國泰貨運舉重若輕

孟買團隊運送巨大尺寸的鑽油設備已駕輕就熟

空運相比其他運輸模式可能較為昂貴,不過有不少利用空運運送的貨物可能會令你大呼意外。畢竟空運價格是根據重量及體積計算,因此,空運一件重達13,000公斤、佔據超過四個主艙板位的貨物,可說是非一般重量級任務。

此次國泰貨運應客戶要求,運送一台燃氣渦輪機引擎前往德州休斯敦進行維修和保養。此龐然巨物通常在石油業擔當發電機的任務,為鑽油架提供電力。

其實石油業以空運方式運輸重型設備並非特例。石油又被稱為「黑色黃金」,產油進度一旦受阻可能令產業蒙受巨大金錢損失,因此應急事宜刻不容緩,就算運送體型龐大、重量驚人的巨型設備,亦寧願捨棄較便宜的船運,採用空運服務。

早在2012年,國泰貨運為一位石油業客戶運送鑽油架的組件時,便採取了非比尋常的裝卸設備。當時國泰貨運充分利用了波音747的機首位置,將重達43噸、長25米的鑽油設備從機首艙門運進機艙。(詳見當年《Cargo Clan》雜誌,可按此閱讀第19頁。)事隔十年,國泰貨運的專業精神可謂遇強越強。

西印度地區貨運經理Arpan Heryani說:「我們這幾個月來都在處理這批貨物的運送工作,客戶計劃未來還要運送更多引擎去美國進行檢修。這次運送的貨物重約13噸,尺寸為582 x 274 x 269厘米,而它只不過是今次運送任務的其中一件貨物。國泰的貨運銷售支援主任Pritesh Nardhany擔任代理的聯絡人,由訂艙階段起就協助代理處理所需事宜,並且一直向他們報告貨物的最新情況,直至貨物抵達休斯敦為止。」

An out of gauge gas turbine shipment on a Cathay Pacific Cargo Boeing 747 freighter

超大型「危險品」

這台燃氣渦輪機引擎除了尺寸特殊,也分別標示了代表「僅限貨機運送」和「易燃氣體」空運代碼CAO/RFG的危險品。國泰貨運的特殊運送方案產品Expert LIFT專為如此大型、容易損壞而且沉重的貨物而設計。在繁忙擁擠的孟買機場貨運站,這項任務從一開始並不容易。

在裝載前一天,團隊合力為這台引擎製造一個獨一無二的集裝箱,不僅根據引擎的特大尺寸而建造,集裝箱亦需加裝層板負重及分散重量。在貨運服務經理Zubin Daver和貨運服務主任Hitesh Divecha的密切監督下,工作人員利用起重機將這件重量級貨物從卡車的拖車卸載到度身訂造的集裝箱內。

A close-up of the strapping securing an out of gauge gas turbine shipment on a Cathay Pacific Cargo Boeing 747 freighter

由於孟買的貨運設施空間有限,而且使用量高,令卸載過程更為複雜,而超大型貨物亦帶來更多挑戰。儘管如此,當天的貨物裝卸過程卻完全符合國泰貨運領導業界的標準程序,包括使用額外所需的索帶,把這件重型貨物牢固於貨機主艙的機翼盒段位置,讓它在飛行全程不會左搖右擺。同時,儘管貨物的尺寸比集裝板橫向超出達56厘米,其重量依然能集中分佈於四個主艙的空間內。

JTB Jupiter Express Services India Pvt. Ltd是負責處理此次運送的貨運代理商,該公司的貨運經理(印度)Ranjit Nair說:「國泰貨運擁有出色的團隊及遍佈多地的貨運網絡,成為處理這批貨物的不二之選。每當我們需要特殊貨物運送方案時,我們都會先考慮跟國泰貨運合作。」

由此證明,孟買團隊再一次締造了空運重任的成功佳績。

大貨物小數據

細數一些與這件重量級貨物有關的小數據。

重量:13噸

尺寸:582 x 274 x 269厘米

主艙板位:四個(橫向超出集裝板範圍)

飛行距離:11,000英里

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

How to handle heavyweight shipments

Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Mumbai team is making light work of big shipments for the oil industry

Many surprising items travel by air but air cargo can be expensive compared to other modes, and it is sold by both weight and the space occupied. So a request for 13,000kg air cargo shipment for one item occupying more than four main deck spaces is quite the request.

This particular heavyweight shipment was a gas turbine engine. Equipment like this often generates the power supply for rigs, and this one needed to get to Houston, Texas for repair and servicing.

It’s not that unusual for the oil industry to make use of air freight for hefty gear. Anything that halts oil production costs money, so time is often of the essence, even for big pieces of equipment that at first glance would be more at home on a ship.

Back in 2012, an oil client made full use of the nose door on Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Boeing 747 to load part of a drilling rig that weighed 43 tonnes (see page 18 of the Cargo Clan shipment story here). More significantly, it was around 25 metres in length, which called for an enterprising use of loading equipment. Ten years on, Cathay Pacific Cargo’s expertise is, if anything stronger.

‘We have been handling these shipments for some months now, and there are more engines planned for overhaul in the US,’ says Arpan Heryani, Area Cargo Manager Western India. ‘This particular shipment was just the one piece weighing around 13 tonnes and taking up 582x274x269cms. Our Cargo Sales Support Executive Pritesh Nardhany was the point of contact for the agent and assisted them from the booking stage, keeping them updated until the shipment arrived in Houston.’

An out of gauge gas turbine shipment on a Cathay Pacific Cargo Boeing 747 freighter

Outsized and ‘dangerous’

Apart from the size, this was also a dangerous goods air cargo shipment, having special codes for ‘cargo aircraft only’ and ‘flammable gas’ (CAO/RFG). Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Expert LIFT product is designed for these big, fragile and unwieldy cargo loads, even if the Mumbai airport cargo terminal, which can be busy and congested.

One day ahead of loading, the team gathered to create a unique ULD with additional boards to contend with the engine’s weight, the distribution of that weight, and the sheer size of the consignment. The shipment was offloaded from the trailer of a truck on to the customised ULD with a crane, under the careful watching eyes of Cargo Services Manager Zubin Daver and Cargo Services Officer Hitesh Divecha.

A close-up of the strapping securing an out of gauge gas turbine shipment on a Cathay Pacific Cargo Boeing 747 freighter

The process was complicated by the congested infrastructure and limited space at Mumbai, which makes out of gauge shipments more challenging. But on the day, the loading was carried out according to Cathay Pacific Cargo’s industry-leading standards, with all the additional strapping required to contend with the weight to keep it in place over the wing box on the main deck of the freighter for the duration of the flight, and to centralise the weight distribution across four main deck spaces with an additional 56cm lateral overhang.

Ranjit Nair, Manager – Cargo (India) from JTB Jupiter Express Services India Pvt. Ltd, which handled the shipment, said: ‘Cathay Pacific Cargo’s handling team and freighter network made it ideal for this shipment. We always prefer working with Cathay whenever we require specialised solutions.’

Another big consignment for the Mumbai team handled the air freight with distinction.

Cargo by numbers

The heavyweight shipment, in some very heavyweight numbers.
Weight: 13 tonnes
Dimensions: 582x274x269cms
Main deck spaces: Four (with an additional overhang)
Distance flown: 11,000 miles
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.