchain ledger, so both parties – agent and airline – know who has custody of which ULD.

Calvin Hui, Cargo Digital Manager - Transformation

So far, this process has gone over well with agents, with the adoption rate gradually increasing post-rollout to an adoption rate of 77 per cent because it speeds up the handover process and provides better visibility.

Now, drivers do not have to wait for ULD transfers at the terminal, nor to recheck and re-enter numbers if they have been incorrectly put in manually on receipts. One respondent to a user survey said: ‘Our drivers like it. When it’s raining, the driver doesn’t need to get out and go to the Truck Control Office.’

The new phase of the blockchain system rollout started in September, taking the technology overseas to four ports in the US – Miami, New York-JFK, Chicago and Los Angeles. The team also worked on finessing location information, said Calvin Hui, Cargo Digital Manager – Transformation. ‘We now know where the ULD is around the airport.’

This was done by using existing data from UCM (the ULD control message), and adding it in the ledger to give greater insight. Hui said: ‘When the flight departs, the UCM specifies if the ULD is being used for mail, baggage or cargo. With this data, we know on arrival it will go to the appropriate facility, and we know that’s where it is. It’s a simple solution, but it helps a lot.’

A wider global rollout is still to come, as well as further automation with Bluetooth trackers, which is becoming the technology of choice for next-generation track and trace.

Hui said: ‘The complete solution would be a smart solution combining both software and hardware. The blockchain is the software, and thanks to our IT team, we have that in place with the app and blockchain ledger. The next stage is to fix the front-end hardware because if the wrong information is entered, the blockchain record will be wrong.’

In the future, the aim is to automate the process using smart ULD Bluetooth technology. It will take some time to equip all of Cathay Pacific Cargo’s 20,000-plus ULDs, the majority of which are shared with a pool of airlines under a leasing contract. But the work to add Bluetooth readers will start late this year to make the process of entering data instant, automatic and fail-safe. ‘In two years’ time, we expect to have 100 per cent smart ULD capability,’ said Hui.

Low Energy Bluetooth (BLE) appears to be emerging as the leading technology, as it works without the interference that affects near-field technology like RFID or the need for QR codes that need to be ‘seen’ to be scanned. Plus it enables people to use smart devices as hardware for an app, enabling more commonality for agents working with different airlines. Hui said the team is working with ULD CARE and the IATA task force to create as common a user experience as possible.

The next-generation for track and trace

With the next-generation cargo-tracking solution, the emerging technology has brought about many vendors, systems and prototypes, but once again it seems that BLE is becoming the top choice for recording what happens in the box for high-value vulnerable and perishable shipments. ‘As more airlines are selecting the Bluetooth solution for ULD tracking, we are seeing a lot more Bluetooth readers within airport facilities, which gives us the inspiration to deploy cargo tracking using the same technology,’ said Clera Lam, Head of Cargo Digital.

The Bluetooth solution provides GPS location, if required, and records temperature, humidity, light and vibration. The idea is not new, as many pharma shippers use data loggers to record such information, but there are issues, Hui said. ‘Many of these loggers have tended to be based around a mobile phone chip to broadcast data in real time. Think of it as a cellular phone that keeps recording GPS location and temperature, that keeps on searching for a cellular network when it travels around the globe and uploading data every 15 minutes or so. This “mobile phone” will not be cheap, and the battery life will not be too long.’

Unlike cellular devices, Bluetooth transmitters are low cost, and their low power means longer battery life – around a year or more, rather than a week for a cellular logger transmitting approximately every 15 minutes. But many agents only download the data for post-shipment journey investigation. ‘That’s when agents contact us if they have detected a temperature excursion, but the shipment has gone and it’s not possible for us to remedy the situation,’ said Hui. ‘We want to offer a more proactive solution.’

Starting in a trial early next year, then rolling out to outports in a phased way from the first half of 2021, Cathay Pacific Cargo will offer a more proactive solution with a Bluetooth tracking device that agents can put into individual shipments. As shipments are delivered to the terminal, they will be tracked, and a dedicated team working 24/7 monitors the sensors from each transmitting device in cargo terminals and will take recovery actions when required. As with the current Ezycargo system or on cathaypacificcargo.com, agents will also get visibility by entering the AWB number.

‘The system will receive data in real time,’ said Hui. ‘If something flashes red, staff will open a service log, while customers will receive an email with a status update. We can get someone to check the shipment conditions, and whatever needs to be done then and there.’

In the cargo terminal, coverage will be supplied by readers, while coverage in the ramp area at the departure and arrival airports will be supplied by a smartphone app. However, the short journey from ramp to terminal to aircraft is out of scope for live coverage, as is the flight itself. Inflight Wi-Fi is not yet universal across the aviation industry, and operational requirements may mean an aircraft with internet connectivity is exchanged for one without.

Even with a proof of concept behind them, there is still work to be done before the first trial and rollout next year, which includes selecting the right hardware supplier. Alex Leung, Cargo Products Manager, said: ‘We are also thinking about the costing model – whether it is a monthly subscription for the service or a one-off shipment cost.’

But the future of an open, accountable and proactive quality of service through technology is drawing near.

Calvin (centre) and his team at Cathay Pacific Cargo