國泰貨運如何以最高安全標準運送鋰電池

全賴嚴格的政策及程序得以開展需求日殷的電池運送服務,並確保工作人員及航機安全

無論是手機、手提電腦、攝影機、無線耳筒或其他林林總總的電子產品,鋰電池無處不在,成為21世紀的生活「動力」。全球鋰電池的需求按年增長三成,但在運送時由於錯誤申報或處理不當,導致意外頻生。因此,要在物流過程中消除工廠與消費者之間的理解差異,存在一定挑戰。

業界一直致力制定及實施安全運送鋰電池的各項政策、程序和規例,促使國際航空運輸協會(IATA)制定了危險品運輸規則(DGR)。航空業一向視安全為首要考慮,隨著使用各類電池的商品愈來愈多,加上電子商貿急速興起,大家都明白需要制定更多規例和標準作支援,把運送時的危險降到最低。

今年6月,IATA召開年度會議,呼籲各國政府實施鋰電池貨運資訊共享的全球標準,以便嚴格取締對運輸系統和生命構成危險的機構。

IATA理事長Willie Walsh表示:「航空公司、付運人、製造商和政府都希望確保鋰電池的航空安全運輸。在部分範疇,政府的領導至關重要。加強現有法規的執行,以及對濫用職權處以刑事定罪,將可向違規付運人發出強烈信號。加速制定篩查、交換資訊和防火標準,將為行業提供更有效的工具。」

即使沒有擴大法規範圍,國泰貨運也一直克盡己任,善用所有工具和處理程序,以最安全的方法運送這項需求日增的商品,並且盡可能為客戶提供更靈活的選擇。

close-up of a person taking the lithium battery out from a digital camera
鋰電池的使用愈來愈廣泛,隨著網上零售及電商急速發展,令運送鋰電池的需求及風險相應增加

需求日增

國泰航空目前每星期運送約100批散裝鋰電池,尤其是來自北亞,包括南韓的航班裝載大量鋰電池,國泰時刻採用最先進的設備和程序運送,確保安全。

運送鋰電池必須時刻保持警覺。如果儲存或處理不當使電池著火就會產生極熱的高溫,即使在缺氧情況下也會繼續燃燒,甚至撲熄後也可能會復燃。今年2月,一艘滿載豪華名車的滾裝貨輪Felicity Ace號因裝在車內的鋰電池起火,整艘船在大西洋沉沒。

電池貨運必須貼上「僅限貨機」(CAO)的專用標籤,並且禁止以客機運送,直至國泰貨運於2019年推出獲得美國聯邦航空總署批核的防火安全袋,才可利用貨機下層的指定艙位運載鋰電池。

貨運服務發展經理簡藍天解釋運送鋰電池必須加倍謹慎處理,他說:「一開始我們只接受預先批核的付運人及鋰電池型號。」

「待真正接收貨物時,必須遵照IATA的危險品運輸規則,小心檢查貨物的狀況,確保包裝徹底穩妥,沒有任何損毀跡象,才可放入國泰的防火裝備內。」

Two staff members moving fire containment bags containing dangerous goods shipments at a terminal
國泰貨運備有不同尺寸的防火安全袋,方便妥善裝載鋰電池

防火裝備

國泰備有四款運送鋰電池的防火裝備,分別為兩種尺寸的防火安全袋、加大型防火安全袋,以及最新推出的防火集裝箱,全部根據最嚴格的防火標準設計、測試和製造。符合AKE規格的防火集裝箱採用阻燃物料製造,貨物運載量高達1,500公斤,即使電池發生自燃,亦能以被動方式阻止火勢蔓延;防火安全袋則可減少助燃的氧氣進入。目前國泰航空可為50多個貨運航點提供防火安全袋,至於防火集裝箱亦有約50個貨運航點供應。

為了在實際操作時謹守安全至上的原則,放置在防火裝備內的每件貨物,都必須在裝載上機前,徹底檢查操作性能和各項文件,工作人員亦會在準備階段進行一系列的安全措施,包括為剷車刀片裝上特別的保護套,防止造成任何損壞。

Staff members from Cathay Pacific Service Ltd working at the terminal
員工培訓是確保安全運送電池的關鍵之一

員工培訓及代理省察

簡藍天補充說:「所有員工在處理鋰電池貨運前,都要接受專門的培訓,我們亦會與持份者舉行定期的檢討會議,期望持續改善整個流程。我們亦會每星期編寫報告,以便監督績效並採取積極的控制措施。」

錯誤申報近來亦成為棘手的問題,因此國泰於今年1月推出一項加強的監管措施,輔以現有的貨運代理服務計劃一起實施,透過培訓作為杜絕任何未經申報或錯誤申報危險品貨運的預防措施,有需要時,更會向違規者索取賠償費用。

貨運合規及危險品經理林鳳娟亦是IATA危險品理事會成員,她說:「此舉完全配合IATA的危險品運輸規則,當中要求付運人和空運代理委託IATA會員航空公司運送危險品時,必須完全遵守有關規則,貨品要按照規定正確識別、分類、包裝、標記、標籤和記錄,並符合所需的運輸條件。代理商亦有責任查證,正確申報,並確保貨品遵從危險品運輸規則妥善包裝。」

國泰航空嚴格遵守IATA經過反覆測試的危險品運輸規則,同時執行內部的嚴謹處理程序,竭盡全力確保所有貨運安全可靠,裝備精益求精。林鳳娟說:「我們將繼續與IATA及相關部門密切合作,進一步提升安全運輸標準。」

了解更多國泰貨運對運送鋰電池的詳盡指引。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

How Cathay Pacific Cargo flies lithium-ion battery shipments to the highest possible safety standards

Strict policies and processes are enabling shipments in this growing market while keeping people and planes safe

Whether they’re inside our mobile phones, laptops, cameras, wireless headphones or myriad other electronic devices, lithium-ion (LI) batteries power much of 21st-century life. But as their usage escalates by as much as 30 per cent each year, so too do incidents in transit because of goods being misdeclared or mishandled. This means bridging the gap between factory and consumer can be a challenging process for those involved in logistics.

The industry has worked to design and implement policies, processes and regulations for the safe carriage of LI batteries, culminating in IATA’s Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR). But with safety as aviation’s top priority, the increasing use of batteries in so many consumer goods, and the rise of e-commerce, there is a sense that there needs to be more statutory and standardised backing to eliminate as much risk as possible.

At its annual conference in June, IATA called for international government support to help implement global standards and information-sharing to crack down on those who put transport infrastructure – and lives – at risk.

‘Airlines, shippers, manufacturers and governments all want to ensure the safe transport of lithium batteries by air,’ said Willie Walsh, IATA’s Director General. ‘There are some areas where the leadership of governments is critical. Stronger enforcement of existing regulations and the criminalisation of abuses will send a strong signal to rogue shippers. And the accelerated development of standards for screening, information exchange and fire containment will give the industry even more effective tools to work with.’

Even without expanded regulation, Cathay Pacific Cargo is using all the tools and handling procedures at its disposal to carry this in-demand commodity as safely as possible, while also offering as much flexibility to customers as it is able.

close-up of a person taking the lithium battery out from a digital camera
Lithium-ion batteries power so many consumer devices and are growing risk as online retail and e-commerce expand rapidly

A growing commodity

At present, Cathay Pacific carries around 100 bulk shipments of LI batteries a week. In particular, flights from North East Asia including South Korea have taken on a large amount of LI batteries, employing the most up-to-date equipment and processes to ensure safety at all times.

Shipping LI batteries requires constant vigilance. If they are stored or handled incorrectly they can generate intense heat should they catch fire. They can continue to burn even if they are starved of oxygen, and even reignite after being extinguished. The roll-on/roll-off cargo ship Felicity Ace sank in the Atlantic Ocean in February after lithium-ion batteries installed in luxury cars in the hold ignited.

Battery shipments have special handling code CAO (cargo aircraft only) and are not allowed on passenger flights, and it was only when Cathay Pacific Cargo introduced its Fire Containment Bags, which were tested by the FAA, available in 2019 that they could be carried in specific locations on the lower deck of freighters.

Handling LI battery shipments remains a delicate matter, as Cargo Services Development Manager Nadeem Khan explains. ‘To start with, only pre-approved shippers and lithium-ion battery model shipments can be accepted.

‘When it comes to physically accepting the cargo, its shipment condition is checked in accordance with IATA’s DGR to ensure that the packaging is rigid and there is no sign of damage before it is loaded into Cathay’s fire containment equipment.’

Two staff members moving fire containment bags containing dangerous goods shipments at a terminal
Packaging for lithium-ion batteries includes the range of Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Fire Containment Bags

Fire-containment solutions

There are four different fire containment equipment available for LI battery shipments – two sizes of Fire Containment Bag (FCB), the much larger Skid-size Fire Containment Bag (SFCB) and, most recently, the Fire Resistant Container (FRC). All have been designed, tested and manufactured to the highest standards. The FRC is a flame-retardant AKE ULD, which can take loads of up to 1,500 kilos and can passively contain a fire. The FCBs bags are designed to limit the supply of oxygen to any fire. The fire-containment equipment allows Cathay Pacific to serve more than 50 FCB-approved freighter stations and a similar number of FRC stations.

In practical terms and keeping safety paramount, a thorough serviceability and documentation check is conducted for each item of fire containment equipment before loading the shipment, and staff run through a list of safety measures during the build-up, including deploying a special cover for forklift blades to prevent the risk of damage.

Staff members from Cathay Pacific Service Ltd working at the terminal
Training is an essential part of ensuring safety is built into battery shipments

Staff training and agent awareness

Khan adds: ‘All our staff are given dedicated training prior to handling LI battery shipments, and we aim to continuously improve the process by holding regular review meetings with stakeholders. We also compile a weekly report to allow us to oversee performance and take proactive control measures.’

Misdeclarations have become an increasingly tricky problem of late, which is why Cathay Pacific introduced an additional control scheme in January this year to work alongside the existing Cargo Agent Operation Programme, to help eliminate any undeclared or misdeclared dangerous goods shipments through training as a precautionary measure – and if necessary, an indemnity charge for non-compliance.

‘In doing so, Cathay Pacific was acting in concert with IATA’s DGR, which has decreed that shippers and freight forwarders must fully comply with regulations when offering a consignment of dangerous goods to an IATA member airline,’ says Florence Lam, Cargo Compliance and Dangerous Goods Manager, who is also a member of the Dangerous Goods Board at IATA. ‘The regulations also state that the articles must be properly identified, classified, packed, marked, labelled, documented and be in an acceptable condition for transport. Agents must thoroughly check, make the proper declaration and ensure the goods are packed in accordance with DGR regulations.’

Cathay Pacific is adhering strictly to IATA’s tried-and-tested DGR: and by enforcing its own rigorous policy and processes, it is doing all it can to ensure that all its shipments remain safe – and that our devices remain powered up. We will continue to work together with IATA and related authorities in driving the further enhancement of the safe carriage standard.

Find out more about Cathay Pacific Cargo’s detailed guidance about shipping lithium batteries.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.