國泰帶領亞洲飛向更藍天

亞洲首個主要「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」,有助航空公司及企業達成減碳目標

國泰航空於本月較早前正式開展亞洲首個主要的先導「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」,促成國泰航班首次在香港國際機場使用可持續航空燃油,讓參與計劃的企業客戶能藉此減少其商務旅遊或航空貨運的碳足跡。

對矢志應對氣候變化的代理商和付運商來說,這個計劃正式開展實是一大喜訊,他們有機會減少與其主要業務無直接但有間接關係的範疇3碳排放 (Scope 3 emissions),如員工公幹及屬關鍵一環的供應鏈使用。 

增加採用可持續航空燃油亦是國泰重要的工作,同時透過繼續依循國際航空運輸協會(IATA)制定、再於去年10月重申的減排路線圖,並配合《巴黎協定》把全球氣溫升幅限制在1.5°C以內,讓國泰於2050年或之前達至碳中和的目標。範疇1碳排放(Scope 1 emissions,指公司主要業務使用其擁有的資產所產生的直接排放)更是首要應付的重點,而燃油則是國泰航空最大的非資本開支。

儘管新一代航機如空中巴士A321neo更具燃油效益,然而生物燃料卻是解決碳排放問題的重要手段

國泰已承諾於2030年或之前將可持續航空燃油的使用量提升至總燃油消耗的10%,「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」正是理想的起步點,對其他已參與計劃的公司亦然,當中包括DHL全球貨運物流和近鐵國際貨運。

國泰貨運董事歐永棠說:「氣候變化是我們這一代和未來主人翁的首要挑戰,作為國際主要的貨運航空公司,國泰貨運正與整個物流供應鏈夥伴攜手合作,透過舉足輕重的有效措施應對氣候變化。國泰航空義不容辭,一直帶領及推動特別在亞洲的業界更廣泛地使用可持續航空燃油。我們所有持份者都應該出一分力,可謂任重道遠。」

採用可持續航空燃油是讓航空業達成減排目標的關鍵途徑。新一代的飛機如空中巴士A350採用嶄新的引擎技術,雖然較舊型號的飛機減少一至兩成的排放量,但相信只能待其他如電動或氫燃料電池等新技術實現之時,才有望事半功倍。

國泰航空是「航空界氣候工作組」創始成員之一,有份探索更積極的方法加快航空業減碳的步伐。未來十年,業界可能引入由新技術推動的小型短途航機應付短途航運,然而相信在未來仍有一段長時間,大型長途航機會繼續依賴航空燃油來應付,因此可持續航空燃油是現時主要的減碳之選。

參與「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」的燃油供應商蜆殼Shell Aviation表示認同,總裁Jan Toschka表示:「於2050年或之前實現航空業淨零排放是一項挑戰,但只要我們利用價值鏈並同心協力,定能努力實現。作為燃料供應商,我們知道自己於達成淨零碳排放目標中擔任重要的角色。我們已訂下目標成為全球頂尖可持續航空燃油供應商,在2025年或之前每年供應200萬噸可持續航空燃油。」而另一家燃油供應商中國石油亦有參與這個計劃。

國泰航空邁向2050年或之前淨零排放的五大減碳路線圖

飛機:配備新一代引擎技術的新型飛機可減低排放量。空中巴士A350及A321 neo機隊使用的燃料較上一代飛機減少約兩成。
提升運作效益:自1998年起實施多項有關飛機滑行至跑道或機場大樓,以及籌劃更佳航線等措施,有助提升兩成燃油效益。
可持續航空燃油:國泰除了推出「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」,亦是首家投資美國內華達州Fulcrum BioEnergy廠房的航空公司,該製造商研發以都市固體廢物轉化為可持續航空燃料
碳抵銷:國泰航空設立「飛向更藍天」碳抵銷計劃,讓乘客可以資助值得支持的社區減排項目,以抵銷其航空旅程的碳足跡
嶄新科技:國泰是「航空界氣候工作組」的創始成員,將會把嶄新及初始科技連結在一起,例如合成燃料和氫燃料電池

事實上,全球多家貨運商及其托運客戶也需要達成其減碳目標,可持續航空燃油可謂在市場潛力無限。是次計劃旨在刺激可持續航空燃油的生產和供應,特別是在亞洲地區,只要需求增加,便能帶動供應,進一步減省可持續航空燃油的成本,而它的成本較標準航空燃油為低,亦是其另一個優點。

DHL全球貨運物流是「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」的創始成員之一,其亞太區空運高級副總裁Steffen Treiber表示:「目前可持續航空燃油是避免使用化石燃料的其中一個主要手段,有助預防額外的二氧化碳排放到大氣層中。由於現時只有少數機場供應可持續航空燃油,我們相信國泰航空的可持續航空燃油計劃旨在向市場發出重要的訊息,可以積極為亞洲建立可持續燃油的市場。」

近鐵國際貨運跟國泰貨運建立夥伴關係已有50年,亦是該計劃另一位創始成員,同樣致力減少碳排放。公司相信這個計劃讓他們只要透過國泰全球的貨運服務,便能減少其範疇3碳足印,而且對空運商來說是一個有效的低碳選擇。正如公司主席及行政總裁鳥居伸年所言:「氣候變化永不待人。」

可持續航空燃油以廢棄食用油和動物脂肪製成,並遵循國際航空運輸協會的規限,可持續航空燃油的原材料不應該「與食用農作物和食水供應競爭,亦不可以導致森林退化」。因此,視乎轉廢為能的技術而定,可持續航空燃油有機會削減高達100%的生命週期碳排放量。

可持續航空燃油會通過現有的一般航空燃料加油基礎設施,於機場跟化石燃料混合。「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」會向參與計劃的企業簽發已核實碳排放量的減碳證書及可持續發展證書,協助列明企業減低範疇3碳排放量的績效。

國泰貨運董事歐永棠總結:「企業可持續航空燃油計劃是與志同道合的機構攜手合作的關鍵一步,亦向可持續航空燃油供應商表達重要的需求訊息,除亞洲區航空公司外,航空產業鏈同樣對可持續航空燃油有濃厚興趣。」

按此了解「企業可持續航空燃油計劃」的詳情及登記方法。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Cathay Pacific leads the way to fly greener in Asia

Asia’s first major Corporate Sustainable Aviation Fuel Programme will help both the airline and corporates to achieve their carbon-reduction goals

Earlier this month Cathay Pacific launched a pilot Corporate Sustainable Aviation Fuel (SAF) Programme, the first major programme of its type in Asia. The programme provides corporate customers the opportunity to reduce their carbon footprint from business travel or airfreight shipments by contributing to the use of SAF, uplifted for the first time from Hong Kong International Airport for Cathay Pacific flights.

This is excellent news for corporate client passengers, forwarders and shippers committed to tackling climate change and reducing their Scope 3 emissions: non-direct emissions which do not involve a business’s primary activity, but may include things such as staff journeys to work and, critically, use of the supply chain.

Increasing the use of SAF is also vital for Cathay Pacific as it continues on its journey, mapped out and reconfirmed by airline trade association IATA in October last year and in sync with the Paris Agreement to limit global warming to 1.5°C – to become carbon-neutral by 2050. Scope 1 emissions (those from assets owned and used by a company for their main business activity) are very much to the fore, and fuel is the airline’s biggest item of non-capital expenditure.

New generation aircraft such as the Airbus A321neo offer greater fuel economy, but biofuels are key to the emissions challenge

Cathay Pacific has committed to make SAF 10 per cent of its total fuel use by 2030, and the pilot Corporate SAF Programme is an excellent starting point – as it is for the companies that have signed up so far, which include DHL Global Forwarding and Kintetsu World Express.

‘Climate change is the primary challenge of our generation and for those to come,’ says Director Cargo Tom Owen. ‘As a major network cargo carrier, we are working with our overall logistics supply chain with significant initiatives to tackle it. As an example, Cathay Pacific has been pioneering our industry’s move towards more substantial use of SAF, especially in Asia. We all must play our part and there is a lot more to do.’

SAF is a crucial method for aviation to achieve its emission-reduction targets. While new generation aircraft, like the Airbus A350, have new engine technology which have reduced emissions by 10-20 per cent against older aircraft, there is only so much that can be achieved until new technology alternatives such as electric or hydrogen-fuel cells become viable.

Cathay Pacific is a founder member of the Aviation Climate Taskforce, that is looking at some of these more radical ways to decarbonise aviation. But while small, commuter aircraft on short missions may be introduced in the next decade powered by that new technology, jet fuel will continue to power heavy, long-haul operations for many years to come. So, for now, the main onus falls on SAF, as Jan Toschka, President of Shell Aviation, one of the Programme’s two suppliers along with PetroChina, explains.

‘Meeting net-zero emissions in aviation by 2050 is a challenge but one that the value chain can and must achieve by working together,’ he says. ‘As a fuel supplier, we know we have a critical role to play and have set ourselves the goal of becoming a global leader for SAF, with the ambition of supplying 2 million tonnes of SAF per year by 2025.’

Cathay Pacific’s five-prong roadmap to net zero by 2050

Aircraft: Younger aircraft with next generation engine technology are reducing emissions. The Airbus A350 and A321neo fleets burn around 20% less fuel than the previous aircraft generation
Operational improvements: Initiatives such as taxiing to the runway or the terminal and better routings have helped improve fuel efficiency by 20% since 1998
SAF: As well as the Corporate SAF Programme, Cathay was the first investor in the Fulcrum BioEnergy plant in Nevada, which converts domestic waste into jet fuel
Carbon offset: Cathay Pacific set up its Fly Greener carbon-offset programme, enabling passengers to offset flights by supporting worthwhile community projects that reduce or prevent emissions
New technology: Cathay is a founding member of the Aviation Climate Taskforce, which will link new and emerging technologies such as synthetic fuels and hydrogen fuel cells

There is a ready market for this, because so many global forwarders and their shipper clients need to meet their own carbon reduction targets. The purpose of the programme is to stimulate the manufacturing and supply of SAF, particularly in Asia, and greater demand should stimulate supply, bringing the added benefit of a cost reduction in the SAF alternatives as compared to standard jet fuel.

‘SAF is currently one of the key levers to avoid fossil fuels and thus prevent additional CO2 being emitted into the atmosphere,’ says Steffen Treiber, SVP Head of Airfreight Asia Pacific at DHL Global Forwarding, one of the programme’s founder members. ‘As the SAF supply is still limited to a few airports today, we believe that Cathay Pacific’s SAF Programme is an important signal to the market and will help to build a market for sustainable fuels in Asia.’

It’s a sentiment shared by fellow Programme member Kintetsu World Express (KWE). Now in its fifth decade of partnership with Cathay Pacific Cargo, the company believes that the Programme can reduce its Scope 3 carbon footprint by booking cargo on Cathay Pacific flights worldwide, making the airline an effective low-carbon option for airfreight. ‘Climate change waits for no one,’ says Nobutoshi Torii, President and CEO of KWE.

The SAF used for the Programme’s launch is derived from used cooking oil and animal fat waste, which follows IATA’s stricture that SAF feedstock should not ‘compete with food crops or water supplies, nor contribute to forest degradation’. In this way, SAF has the potential to reduce lifecycle carbon emissions by up to 100 per cent, depending on the technology used.

The SAF will go through the normal aviation-fuelling infrastructure, mixing with the existing fossil-based fuel at the airport. The Programme will issue a verified emissions-reduction certificate and proof of sustainability to Programme members when they purchase SAF, to help account for their Scope 3 carbon emissions reductions.

‘The Corporate SAF Programme is an important step for us to engage other like-minded organisations, and a first step in sending an important demand signal to the SAF supply chain that there is firm interest in the region, not only from airlines, but across the aviation value-chain,’ concludes Cathay Pacific Director Cargo Tom Owen.

For more information on the Corporate SAF Programme, and how to sign up, click here.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.