國泰貨運於香港樞紐開創新猷

國泰貨運貨機成為首架降落香港國際機場第三跑道的商業航班

國泰貨運於本月率先體驗香港樞紐的新領域。2022年7月8日星期五上午,一架由波音747-400ERF貨機執飛的CX3251航班從上海浦東機場啟程飛往香港,成為首架在香港國際機場新建成第三跑道降落的商業航班(按此觀看影片)。

開放新跑道,讓商業航班實際掌握操作程序,不僅是機場擴建計劃又一重要里程碑,亦鞏固了香港國際機場作為華南大灣區門戶的角色。第三跑道建於650公頃填海土地,現已獲編配為北跑道,令香港國際機場成功發展三跑道系統,並有助提升未來機場可容納的航班數量。

國泰航空行政總裁鄧健榮於貨機順利降落後表示:「國家的『十四五』規劃已明確指出,香港作為國際航空樞紐在國家發展中擔當重要角色。香港國際機場三跑道系統啟用後的增長潛力,以及大灣區帶來的機遇,將確保國泰航空及香港樞紐保持長遠競爭力。」

2024年全面啟動

除了新建機場跑道,重新編配為中跑道的舊北跑道亦將暫時關閉,以便進行為期兩年的翻新工程,期望於2024年完工,以便正式啟動三跑道系統。擴建工程及新客運大樓正順利進行,完成後每年將可接待額外3,000萬名乘客,以及處理更多飛機升降,而後者的意義尤為重要。

2019年之前,香港國際機場每天處理近1,100架次飛機升降,繁忙時段每小時約68架次之多,幾乎達到飽和,沒有多餘的航班時段可供使用。三跑道系統於2024年起全面運作之後,將有助於增加航班架次。國泰航空航務總經理Mark Hoey說:「屆時我們將可處理更多航班,相信約每小時增多20至30架次。」

國泰航空貨運站坐落的貨運停機坪離全新的北跑道較遠,本地的空中交通管制將會充分利用南跑道供貨機升降之用,對貨運顧客來說,這絕對是個好消息。2024年之後,從北跑道降落的貨機將會橫過現用的中跑道,但目前及跑道翻新期間,航機必須遵照指定的橫越點滑行,時間會較以往延長約五分鐘。

 

747再創新里程

機長陳珈耀表示有幸駕駛首航新北跑道的CX3251航班,他在飛行日誌寫下這個光榮的經歷。他說:「過程相當順利。我們原本計劃於上午8時15分著陸,但空中交通管制在最後一刻改變安排,結果政府飛行服務隊成為首架正式著陸三跑的飛機,我們緊隨其後,於上午8時27分降落。」

此時此刻,國泰航空及波音747航機均踏入了另一個重大的歷史時刻。今年是國泰貨運購入747貨機的40週年紀念。國泰貨運的機隊目前擁有20架747貨機,當中包括14架節能減排的新一代747-8F型號,過去數年來,這款貨機一直表現出色,為香港連繫全世界立下汗馬功勞。

國泰貨運董事歐永棠說:「我們的747貨機機隊於疫情期間肩負重任,積極維持香港與世界各地的重要物資供應,尤其在運送疫苗和測試劑方面貢獻良多。因此,國泰貨運的747貨機成為首架於第三跑道運作的商業航班,實在令我們雀躍萬分。」

國泰747在香港的里程碑

1998年7月6日凌晨,由波音747運作的CX251航班由香港飛往倫敦希斯路機場,成為最後一個由香港舊啟德機場起飛的商業航班。

1998年同一天清晨6時,由波音747運作的CX889航班由紐約飛抵香港,成為首個降落赤鱲角香港國際機場的商業航班,也是首班從美國東岸不停站直飛香港的航班。

2022年7月8日,國泰貨運的CX3251航班從上海浦東機場啟程,成為首個在香港國際機場新建成的北跑道降落的商業航班。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Breaking new ground on home turf

A Cathay Pacific Cargo freighter makes the first commercial touchdown on Hong Kong’s third runway

Cathay Pacific Cargo touched down on new territory this month – at its home hub in Hong Kong. A Boeing 747-400ERF operating CX3251 from Shanghai Pudong was the first commercial flight to land on the new North Runway at Hong Kong International Airport on the morning of Friday 8 July, 2022 (watch video here).

The opening of the new runway for operational use is another milestone in the extension of the airport and its role as an aviation gateway to the Greater Bay Area of the southern Chinese Mainland. The new North Runway, built on 650 hectares of land reclaimed from the sea, will enable Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) to operate with three runways and increase the number of flights that can be operated in future.

Speaking after the touchdown, Cathay Pacific Chief Executive Officer Augustus Tang said: ‘Hong Kong has a critical role to play as an aviation hub in the country’s development as outlined in the 14th Five-Year Plan. The growth potential afforded by the commencement of the Three Runway System at HKIA, together with the opportunities presented by the Greater Bay Area, will ensure that Cathay Pacific and our home hub will remain competitive for many years to come.’

An infographic map showing the progress of the third runway project at Hong Kong International Airport

Three from 2024

The existing North, and now ‘Central’, Runway will be closed for a two-year refurbishment while the new airfield infrastructure is constructed, with the aim of reopening in 2024 as a fully-functional three runway system. The construction of extended and new passenger buildings is currently underway. This expansion is designed to handle an additional 30 million passengers a year and, crucially, more flights.

Prior to 2019 there were only a few spare slots available, with the airport pretty much maxed out at around 1,100 flight movements a day, and about 68 flights an hour at peak times. From 2024, the fully operational three-runway system will be able to increase this. ‘Potentially, it could add 20 to 30 more flights an hour,’ says Cathay Pacific’s General Manager Operations Mark Hoey.

The good news for cargo customers is that arrangements with local air traffic control will aim to optimise the South Runway for freighters, as the Cargo Apron, which houses the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal, is relatively further away from the new North Runway. Freighters traversing the airfield from the North Runway after 2024 will have to cross the active Central Runway. For now, and during the refurbishment, there is a designated crossing point for aircraft and taxi times will take around five minutes longer.

Another 747 landmark

Captain Viggo Chan had the honour of landing CX3251 on the new North Runway, adding a memorable flight to his logbook. ‘It all went quite smoothly,’ he says. ‘We had last-minute air traffic control arrangements that stopped us from making our planned 0815 touchdown, but we landed at 0827, just after a Hong Kong Government Flying Service aircraft made the first official landing.’

It was another landmark day for Cathay Pacific and the Queen of the Skies. This year marks the 40th anniversary of Cathay Pacific Cargo introducing its first 747 freighter. The fleet of 20 freighters, including 14 of the modern and more fuel-efficient 747-8Fs, has performed sterling work keeping Hong Kong connected to the world over the past couple of years.

‘Our freighter fleet has played a pivotal role in keeping essential supplies, notably vaccines and testing kits, moving between Hong Kong and the rest of the world throughout the pandemic,’ says Director Cargo Tom Owen. ‘We are therefore delighted that one of our 747 freighters was first to operate a commercial flight using the new Third Runway.’

Cathay’s 747 Hong Kong history-makers

1998: CX251, a 747 bound for London Heathrow, becomes the final commercial departure from Hong Kong’s former international airport, Kai Tak, in the early hours of 6 July.

1998: Just a few hours later at 6am, CX889, a 747 from New York is the first commercial flight to land at the new Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) at Chek Lap Kok, which is also the first non-stop flight from US east coast to Hong Kong.

2022: On 8 July, Cathay Pacific Cargo’s CX3251 from Shanghai Pudong becomes the first commercial flight to land on HKIA’s new North Runway.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.