國泰貨運於香港推行Cargo iQ新里程指標

新里程指標能有效監察及改善停機坪與貨運站之間的貨物交接過程

國泰貨運率先推行兩項Cargo iQ總營運計劃(MOP)的新里程指標,有效提高空運流程的透明度,邁出領先業界的一步。

這兩項新里程指標包括貨物出倉管控(FOW)及貨物進倉管控(FIW),為空運業的持份者提供更全面的監管,並更準確評估地勤服務供應商在停機坪與貨運站之間的貨物交接績效,以及查看每份空運提單上的貨物進出口情況。

目前,FOW和FIW兩項指標主要用於監察進出口貨物在香港國際機場的運輸過程,並進一步了解國泰航空全資附屬公司香港機場地勤服務有限公司在貨運站及停機坪之間交接貨物的績效。目標是於未來數月內,將這兩項里程指標擴展至國泰網絡的其他航點。

A staff wearing a Hong Kong Airport Services safety vest checking a cargo shipment

國泰航空貨運服務總經理劉爾修是Cargo iQ理事會成員,亦曾全力協助開發這些新發展。他說:「我們很高興能率先採用這兩項新里程指標,我們一向致力與各負責單位加強處貨流程的品質控制。」

Cargo iQ為國際航空運輸協會(IATA)支援的非牟利組織,其成員包括主要航空公司、貨運代理、地勤服務供應商、陸路運輸公司及資訊科技供應商等,他們攜手合作為空運貨物的運送流程制訂清晰的標準。國泰航空身為IATA的Cargo iQ理事會成員,自其前身Cargo 2000於四分一世紀前成立以來,一直積極參與並作出不少貢獻。

作為Cargo iQ系統的重要組成部分,MOP清楚列明空運貨物由付運商運送至收貨人的端對端標準運送流程,獲得IATA認可為值得推薦的作業方式。FIW及FOW這兩項最新的空運貨物端對端貨運流程通訊標準,令MPO的里程指標增至20個,使整過空運過程更一目了然。

 

更具透明度

負責營運國泰航空貨運站(下圖)的國泰航空服務有限公司(CPSL)的品質主管鍾文偉指出:「資訊透明度已成為空運業的必備要求。我們一直想方設法令作業程序精益求精,確保各項運作穩妥可靠、高效快捷。透過履行FIW及FOW里程指標,我們可提升貨運站運作的透明度,並能夠更有效地計算績效,從而持續進步。」

An interior shot showing tractors and the operations inside Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal, Hong Kong

以往,用家必須從倉庫作業系統的原始數據中找出集裝箱交收時間,再推算出停機坪與倉庫交接所需的時間。如今,這套系統可於空運提單分享每個航班的所有交接資料。我們已於5月部署系統提升,並於7月初啟動FIW及FOW的通訊功能。

國泰貨運正透過由傳訊香港有限公司(傳訊香港)開發的操作介面,於公司系統內試行這些里程指標,期望利用FOW及FIW里程指標提高透明度,並計算及提升績效,為客戶提供更佳服務。

 

解決流程問題

Cargo iQ執行及品質保證經理Laura Rodriguez解釋,這正是設立MOP及里程指標的最終目的。她表示:「這些資訊能讓業界找出流程的問題所在,從而進一步改善運作。Cargo iQ里程指標令我們首次可以確實掌握貨物在貨倉進出交收的完整情況。」

「國泰航空及他們在香港的合作夥伴致力推行這些新里程,以加強監察倉庫到停機坪或停機坪到倉庫的交接。我們支持所有成員推行這些里程指標,並期望藉此令整個業界受惠。」

國泰貨運的劉爾修認為這項計劃勢在必行,他總結道:「我們期望在國泰環球網絡推行這些里程指標,並繼續與國泰網絡的合約夥伴實施Cargo iQ的里程指標。」

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Cathay Pacific Cargo introduces new Cargo iQ milestones in Hong Kong

New milestones will monitor and improve the handover process between the ramp and cargo terminal

Cathay Pacific Cargo has taken a major step forward in improving transparency in the air cargo journey with the introduction of two new ‘milestones’ that form part of the Cargo iQ Master Operating Plan (MOP).

These new milestones – FOW (Freight Out of Warehouse Control) and FIW (Freight Into Warehouse Control) – offer greater oversight to stakeholders in air cargo and, ultimately, a more accurate assessment of ground-handling performance in the handover between the ramp operating handlers and the cargo terminal – and vice-versa – for both imports and exports at air waybill (AWB) level.

Both FOW and FIW are currently being used to monitor the handover process for both imports and exports between Hong Kong International Airport’s Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal and the ramp handler, fully owned subsidiary Hong Kong Airport Services Limited (HAS). The aim is to adopt both milestones throughout the network in the coming months.

A staff wearing a Hong Kong Airport Services safety vest checking a cargo shipment

‘We are delighted to be an early adopter of these two new milestones, because we are dedicated to enhancing the quality control on our handling processes with the accountable parties,’ said Cathay’s General Manager Cargo Service Delivery Frosti Lau, who also sits on the Cargo iQ board and has played a major role in shaping these latest developments.

Cargo iQ is a not-for-profit group supported by The International Air Transport Association (IATA); its members are made up of major airlines, freight forwarders, ground handling agents, trucking companies and IT providers who work together to clarify and standardise all air cargo journeys. Cathay Pacific has had a seat on the IATA Cargo iQ board and has been an active contributor to the working group since it was first established as Cargo 2000, a quarter of a century ago.

As an integral part of Cargo iQ, the MOP, which IATA has endorsed as a recommended industry practice, lays out the standard end-to-end process of transporting air cargo from shipper to consignee. As the latest messaging standards in the end-to-end airfreight shipment journey, FOW and FIW bring the total number of milestones in the MOP to 20, shedding more light on the air cargo process.

 

Enhanced visibility

Information visibility has become a prerequisite in air cargo,’ said Aldous Chung, Head of Quality at Cathay Pacific Services Ltd (CPSL), which operates the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal (below). ‘We are always looking for ways to refine our procedures to enhance the reliability and efficiency of our operations. By implementing the FIW and FOW milestones, we are enhancing the transparency of terminal operations and this will allow us to better measure performance for continuous improvement.’

An interior shot showing tractors and the operations inside Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal, Hong Kong

Previously, the handover between the ramp and the warehouse required users to compute the timings based on the unit load device’s (ULD) handover time, which was taken from the raw data of the warehouse operating system. Now the same system can share that information at AWB level for every flight. This system enhancement was deployed in May and the FIW and FOW messaging was activated at the start of July.

Cathay Pacific Cargo is trialling these milestones in its own systems through an interface developed by Global Logistics System (HK) Co Ltd (GLSHK), and is planning to use the additional visibility from FOW and FIW to measure and enhance performance and so deliver a better service to customers.

 

Pain points addressed

This is the ultimate aim of the MOP and its milestones, as Laura Rodriguez, Manager Implementation and Quality Assurance at Cargo iQ, explains: ‘With this information, the industry will be able to identify pain points and make vital improvements to operational processes. It also gives us, for the first time, the possibility to visualise the complete warehouse process from start to end within Cargo iQ,’ she says.

‘With its commitment to implement these new events, Cathay Pacific and its partners in Hong Kong are reinforcing the value of monitoring the point of handover from warehouse to ramp and vice-versa. We are currently supporting all our members in the implementation of these milestones and we look forward to seeing the benefits of uptake on an industry-wide scale.’

This is very much on the agenda, as Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Lau concludes: ‘We look forward to rolling out these milestones globally and continuing to implement the Cargo iQ milestones with our contracted partners across our network.’

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.