國泰貨運為跨太平洋貨運新推出「匯流運送」服務

「匯流運送」靈活方便,讓貨運代理可把不同地區的貨物在香港匯流,運上同一航班再飛往目的地

過去兩年貨運業面對的重大挑戰之一,可算是運力供應,尤其是跨太平洋航線特別緊張。加上疫情期間的不穩定因素,貨運代理如需兼顧多個出發地的貨物,形勢則更為複雜,他們能否時刻為每個出發地滿足跨太平洋貨運的運力協議?

有見及此,國泰貨運隨即伸出援手,推出全新的匯流運送營運模式,容許貨運代理把來自不同地區的出發地的貨物在香港匯流,利用全包機或定期航班包板協議的保證預留艙位,一併送往代理所選的長程航點。

國泰航空全球貨運合作夥伴經理郭予琳解釋:「匯流運送模式讓我們利用單一包板協議,把來自亞洲及次大陸多地的貨物匯流到一個航班,然後一併運送到位於北美的同一個終點站。」

國泰航空全球貨運合作夥伴經理吳理鋼補充:「如此一來,貨運代理便可以調動地區運載量,只需確保所有貨物在香港匯流再飛往目的地便行。」

現時,匯流運送服務適用於北亞、南亞及東南亞的出發地,並已獲多間國際貨運代理商採用,Kintetsu World Express Inc (KWE) 及EFL Global(前稱Expofreight)是其中兩間。

EFL Global積極拓展亞洲貨運市場,業務涵蓋亞洲多地。它透過把貨物在香港匯流,只需繳付貨物從香港出發的公價費用,便可以跟國泰航空簽署單一合約,在香港飛往美國的航班達成HBA保留航位協定,這個新模式讓公司毋須再為每個貨物出發地逐一簽約。國泰航空在單一合約列明的價格,已包括貨物從出發地運到香港的費用。

EFL Global全球空運主管Irshad Razack說:「匯流運送模式讓我們可以靈活調度不同出發地的貨物,同時能按照每個出發地的情況預先規劃處貨量。我們在東南亞貨運點範圍內對調運力,便能為貨量急升的出發地騰出更多運力,更無需額外支出。」

EFL Global全球空運主管Irshad Razack

截至目前為止,EFL Global 現時以全年定額的全包價錢營運了多班從香港飛往美國的HBA協定航班,迄今為止能順利出發的預訂艙位超過九成。EFL Global甚至有計劃在新的一年使用包機運送,Irshad Razack補充說:「EFL Global一直對這個營運模式很感興趣,因此很高興能成為首間採用匯流運送服務的國泰貨運代理。」

Kintetsu World Express Inc(KWE)是另一間率先與國泰貨運簽約使用匯流運送服務的代理,不但藉此成功壯大其跨太平洋貨運業務,更有助公司進一步推動新營運模式的發展。KWE並非使用HBA協定航班,而是全面地採用匯流運送服務,把來自多個出發地的貨物匯流到香港,再由香港包機將貨物運送至目的地。

這種模式與KWE以往一貫採用的點對點貨物運送模式大相逕庭。KWE香港董事長秋山忠司解釋,他們需要遊說東京董事局採納這個新模式,「這種方式的包機服務對KWE來說是史無前例之舉,故此我們需要說服東京的管理高層相信這個新模式切實可行。」

Kintetsu World Express (HK) Limited董事長秋山忠司

結果,新的營運模式卓有成效,大大促進了公司的業務發展。KWE利用匯流運送服務,把來自東南亞、中國台灣及中國內地的貨品在香港匯流,每週以專用包機再運往洛杉磯和芝加哥,其跨太平洋貨運業務因而大幅增長。當然,香港作為集運樞紐的良好聲譽亦令他們信心倍增。秋山忠司補充:「香港辦事靈活,而我們與國泰貨運的關係亦非常友好,大家是合作夥伴。」

這個新模式亦伸延至貨務運作層面。採用匯流運送服務的貨運代理需要設立供應鏈控制塔,處理來自代理不同出發地的貨物艙位分配,並與國泰貨運新加坡及香港辦事處的專用控制塔互相配合。EFL的Irshad Razack說:「供應鏈控制塔負責處理預訂、運力對調和服務修復的事宜,而且絕對從善如流。它是單一接觸點,流程相當簡便。」

國泰的吳理鋼補充:「最重要的是,這個方案可以發揮我們航空公司的航線網絡優勢,以及善用香港優越的地理位置,香港無疑是最優秀的貨運基地。因此代理商對我們擁有十足信心,我們亦能提供航班。此外,貨運代理商亦可以藉此發展他們的第二航點,因此不用冒任何風險便能開拓業務,可說是一舉兩得。」

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Cathay Pacific Cargo rolls out its Merge in Transit concept for transpacific cargo

MIT’s flexibility enables agents to consolidate regional allocations into one flight from Hong Kong

One of the big issues of the past two years has been the availability of capacity, particularly on transpacific routes. Combined with that is the uncertainty in these pandemic times for cargo agents serving multiple origin ports – can they always fulfil capacity agreements for transpacific shipments at each origin?

Help is now at hand. Cathay Pacific Cargo has introduced a new business model, ‘Merge in Transit’ (MIT). This enables agents to have their cargo from multiple regional origins consolidated in Hong Kong, before having it delivered to their chosen long-haul destination in the form of an entire freighter charter or a guaranteed block space agreement (BSA) on a scheduled flight.

‘The MIT model means that we can merge the cargo from across Asia and the Subcontinent into one flight on a single BSA commitment to one final destination in North America,’ explains Martin Kwok, Cargo Global Partnerships Manager.

‘It means you can shuffle your tonnages from around the region and you only have to meet the overall commitment ex-Hong Kong,’ adds Frank Wu, Cargo Global Partnerships Manager.

Currently, MIT is available for origins in North Asia, South and South East Asia, and it has already been taken up by a select number of global agents, including Kintetsu World Express Inc (KWE) and EFL Global (formerly Expofreight)

EFL GLobal, which has increased its footprint in Asia, has multiple origins in the region. By consolidating their cargo in Hong Kong and by paying only a common rate ex-Hong Kong, they are able to sign a single contract with Cathay Pacific to fulfil an HBA (hard-block agreement ) on a flight from Hong Kong to the US, rather than separate contracts for each point of origin. The Cathay Pacific flights from each origin are included within the single contract price.

‘MIT gives us the flexibility to switch among origins and pre-plan the volumes based on each,’ says Irshad Razack, Global Head – Airfreight at EFL. ‘Swapping capacity within our South East Asian origins allows us to create additional capacity for origins with volume spikes at no extra cost.’

Irshad Razack, Global Head – Airfreight at EFL

To date, EFL has run a number of HBA flights from Hong Kong to the US, on a fixed all-inclusive price for a year – with a higher than 90 per cent flown as booked rate to date. There are even plans to fill entire flights in the new year. Irshad Razack adds: ‘EFL has always wanted to explore this concept, and we are happy to be the first Cathay Pacific Cargo agent to experience the MIT programme.’

Kintetsu World Express Inc was another early signatory and its participation has helped evolve MIT – it has been able to grow its transpacific business and a new business model as a result. Rather than use HBAs, it extended the programme to use charter freighters from Hong Kong with its shipments from multiple origins under MIT.

This was a departure from the normal business model of point-to-point, single-origin charters. As KWE Hong Kong’s Managing Director Tadashi Akiyama explains, the board in Tokyo took some convincing. ‘Historically, we have never operated charters in this way, so we had to convince our senior management in Tokyo that this new concept would work.’

Tadashi Akiyama, Managing Director at Kintetsu World Express (HK) Limited

And work it has. Being able to route shipments from South East Asia, Taiwan China and the Chinese Mainland in dedicated weekly freighters to Los Angeles and Chicago has actually helped grow KWE’s transpacific business significantly – and Hong Kong’s reputation as a consolidation hub has helped too. ‘Hong Kong is flexible, and the relationship with Cathay Pacific Cargo is very good,’ adds Akiyama. ‘It’s a partnership.’

This extends to the operation too. Cargo agents using MIT need to set up a control tower to handle the allotments from across their origin ports. This is matched in kind with a dedicated control tower in Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Singapore and Hong Kong offices. ‘The control tower deals with bookings, swaps, service recovery, and it’s 100 per cent receptive,’ says EFL’s Irshad Razack. ‘It’s a single point of contact, and a simplified process.’

Cathay’s Wu adds: ‘The important thing is that this plays to our network strengths as a carrier, and Hong Kong’s geography. This is the strongest cargo base – so agents have faith, and we have the flights. An added benefit is that it’s a way for agents to develop their secondary ports, so they can build business without risk.’

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.