任重道遠的空中女王

40年前,國泰貨運買下第一架長程波音747廣體貨機,並將之命名為Hong Kong Trader

國泰貨運於40年前的4月下旬,與波音747貨機展開了長達40載休戚與共的緊密關係。

當年向英國航空公司購買的波音747F貨機,屬於國泰航空旗下首架專用貨機,展現了公司對未來航運業務及香港有潛力成為全球貨運樞紐的信心。這架「幾乎全新」的貨機命名為Hong Kong Trader,其後僅有另一架747貨機亦被冠上同樣的稱號。

回溯至1982年,國泰已積極部署衝出亞洲區的空運市場,建立更全面的長程貨運網絡。當時公司的客機機隊已有六架配備勞斯萊斯引擎的747航機,引進購自英航的珍寶貨機頓時令機隊如虎添翼。

改朝換代:G-KILO即將重新註冊為VR-HVY,並在滑行途中巧遇新主國泰航空的波音707貨機

波音747F貨機最初的註冊編號是G-KILO,轉投國泰機隊後重新登記為VR-HVY,可見兩家公司雖然對此珍寶貨機在尺寸和用途方面寄予厚望,但似乎對其實用性仍稍有疑慮。

儘管當時有傳言未來會出現全球經濟衰退,但其時市場氣氛其實相當樂觀。時任貨運銷售經理的顏堅信(Robert Atkinson)在《Cargo Clan》寫道:「購入波音747貨機讓我們的機隊實力更上一層樓,亦意味著國泰航空願意為貨運業務的長遠發展而大大增加投資成本。」

對國泰而言,購買這架貨機意義非凡,因此當年《Cargo Clan》編印特刊介紹貨機的抵港之旅,編者更開宗明義指出:「極少雜誌會將所有內容集中探討一個主題,而純粹圍繞一架飛機的話題就更非比尋常。但我們相信Hong Kong Trader理應尊享此等禮遇。」

國泰貨運與漢莎貨運簽訂商務合作協議至今多年,Hong Kong Trader令往來香港及歐洲的大型貨運航班數量倍增,同時覆蓋波斯灣內多個航點,並計劃將倫敦納入航線網絡之中。然而,顏堅信指出:「從經營短程的707窄體貨機轉為長程的747廣體貨機,我們不要高估兩者之間在物流方面的變動。」

Hong Kong Trader攝於新居啟德機場

他指出,由於漢莎貨運和國泰貨運各有兩班航班從香港出發,因此「我們將有能力進一步提供連接遠東至歐洲的卓越空運服務。」

他接著說:「就未來的發展,沒有人能預測世界經濟的動向,但香港已運籌帷幄,雖然你未必能感受得到,但絕對可以察覺到當中的轉變!」

其後,VR-HVY在國泰航空的職業生涯中度過了無數光輝歲月。除了在1991年短暫租借給英國皇家空軍外,它一直效力國泰貨運,並於1997年香港特別行政區成立之前,重新註冊為B-HVY,直至2008年光榮退役,被送往英國格羅斯特郡的肯布爾接受拆解。巧合的是,英航部分退役的747客機亦在那裡接受同樣的命運。

如今,國泰貨運旗下共有20架747貨機,當中包括14架新一代的747-8F型號,足證國泰在1982年獨具慧眼,已為未來的業務發展早作投資。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

A heavyweight signing

40 years ago, Cathay Pacific Cargo took the long-haul and wide-body plunge by buying its first Boeing 747 freighter, Hong Kong Trader

Cathay Pacific Cargo started its 40-year love affair with the Boeing 747 freighter in late April, 40 years ago.

Bought ‘nearly new’ from British Airways, the purpose-built Boeing 747F freighter was Cathay Pacific’s first, a commitment to the airline’s confidence in its future in air cargo, and the potential of Hong Kong as a global freight hub. It was dubbed Hong Kong Trader, the first of two 747 freighters to carry that name.

Back in 1982, Cathay was already partway through its push to break out of the regional market to start a more comprehensive long-haul carrier network. It already had six 747s in its passenger fleet equipped with Rolls-Royce engines, which made the ex-BA jumbo a natural fit.

Old and nearly new: G-KILO, soon to be VR-HVY, taxies past Cathay’s Boeing 707 freighter

Registered G-KILO with its previous owner, it entered service with Cathay Pacific Cargo as VR-HVY, which showed that both airlines had a wry appreciation of the utilitarian nature of the aircraft’s size and purpose.

The business mood at the time was bullish, despite the whisperings of a developing global recession. ‘This puts us in a completely new league,’ wrote then-Cargo Sales Manager Robert Atkinson in Cargo Clan. ‘It means Cathay Pacific’s long-term commitment to cargo in cash terms has increased to a very significant degree.’

The purchase was such a special occasion that Cargo Clan dedicated an entire issue to the aircraft’s arrival. ‘It is unusual for a magazine to devote an entire issue to one subject,’ said the editorial, ‘and even more so when that subject is an aircraft. We believe that Hong Kong Trader deserves this honour.’

Cathay Pacific Cargo was already (and remains) in a joint venture with Lufthansa, and Hong Kong Trader doubled the number of jumbo cargo flights between Europe and Hong Kong, with stops in the Gulf and plans to integrate London into the pattern. However, noted Atkinson: ‘The logistics change from a 707 narrow-bodied regional service to 747 long-haul wide-body service should not be over-estimated.’

New home: Hong Kong Trader at Kai Tak

He went on to observe that the two Lufthansa and two Cathay flights from Hong Kong ‘entitles us to stake a claim to providing the premier air freight service from the Far East to Europe.

‘As regards the future,’ he went on, ‘nobody knows the course of the world economy, but here in Hong Kong there’s definitely a movement – you can’t hear, touch or smell it but you can certainly sense it!’

VR-HVY went on to have an illustrious career with Cathay Pacific. Other than a quick spell on loan to the Royal Air Force in 1991, she continued in service and was reregistered in 1997 ahead of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, finishing her career as B-HVY. She retired in 2008, and was flown to Kemble in Gloucestershire to be cut up. Ironically, the same site and fate that is befalling some of BA’s retired passenger 747s.

Today, Cathay Pacific Cargo operates 20 747 freighters, including 14 next-generation 747-8Fs – proof that the boundless optimism of 1982 was indeed well-founded.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.