海空多式聯運應香港之急

第五波疫情導致跨境貨車運輸幾近停頓,香港國際機場的海空貨物聯運先導計劃確保部分貨品經船運順利抵港

利用船隻把貨物從大灣區運送到香港國際機場,以最快速的交通工具結合最緩慢的運輸模式,聽來有點不可思議,但實際上「逆境行舟」,卻證明成效顯著。

香港今年初經歷第五波2019冠狀病毒病疫情,包括限制跨境運輸的多項公共衛生措施,大大削減了入境香港的貨車數量。這些貨車一直負責運送供港的新鮮食品及其他日常必需品,可說是香港的商鋪和街市的命脈。

當跨境貨車都集中運送必需品到香港,能把貨物運送到機場的貨車便減少了。有見及此,部分代理商轉用水路,利用駁船把貨物沿珠江三角洲運到香港的碼頭,再轉運到機場。

這亦是香港國際機場擴充計劃的一部分,當中包括第三條跑道、新機場大樓,以及將會結合香港最大型購物商場、娛樂設施和餐飲場所於一身的航天城綜合發展項目。然而從貨運觀點考量,最重要的發展之一卻發生在機場範圍以外的地方:約六小時船程的東莞。

香港機場管理局(機管局)將會在東莞設立上游「香港國際機場物流園」,並在香港機場設立空側海空聯運貨運碼頭。碼頭和設施全部落成後,日後大灣區的出口貨品可在此完成清關、安檢、打板及收貨等步驟,通過海路直達香港國際機場禁區,再直接裝卸上機或運到貨運站。機管局表示希望此項目「能為本港物流業界創造嶄新的貨運模式,為香港國際機場帶來額外處貨量及業界的增長動力。」

今年春季陸路運輸幾近斷絕,有賴這個現時在東莞臨時地點營運的先導計劃,讓部分貨物得以送到香港國際機場以供出口。現時每星期有兩班船運(未來將會增加班次),把貨物從內地送到機場較僻靜的西端。隨著航天城發展,機場東面的主要基建附近將設有永久碼頭。

基於項目只屬先導計劃,現時貨物仍須送到香港國際機場的貨運站,先經過分拆、檢查和完成通關手續,才可裝載上機。在貨車短缺期間,先導計劃讓部分貨物能如常過境。

先導計劃的最終目標,是於9月全面啟用符合香港空運安全規定的出口設施。而目前計劃主要集中出口貨物,相信日後物流園啟用後,設施也可處理進口事宜。

那麼,計劃的實際運作到底如何?常見於香港水域的小型貨船經過改裝,運載著集裝箱穿梭於香港一帶的碼頭。它可承載能固定在船身的特製集裝器,以減少貨物搖動。這些集裝器可以運載加高的集裝板和集裝箱,抵達機場時,貨物可以直接滑進拖卡上。

國泰貨運銷售部經理(大灣區)鍾健美表示:「這些貨船提供相等於飛機32個主艙的艙位,或是64個AKE集裝箱的容量,與全貨機不相伯仲。」與飛機每小時500英里的速度相比,貨船船速維持於八節,即使航程共六小時,卻不遜於行走港珠澳大橋的貨車。鍾健美補充:「在東莞一帶,船運可說與陸運相輔相成。」

目前,貨車會繼續運載日常貨品,尤其是需要特別處理的貨物,而船運則只會運載一般貨物,當中不乏電子商貿貨物。鍾健美指出:「東莞的電子商貿代理數量驚人。然而不論顧客要運送什麼類型的貨物,我們都樂見他們嘗試這個新模式,並期待有機會進軍大灣區西南面的貨運服務。」

訪問貨運銷售部經理(大灣區)鍾健美

 

 

你在國泰貨運任職多久?

我在今年2月農曆新年後加入國泰航空,受到第五波疫情影響,我入職翌日便開始在家工作,直到4月24日才到公司上班,此前我只踏足過辦公室三次。加上入境限制,我至今還沒有機會到大灣區。

 

加入國泰之前從事什麼工作?

我之前在法荷航集團任貨運銷售部經理,駐守香港辦事處,同時兼顧廣州、廈門和後來新增的台北業務。我在此工作了16年,入職時擔任顧客服務部主任。

 

你的工作重心會在哪方面

南中國區的本地生產總值相當龐大,並且仍在不斷增長。我主要開發利用國泰特殊運送方案如Fresh LIFT的貨運業務,特別是進口貨物,因為大灣區居民都非常熱衷於購買貴重產品。如果我們可以加強不同運送方案的組合,同時突出國泰增值服務的效能,便可以提高收益。

至於出口貨物方面,大灣區是全國擁有最多《財富》美國500強企業的地區,包括部分資訊科技巨擘和電子商貿公司。這裡可說是中國內地最龐大的電子商貿樞紐,因此我們會努力不懈擴充在這區的市場佔有率。

 

你的團隊有多少人?

我們共有五人。目前我留在香港,而駐廣州的商務部團隊有兩位同事,還有一位新同事快將加入我們團隊。我的直屬上司是國泰貨運銷售部主管(香港及大灣區)游翊乾。

 

你公餘有什麼活動?

我覺得九龍一帶太人煙稠密,因此選擇居於西貢郊區。我喜歡郊外的海邊,閒暇時經常遠足和出海。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

A sea-to-air rescue for Hong Kong

When the fifth wave stopped cross-border trucking, a HKIA pilot scheme kept some cargo coming in – by boat

Taking cargo from the Greater Bay Area (GBA) to Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) by boat may seem counter-intuitive – the fastest transport mode meets the slowest – but in adversity, it has already proven its worth.

During the fifth wave of COVID-19 in Hong Kong earlier this year, public health measures included restrictions on cross-border traffic, which greatly limited the number of trucks entering the city. These trucks are vital to keeping shops and markets in Hong Kong stocked with fresh food, among other essentials.

With trucks concentrating on delivering necessaries to Hong Kong, there were fewer available to deliver cargo to the airport. So some enterprising agents diverted goods onto shipping containers, for transfer to boats working their way down the Pearl River Delta to Hong Kong’s shipping ports, and then for transfer onward to the airport.

This is also a part of HKIA’s growth and development plan. This includes the third runway, the new terminal and the expanded SkyCity development, which will feature Hong Kong’s largest integrated retail, entertainment and dining complex. But from a cargo perspective, one of the most significant developments is some way away from the airport – about six hours away by boat in Dongguan to the north of Shenzhen.

There, the Airport Authority (AA) is establishing the HKIA Logistics Park, which will offer an upstream but airside intermodal cargo-handling facility. When complete and fully equipped, this sea route will offer customs clearance, security screening, palletisation and cargo acceptance, enabling exports from the GBA to be carried straight to the restricted area of HKIA by sea – and then from there straight to aircraft or the cargo terminal. The aim, as the AA says, is to create ‘a brand new mode of cargo business, increase cargo-handling volumes at HKIA, and to serve as a growth engine for the industry’.

In spring as the trucking embargo hit hard, the pilot programme – currently operating from a temporary site in Dongguan – helped to keep some cargo coming in to HKIA for export. For now, these twice weekly sailings (which will increase in frequency over time) are landed at the quieter western end of the airport, but as SkyCity develops, there will be a permanent pier closer to the main airport infrastructure at the eastern end.

As this is a pilot scheme, the cargo for now needs to be taken to the cargo terminals at HKIA to be broken down, scanned and go through customs clearance before it can be loaded on aircraft. In the absence of trucking, it essentially enabled some cargo to get through.

The aim is to enable a full launch of the export facility from September that will be compliant with Hong Kong’s air cargo security regulations. And while the pilot scheme has focused on exports, the process of using the Logistics Park will be reversible and able to handle imports too.

So how does it work at a practical level? The boats are the small, converted freighters that can be seen carrying shipping containers between ports around Hong Kong’s waters. They have been converted to carry bespoke load devices that can be secured to the hull to limit movement, and these devices can carry built-up pallets and ULDs so that shipments can be slipped straight on to airport dollies.

‘The boats offer the equivalent of 32 main deck positions, or 64 AKEs,’ says May Chung, Cargo Sales Manager – GBA at Cathay Pacific Cargo. ‘That’s nearly equivalent to a full freighter.’ But rather than crossing the skies at 500mph or so, the boats stick to a sedate eight knots, making the six-hour journey not that much slower than trucking, even with the Hong Kong–Zhuhai–Macao Bridge. ‘The service will be supplementary to the trucks from the area around Dongguan,’ adds Chung.

For now, trucks will continue to carry cargo, particularly that which requires special handling, with the river service carrying only general cargo, much of which may well end up being e-commerce. ‘Dongguan is renowned for its number of e-commerce dealers,’ says Chung. ‘But whatever they are shipping we are keen for our customers to try this new mode, and we look forward to the opportunities to get cargo to and from the southwest region of the GBA.’

Meet May Chung, Cargo Sales Manager – GBA

 

 

How long have you worked at Cathay Pacific Cargo?

I joined Cathay Pacific in February this year, just after Chinese New Year. But because of the fifth wave, the office closed the day after I joined. From then until 24 April, I had only been in the office three times! And with the travel restrictions, I have yet to go to the GBA.

 

What were you doing before that?

I joined Cathay from Air France–KLM, where I worked as a Cargo Sales Manager. I was based in the Hong Kong office, but I also looked after Guangzhou, Xiamen and more recently Taipei. I was with Air France–KLM for 16 years, starting as a Customer Service Officer.

 

What will you be focusing on?

The GDP in this part of the southern Chinese Mainland is huge and growing. I will be focusing on developing business for cargo that needs special handling using our products such as Fresh LIFT, particularly for imports, because people there are keen to purchase premium products. If we can enhance our product mix and demonstrate the effectiveness of our added-value services, that will enhance our revenues.

In terms of exports, the GBA has the highest concentration of Fortune 500 companies in the country, including some of the IT giants and e-commerce players. The GBA is probably the biggest e-commerce hub in the Chinese Mainland, and we are devoted to increasing our share of this market.

 

How big is your team?

There are five of us. I am based in Hong Kong at the moment, but we have two existing members of the Commercial team in Guangzhou, and we will have a new team member joining shortly. I report into Frank Yau, Head of Cargo Sales Hong Kong and GBA.

 

What do you do outside of work?

I live in the relatively remote area of Sai Kung. I find the city in and around Kowloon too congested for me, and so I’m out in the country by the sea, and there I do a lot of hiking and sailing in my free time.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.