運送疫苗刻不容緩

要將2019冠狀病毒病疫苗送至全球有迫切需要的地方,是空運業界目前面臨的艱巨任務,而國泰貨運成立的專責工作小組為此設計出一套特定的運送方案

航空貨運業吸引全球媒體大篇幅報道有關疫苗的運送工作,這種情況相當罕見。然而,隨著各國急切期望有效的疫苗面世,能夠盡快令疫情受到控制,有關業界在溫度控制技術方面的細節,亦經常被廣泛報道。

當疫苗正式面世,業界面對的挑戰實在非比尋常。國際航空運輸協會(IATA)預計,分送疫苗需要動用相當於8,000架波音747貨機的運力,方能完成任務。有人認為這個估算有點誇大,因為大量運送任務將通過跨大陸的陸路運輸執行。即使如此,航空貨運業面對如此大規模的物流運輸需求,無疑是一道重大難題。考慮到全球人口多達78億,而一些研發的疫苗需要接種兩次,可以想像疫苗的需求量龐大,再加上一些特定要求,例如部分疫苗在儲存及運送期間的溫度要求,遠較普遍的生命科學貨物更為低溫,令分送疫苗更添難度。

IATA理事長兼行政總裁Alexandre de Juniac表示:「能夠有效並安全地運送2019冠狀病毒病疫苗,將成為全球航空貨運業的世紀任務,業界必須預先精心策劃相關的流程才能成事。」

雖然他這番講話是在9月時發表,但國泰貨運早已預先開展「精心的部署」,並成立了專責的疫苗工作小組,應對即將要面臨的難題。國泰貨運專門運送緊急貨物及醫藥產品的Pharma LIFT 及 Priority LIFT運送方案,一向備受業界稱許,然而這次以空前龐大的規模運送疫苗,必須在商業及營運方式上,增加大量額外的解決方法。

因此,早前由貨運商務總經理George Edmunds主持的首次會議,召集了來自商務、產品、收益管理(負責打點庫存)及貨運服務等部門的代表,聯同各個國泰航空貨運站的經理一同商討對策。隨後的會議還加入那些與疫苗生產地點距離接近的外站貨運經理參與其中。國泰貨運市務及產品主管鄭福榮如此形容:「他們正好擔當耳目的角色,協助我們掌握疫苗生產的最新形勢和訊息。」

情況很快便顯而易見:要完成如此龐大的任務,需要制定一套專用的解決方案。國泰貨運的疫苗運送方案除了充分利用Pharma LIFT 及 Priority LIFT這兩項產品的最大優點,還在多方面提升服務質素,不僅向付運人保證會優先處理運送疫苗,並加快推行已在國泰貨運試行了近12個月、最近命名為「智貨查」(Ultra Track)的新一代貨物追蹤系統。

「智貨查」是一個多維追蹤及數據記錄系統,主要使用低功耗藍牙傳輸器為個別貨箱進行追蹤,以接近實時的情況記錄及傳輸GPS定位、溫度、震動及濕度的數據,非常適合應用於需要嚴控溫度及易損壞的貨物。這系統仍未能在國泰貨運整個網絡同一時間推行,但在分階段推出時,將集中於疫苗生產商所在的市場以及運送疫苗的目的地優先使用此系統。

這個系統將連接香港的全新貨務運控中心(OCC)同步協作,運控中心的團隊會實行輪班工作,每天24小時監控正在追蹤的貨物。一旦貨物開始出現溫度偏差、延誤、設備故障或損壞的情況時,團隊的成員會採取積極主動的措施介入,及時作出應對。

由此可見,貨務運控中心能夠為顧客提供更優化的服務質素。國泰貨運服務總經理劉爾修說:「貨務運控中心將由熟悉貨運服務的專業團隊負責監控工作,以確保貨物得到最高水平的管理。」

此舉對於運載疫苗非常重要。鄭福榮解釋說:「在疫苗大量供應之前,其高價值對相關公司來說,代表他們要冒上相當大的風險。」因為一旦任何流程出現錯失,無論對人類的健康及公司的財務都會帶來嚴重後果。他補充說:「我們已聯絡的專業貨運代理,大部分都對『智貨查』這個貨物追蹤系統深感興趣。」

早前,國泰航空再次獲取國際航空運輸協會的獨立醫藥物流驗證中心藥品(IATA CEIV Pharma)認證,而國泰航空在香港國際機場的地勤合作夥伴和附屬公司,包括管理國泰航空貨運站的國泰航空服務有限公司(CPSL),以及香港機場地勤服務有限公司(HAS),亦取得CEIV Pharma認證。這認證正好肯定了國泰在處理醫療物品運送的專業服務和能力,亦是對顧客的服務質素保證。

採用專門的貨運產品來運載疫苗的另一原因,是為了解決一些實務上出現的挑戰。舉例來說,運載疫苗需要保持的溫度,遠低於標準的生命科學貨物所需的溫度,因此每個集裝箱用於保持正確溫度所需的乾冰數量,以及每班航機能負載多少個集裝箱,必須審慎計算才能在這兩者間取得平衡。

國泰貨運產品經理梁煒鏗解釋道:「我們能夠載運的乾冰數量,在實際執行工作時會受到限制。」乾冰昇華為氣體時會產生二氧化碳,雖然這情況不會產生任何反應,卻被列為登上客機的危險品。然而,用來保持低溫的乾冰數量愈少,能夠載運的專用冷藏集裝箱數目也相對減少,這對可承載貨物的數量及品質都會構成影響。

國泰貨運全球營運主管馮嘉成表示:「我們已聯絡了波音公司及空中巴士,請他們重新檢視對載運乾冰的限制。即使兩間公司會限制我們在貨機上的乾冰裝載量,但他們訂立的條件較為寬鬆。現時,特別是在空中巴士A350客機以及載客人數較少的航機上,三方面的協商已取得進展;然而,乾冰的運載量也取決於航機上通風系統的設計。」

另一個問題則與冷藏集裝箱的流量有關。國泰貨運一向與五個主要夥伴供應商合作承辦這些集裝箱,但運送疫苗的出發點和目的地均有別於常規的醫藥品運輸。梁煒鏗說:「整個物流程序相當複雜。我們需要盡快把空置的集裝箱運回出發點,期望能夠在回程時佔用優先預訂的寶貴空間,以運載更多疫苗;由於這是單向的運輸方式,因此容易出現失衡的情況。」

這些冷藏集裝箱不能收合起來以減少佔用的空間,因此在正常情況下,遇上回程航班可騰出貨位空間,貨運團隊便盡快將集裝箱運返其所屬貨站;但現在這些冷藏集裝箱必須趕緊運回出發點,務求能夠分送更多疫苗。

要應對這些顧慮,我們必須小心研究在航班時間表方面應如何編配這些集裝箱,包括與貨運代理一同發掘可行的貿易幹線,將這些考慮因素計算在內,與他們達成協議,並與集裝箱供應商合作,力求在短時間內達至最大的運載量。

一個微小的細節,足以左右這次重大挑戰的成敗,但正如George Edmunds所言:「在運送疫苗方面的工作,我們已準備就緒,克盡己職。」

All aboard the vaccine express

Distributing the COVID-19 vaccine is the greatest challenge the air cargo industry has ever faced – but Cathay Pacific Cargo’s taskforce has developed a bespoke solution

It’s rare for the world’s press to take such a fervent interest in the air cargo industry. Yet the anticipation for a vaccine to bring the COVID-19 pandemic under control is increasingly urgent – and now the details of temperature-controlled air cargo are making regular news appearances.

When vaccines are finally released, the challenge to the industry will be huge. IATA has estimated vaccine distribution will require the equivalent of 8,000 Boeing 747s, and while some feel this may be slightly exaggerated – as much of the task will fall to cross-continental road transport – the scale of the logistical challenge for air cargo is undeniably daunting. The global population is 7.8 billion, and a number of the vaccines in development will require two injections. Then there are the special requirements to consider, with some vaccines requiring storage and transport temperatures far lower than the normal range of conventional life-science shipments.

‘Safely delivering COVID-19 vaccines will be the mission of the century for the global air cargo industry,’ said IATA Director General and CEO Alexandre de Juniac. ‘But it won’t happen without careful advance planning.’

He was speaking in September, but that ‘careful advance planning’ was already well underway at Cathay Pacific Cargo, thanks to a vaccine task force that had previously been established. Urgent and pharma shipments are part of Cathay Pacific Cargo’s proven product range through Pharma LIFT and Priority LIFT, but the unprecedented scale of the vaccine uplift has required plenty of additional problem-solving across commercial and operational channels.

The first meeting, chaired by GM Cargo Commercial George Edmunds, brought together representatives from the Commercial, Product, Revenue Management (which looks after inventory), and Service Delivery teams, as well as managers from the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal. Subsequent meetings involved Cargo Managers from outports, especially those close to vaccine manufacturing sites. ‘They are our eyes and ears,’ says John Cheng, Head of Cargo Marketing and Products.

It quickly became clear that such a colossal task would need a bespoke solution. Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Vaccine Solution – draws on the best of Pharma LIFT and Priority LIFT, and adds more – including guaranteed priority upload for shipments and the accelerated roll-out of Ultra Track, the new name for the next-generation track-and-trace system that Cathay Pacific Cargo has been trialling over the past 12 months or so.

Ultra Track is a multi-dimensional tracking and data-logging system that uses low-energy Bluetooth transmitters, placed within individual boxes in a shipment, to record and transmit GPS position, temperature, vibration and humidity in near real-time, making it ideal for temperature-sensitive and fragile shipments. It’s not ready to roll out across the entire network in one go, but its phased introduction will focus on markets where the vaccine manufacturers are situated and the destinations where the vaccines are being sent.

The system will work in tandem with the newly established Operations Control Centre based in Hong Kong. Working in shifts, the team monitors shipments 24/7, and can take proactive steps to intervene should any cargo start to experience temperature excursions, delays, equipment malfunction or damage on the ground.

The Operations Control Centre adds a new layer of assurance for customers. ‘It will be staffed by a team of cargo operations professionals to ensure that shipments have the highest level of care,’ says Frosti Lau, GM Cargo Service Delivery.

That’s vital for the vaccine shipments. ‘The high value of the vaccines before they become widely available is a risk factor at a corporate level,’ explains Cheng. And the consequences of something going wrong are very serious in health and financial terms. ‘Most of the specialist forwarders we have contacted are very interested in the Ultra Track product,’ he adds.

This is in addition to the assurance of Cathay Pacific’s IATA CEIV Pharma accreditation, which was recently recertified – as was the CEIV Pharma accreditation of Cathay Pacific’s ground partners and subsidiaries at Hong Kong International Airport, including Cathay Pacific Services Ltd (CPSL), which manages the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal, and ground-handling company HAS.

Another reason a dedicated product is needed is to solve some of the practical challenges that the vaccine shipments throw up. For example, vaccines requiring a shipping temperature far below standard life-science shipments bring into play a delicate balancing act between the amount of dry ice required to maintain the correct temperature of a container, and the number of containers that can be carried on each flight.

‘There are operational limits on how much dry ice we can uplift,’ explains Alex Leung, Cargo Products Manager. Dry ice generates carbon dioxide as it sublimates, and although it’s inert, it ticks some dangerous goods boxes, especially on aircraft carrying passengers. But the less dry ice that is carried to maintain low temperatures, the fewer specialist cooltainers that can be uplifted. That’s a problem as both quantity and quality matter.

‘We have been in touch with Boeing and Airbus to review the dry ice limits,’ says Kevin Fung, Head of Cargo Global Operations. ‘There are even limits as to how much we can carry on freighters, albeit they are more generous limits. There has been progress, especially on the Airbus A350 and aircraft with limited numbers of passengers onboard, but it also depends on the ventilation systems in place on the aircraft.’

The other issue relates to the flow of the cooltainers. Cathay Pacific Cargo has operating partnerships with five leading suppliers, but the origins and destinations of the vaccine shipments are different to regular pharma traffic. ‘The logistics are tricky,’ says Alex Leung. ‘We will need to send empty containers back to origin to collect more vaccines as soon as possible, occupying valuable space on the return journey; so this is one-way traffic and it’s quite imbalanced.’

Ordinarily cooltainers, which can’t fold down to occupy less space, would go back to their base as and when space became available on return flights. But now they will need to be returned urgently to distribute more vaccines.

These considerations necessitate the close examination of schedules, working with forwarders to see what the potential trade lanes are, negotiating deals that factor in such issues and working with container suppliers to maximise traffic in a short period of time.

It’s a small detail that characterises the big challenge ahead, but as Edmunds says: ‘We are ready to play our part.’

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.