國泰貨運全力協助把防疫物資由澳洲送運至東南亞

團隊無懼物流挑戰,為越南運送重要的醫療用品以及1,000萬劑2019冠狀病毒病莫德納疫苗

國泰貨運接受澳洲政府委託,排除萬難,成功於4月從澳洲運送多批2019冠狀病毒病疫苗、個人防護裝備和其他重要的醫療器材到越南、菲律賓和印尼。

國泰貨運的布里斯班貨運團隊迄今已監督運送了逾2,000萬劑2019冠狀病毒病疫苗,分別從布里斯班和昆士蘭圖文巴威爾坎普機場送往越南、菲律賓和印尼,當中包括莫德納、阿斯利康和準備付運的輝瑞疫苗。這些疫苗在儲存和運送過程各有不同的溫度限制,幸得國泰的疫苗空運專案能夠滿足個別的要求,並由飛行以至整個運送流程均獲國際航空運輸協會的獨立醫藥物流驗證中心藥品 (CEIV Pharma) 認證,確保疫苗得到全面的保障,讓客戶倍感安心。

昆士蘭地區貨運經理David Harris說:「輝瑞疫苗需要保持於-60°C的環境之中,因此我們要採用溫瑞通 (Envirotainer) 的CryoSure冷藏集裝箱儲存疫苗,這亦是國泰貨運首次為這種冷凍鏈產品租用上述集裝箱從澳洲運往外地。」

而阿斯利康疫苗便存放於溫瑞通RAP e2及嶄新的RLP冷藏集裝箱,保持在5°C的溫度範圍;莫德納疫苗則存放於va-Q-tec的va-Q-tainer Twinx冷藏集裝箱,該款集裝箱用上真空絕熱板及相變材料,以保持疫苗處於-20°C的溫度環境。

疫苗運送除了需要個別特定的處理程序,龐大的疫苗劑量令運往河內的送遞計劃備受考驗,團隊同時要安排空間放置個人防護裝備及其他器材,當中包括以卡車載運到悉尼的大量物資,相當於三輛半鉸接式貨車的容量。

根據本來的方案,國泰會以一架波音747貨運包機運送所有貨物,但國泰貨運西南太平洋地區主管Nigel Chynoweth解釋,現實不似預期。他說:「基於疫苗的數量和價值,我們決定分開數次付運。」

結果團隊改為以固有的定期航班用六星期分拆運送整批物資,這些貨物經整合後主要暫存在香港備有合適冷藏設備的國泰航空貨運站,再接駁航班送往河內。付運人和代理商可以透過國泰新一代的多維追蹤系統「智貨查」服務監控貨物的運送情況。

負責這個項目的代理商Express Freight Management區域經理Kevin Molen說:「國泰的布里斯班貨運團隊深諳這些貨物具時限及對溫度敏感的重要性,而且運送時需要專業團隊作特別處理。我們齊心合力,確保能滿足客戶的需要,同時符合疫苗和醫療用品的特殊要求,可說是非常具挑戰性和愜意的經驗。」

疫苗最後分四次運抵香港,其他包括保護衣和口罩的醫療用品則另外分多次航班送達。每次的運送任務為澳洲的運輸和倉存合作夥伴帶來考驗。

Kevin扼要地指出,國泰貨運的專業服務和豐富經驗,是服務質素的最佳保證。他說:「我們選用國泰貨運的『智貨查』監控疫苗的運送過程,這項服務的確令客戶信心十足。我們亦採用國泰的優先運送方案,確保貨物如期付運。」

即使面對重重困阻,所有貨物均已經安全運抵越南,國泰貨運團隊能夠參與其中,實在深感榮幸。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Cathay Pacific Cargo enables pandemic supplies for South East Asia from Australia

Vital medical shipments, including 10 million COVID-19 Moderna vaccine doses for Vietnam, dispatched despite logistical challenges

Cathay Pacific Cargo has been carrying COVID-19 vaccines, personal protection equipment (PPE) and other vital medical equipment from Australia to Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia on behalf of the Australian Government in a challenging series of shipments in April.

Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Brisbane team has so far overseen the shipment of more than 20 million doses of COVID-19 vaccines from Brisbane and Queensland’s Toowoomba Wellcamp Airport to Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia. The shipments included vaccines from Moderna, AstraZeneca and, in the pipeline, Pfizer, which all have different temperature requirements for storage and transit. However, Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Vaccine Solution has allowed for total care and customer reassurance throughout, despite the different requirements, and all backed up by CEIV Pharma accreditation both in the air and throughout the journey.

‘The Pfizer vaccine has to be kept at -60°C, and that means we are looking at the Envirotainer CryoSure cooltainer for the shipment,’ says David Harris, Area Cargo Manager Queensland. ‘This will mark the first time that Cathay Pacific Cargo has handled the lease for this cold-chain product out of Australia.’

The AstraZeneca shipments were kept at 5°C in Envirotainer’s RAP e2 and their new RLP cooltainers, while the Moderna vaccines were kept at -20°C in va-Q-tec’s va-Q-tainer Twinx, which make use of vacuum insulated panels (VIPs) and phase change materials (PCMs).

On top of the challenges of handling vaccines requiring separate and specific handling, the sheer number of vaccine doses had an impact on plans for the goods destined for Hanoi, as did finding space for the equivalent of three-and-a-half articulated trucks’ worth of PPE and other equipment, including much that had to be trucked to Sydney.

While the total manifest would have all fitted onboard one chartered Boeing 747 freighter as originally planned, it was not to be – as Nigel Chynoweth, Regional Head of Cargo Southwest Pacific, explains. ‘With that quantity and the financial value of vaccines it was decided to split the shipment over a number of movements,’ he says.

That meant that rather than a one-off bespoke charter, the entire shipment was broken down to be carried in regular scheduled flights across a six-week period, with goods stored in the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal in Hong Kong for consolidation for onward flights into Hanoi, using the appropriate cold storage facilities. Thankfully, the shipper and forwarders were able to monitor shipment status using Ultra Track, Cathay’s next-generation, multi-dimensional track and trace solution.

‘The Cathay Pacific Brisbane team understood the sensitivity and the specialist handling required for these shipments,’ says Kevin Molen, Regional Manager of Express Freight Management, the forwarder working on the project. ‘It has been a challenging and satisfying experience working cooperatively to ensure the needs of the customer were met along with the very specific requirements of the vaccines and consumables.’

In the end, the vaccines came to Hong Kong on four flights, with the medical consumables, including gowns and facemasks, coming across on multiple other flights – each providing further challenges for transport and warehouse partners in Australia, under the Australian Government’s coordination.

Cathay Pacific Cargo’s expertise provided reassurance throughout, as Molen outlines. ‘We used Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Ultra Track to monitor the vaccines en route and this provided a high level of confidence for the customer,’ he says. ‘We also used the Priority product to ensure that the shipments flew as booked.’

Despite the challenges, all the shipments have now arrived safely in Vietnam – and the team is proud to have played its part.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.