國泰貨運將東北亞農場水果直送香港力保新鮮

國泰無懼航班限制,空運寶島水果迅速送到消費者手上

所謂「民以食為天」,食物除可供給身體營養,也是感官的一大享受。不少熱愛旅遊的香港人以各地美食來選擇目的地,食盡天下,而日本和中國台灣均以品質卓越的農產品廣受讚賞,順理成章成為交口稱譽的美食旅遊目的地。

然而疫情持續為境外旅行帶來限制,使亞洲美食之旅暫時劃下休止符。國泰早已洞悉顧客所需,動不失時。國泰的香港會員現可透過國泰網上購物平台,訂購新鮮的時令農產品,由國泰貨運短時間内直接送到會員所選地址。

今年到目前為止,國泰網上購物平台已提供了澳洲櫻桃,以及一系列從日本及中國台灣直送的蔬果。這些農產品經過妥善包裝後,於同一日交付上機並空運至香港,貨品通常於夜間抵達,隨即於翌日派送。因此,會員通常最快兩天內就可收到產地農場直送的新鮮蔬果。

國泰台灣貨運經理江建興致力於確保寶島蔬果完好無缺地送到顧客手上。今年年初,由於許多中港跨境貨車司機染疫隔離,導致香港市面上蔬菜供應緊張,有見及此,國泰決定提供來自寶島的蔬菜盒。他表示目前香港的蔬菜供應已回復正常,因此平台現在主要供應水果類產品:「荔枝、芒果、釋迦、番茄和蓮霧等水果的甜度都非常高,品質一流。」

國泰網上購物平台現時推出了鳳梨和百香果等台灣直送鮮甜水果,之後的夏日精選將陸續推出其他熱帶水果,如荔枝和火龍果等。由於每種水果的產季不同,因此國泰為香港會員精選的時令水果也大致上會按月更新。

出人意表的是,水果雖然嬌貴,但在運輸過程的處理卻比運送蔬菜容易。江建興表示:「水果和蔬菜的包裝方式不同。水果以一般貨物的方式包裝及以常溫運送即可,而蔬菜則必須保持較低的溫度,以免菜葉變黃,因此運輸成本較高;但兩者均無需使用冷凍鏈技術集裝箱。此外,由於飛機在空中飛行時,機腹的溫度大概只有攝氏7至8度而已,因此不需要額外冷藏。」

一般來說,顧客訂購的水果在產地收成後便妥善包裝,避免運送及裝卸過程中產生的碰撞損害蔬果。但由於水果容易受損,而且僅以一般貨物方式運送,因此必須採取額外的保護措施。江建興補充道:「我們通常會用單一個AKE集裝箱專門運送水果,它不會同時運其他貨物,以免水果受到其他貨物擠壓而受損。」此外,如果集裝箱沒有裝滿,工作人員會在集裝箱內放入防撞填充物,以防止水果盒在箱內四處滾動。

萬泰國際物流執行副董事長鄭毓文及空運出口部高級總經理許靜瑜

目前平台供應的台灣直送鮮甜水果來自唐記精緻水果,並由運送鮮貨經驗豐富的萬泰國際物流主理出口及報關等事務。萬泰國際物流空運出口部高級總經理許靜瑜說:「台灣素有『水果王國』美譽,水果品質優良,令許多外來觀光客讚不絕口,深受各地消費者喜愛。」她並表示希望結合台灣優質的生鮮果商及服務品質極佳的國泰航空,將台灣之光推廣至全球各地。

江建興指出,他的貨運團隊每個月約有三噸水果出口到香港,並送到香港人的家中,平均每個星期運送一個集裝箱,每次約750公斤的水果。但歸根究底,團隊追求的不是銷售量,而是讓顧客享用到品質上乘的水果,這一點與唐記精緻水果的營運宗旨不謀而合。

唐記生鮮集團副總裁林峻承

唐記生鮮集團副總裁林峻承說:「我們的經營理念是為消費者提供最優質、最新鮮的水果。國泰貨運是我們的商業夥伴,他們專業、友好而且快捷,總是秉持以客為尊的態度,為顧客提供最優質的產品。」

對江建興來說,將優質的農產品送到顧客手上,讓他們稱心如意,帶給他最大的成功感。他說:「我們知道在疫情期間,香港人無法親自來台享用寶島的美味蔬果,所以我們很高興能夠將鮮甜農作物直送到他們的府上,讓他們品嚐得到。我們努力地將旅人記憶中的美好台灣滋味,完好如初地送給香港人。」

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

How Cathay Pacific Cargo ensures farm-to-table fruit from North East Asia to Hong Kong

Air link brings Taiwanese fruits to consumers despite pandemic flight restrictions

It’s not just an army that marches on its stomach. Hongkongers’ travels are often predicated by their appetites – one reason why Japan and Taiwan China are such popular destinations, and why their produce is held in such high regard.

But the pandemic and the associated restrictions have put an end to gastronomic journeys in Asia, for the time being. This limitation is something that Cathay has identified – and acted on. Now, customers of the Cathay shop in Hong Kong are able to order seasonal produce, delivered directly to their door as fulfilled by Cathay Pacific Cargo.

To date this year, the produce on offer has included cherries from Australia and an array of fruit and vegetables from Japan and Taiwan China. Once packed, the fruit can be loaded and flown to Hong Kong on the same day, arriving in the evening to be delivered the following morning. That’s from farm to table in two days, in most cases.

Tony Jiang, Cargo Manager Taiwan, has been involved in ensuring that produce from the island gets to Hong Kong homes safely and in good condition. Work started in the spring, supplying vegetable trays to the city when cross-border trucking made it harder to source fresh vegetables in Hong Kong. Now the focus is on fruit. ‘The lychees, mangoes, sugar apples, tomatoes and wax apples are all very sweet and of good quality,’ he says.

The current offer in the Cathay shop features pineapple and passion fruit, and the summer selections will be based around tropical fruits such as lychees and dragon fruit. Since the season of each fruit varies, Cathay curates a selection approximately every month, choosing what’s tasting best for its Hong Kong-based members.

Perhaps surprisingly, fruit transportation handling is easier than vegetables. ‘Fruit and vegetables are packaged in different ways,’ says Jiang. ‘Vegetables have more cooling requirements, which increases the cost of transportation. Fruit can just go with ordinary packing and be transported at room temperature – there is no need for a cold-chain container. As the temperature of the belly hold on aircraft is quite low, around 7-8 degrees Celsius during flight, there is no need for additional cooling.’

The fruit orders are prepacked for home delivery before they depart, adding extra protection from bumps during transport and loading. But as the shipments are treated as general cargo and fruit is delicate, additional precautions are taken. ‘We generally use an AKE container to transport fruit, so that they don’t get damaged during the shipment process,’ says Jiang. Additionally, the staff at the terminal will add packing materials to prevent the boxes moving around in the container.

Dolphin Logistics Executive Vice-chairman Kevin Cheng and Senior General Manager of Air Cargo Export Candy Hsu

So far the Taiwanese products have been supplied by TangZi Fruits, with export process being handled by Dolphin Logistics, which takes a pride in the island’s produce, and is pleased to be working with Cathay Pacific. ‘Taiwan is known as the “Kingdom of Fruits”,’ says Candy Hsu, Senior General Manager of Air Cargo Export at Dolphin. ‘The excellent quality of the fruit has always been appreciated by visitors and now it’s loved by people all over the world.’

Jiang estimates that his Cargo team is exporting around three tonnes of fruit a month for home delivery in Hong Kong, spread across four weekly containers with about 750kg in each shipment. But volume is not the goal, it’s end quality – something that TangZi Fruits, which works with producers, appreciates.

TangZi Fruits Vice-President Andy Lin

‘We aim to provide the best quality and freshest fruit to consumers,’ says TangZi Fruits Vice-President Andy Lin. ‘As a business partner, Cathay Pacific Cargo is professional, friendly and fast. They provide a customer-centric service, and always look for the best-quality products for their customers.’

For Jiang, the satisfaction lies in successfully linking up quality local produce with an appreciative audience. ‘We know that Hong Kong people cannot come here to enjoy our produce, so we are delighted to deliver it direct to their door for them to enjoy,’ he says. It’s a delicious little slice of travel, freshly packed and flown straight to your home.’

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.