客運服務受阻是否為貨運帶來更多挑戰?

Ian Putzger探討最近全球機場出現的人龍及航班取消等情況對航空貨運的影響,貨運董事歐永棠則闡釋國泰貨運如何重整旗鼓迎接挑戰

Ian Putzger

最近數星期,歐美乘客都感到相當氣餒。他們終於可以再次出國旅遊,但積壓過久的需求導致機場大排長龍、航班延誤或取消,最終轉機行程受到阻滯。這種情況對航空貨運帶來什麼後果?業界就這些影響有何回應?

今年夏天,各大航空公司已取消了數以千計的客運航班。漢莎航空早前宣佈兩大航運樞紐法蘭克福和慕尼黑於7月削減900班航班。其他航空公司如美國航空和聯合航空更於數月前精簡內部的航班時間表。而在6月初,英國已縮減2%至4%航班,其他歐洲國家則取消了約3%航班,而荷蘭的降幅更擴大至11%。

 

設定飛行上

面對這些衝擊,包括倫敦希斯路機場及格域機場(LGW)等航點,認為必須強制實施飛行上限。阿姆斯特丹史基浦機場是受影響最嚴重的航空樞紐之一,該機場宣佈夏季高峰期的航班數量上限將減少16%。

國泰航空的地勤服務合作夥伴Menzies Aviation貨運副總裁Robert Fordree表示,歐洲是當前受阻情況最嚴重的地區。然而,在管理顧問公司麥肯錫主理亞洲航空及物流的全球董事合夥人沈思文(Steve Saxon)表示,綜觀全球,從澳洲、印度到加拿大的機場都受到波及。

他說:「所有地方都同病相憐。每家航空公司和機場都在努力恢復運力。」他並指出,即使新加坡樟宜機場亦須解決長時間航班延誤的問題。

 

解僱潮遺症

全球均面臨相同的問題。然而與香港目前仍維持防疫措施相反(請見下文),客運需求迅速回升,增長速度甚至遠高於許多因疫情導致運力疲弱的機場和航空公司。至於航空公司、地勤服務供應商和機場早前被迫大量裁員,事實證明,再次增聘員工遇到不少阻力,事緣許多離職員工已另謀高就。

此外,機場禁區內的職員必須接受繁複的安檢程序,亦會令求職者卻步,導致營辦商在滿足人手需求上事倍功半。

所幸目前尚未有地勤服務供應商表明近期服務受阻對他們帶來任何顯著衝擊,然而某些業內人士指出,現時空運費上調的原因不僅是因為需求增加,地勤服務遇上瓶頸也是其中一個因素。

瑞士國際空港服務公司(Swissport)的發言人說:「目前的營運狀況相當穩定。全球各地都有一些地方性問題,但不至於引發嚴重事件。」

 

貨運未受波及

麥肯錫的沈思文指出,有別於以客運為主的航空公司,經營航空貨運業的機構並未於疫情期間大量裁員,而且於過去數年需求保持強勁。但他補充道:「由於許多搬運公司使用相同的勞動力裝卸貨物和乘客行李,因此業內僅衍生輕微的連鎖反應。」

短程航線的窄體客機首當其衝受到取消航班影響,這是貨運得以避開客運困境的第二個主要原因。除了少數例外,歐洲和美國的航空公司一直維持營運長程航線,因此只有部分運送包裹的航班及少數支線業務受到削減航班影響。

Menzies的Fordree說:「據報道指出,取消的航班主要是在假期執飛的短程航班,大多為不載貨或僅運送極少量貨物。這些航班一般採用窄體客機,其載貨容量相當有限,因此對我們的環球貨運業務影響微乎其微。」

 

運力周期性波動

即使如此,貨運業務仍面對一定壓力。沈思文指出,目前營運商正在應付因服務受阻而引發的連串問題,航班取消只不過是最近期發生的事件。烏克蘭局勢令俄羅斯在亞歐航段上的貨機運力降低,而歐洲的航空公司亦被迫繞道以避開俄羅斯空域,導致有效載荷減少。此外,由於付運商不願使用從中國內地經俄羅斯到歐洲的鐵路服務,令空運需求大增,而中國內地封關亦嚴重影響運力,並造成待運貨物積壓。

分析圖表由麥肯錫提供

他表示:「目前的貨運運力依然供不應求。與2019年相比,今年的運力已增加了6%,但依然不足以應付需求。」他補充說,多式聯運供應鏈緊張,更使空運服務需求持續高企。

總部位於維也納的貨運代理商cargo-partner的空運貨物產品管理企業總監Rene Brzezowsky表示,對貨運代理而言,當前的情況仍然充滿挑戰。「我們面對波動不定的市場形勢,供求失衡的情況與日俱增。」

他強調,最近數月的情況更不穩定,懂得靈活應變並與客戶密切合作尤為重要。此外,與航空公司緊密聯繫亦同樣重要。他補充道:「我們與夥伴航空公司維持長期的合作關係,得以根據主要貿易幹線的固定載貨量協議,為客戶創造行之有效的解決方案。」

 

機場乘勢而起

與其他貨運代理商一樣,cargo-partner已開始營運包機,以提供足夠運力。過去數年,許多航運樞紐難以處理過於龐大的貨運量,因此越來越多類似航班轉飛二線機場,包括一些以貨運為主的機場。

Brzezowsky說:「疫情期間,傳統運輸途徑的瓶頸更為嚴重。當然,二線機場可以填補一些空間,但我們主要還是仰賴包機業務。」

沈思文指出,此概念主要針對北美和歐洲,但亞洲亦有類似的趨勢,例如中國計劃開發位於湖北省的鄂州花湖機場及安徽省的蕪湖宣州機場,前者同時也是順豐速運的貨運樞紐。

根據大部分業內消息來源指出,旅客需求與地勤服務資源失衡,在機場造成的問題將會持續數月,甚至超過一年。如果客運航空樞紐為解決問題而實施更多飛行限制,預期將會提高二線貨運機場的增長勢頭。

 

航空及物流記者Ian Putzger撰文

國泰貨運的業務展望

貨運董事歐永棠

客運服務受阻否影響香港的貨運業務?

沒有。我們提供處理現有運力所需的一切資源,與國泰航空服務保持密切聯繫以評估預測噸位需求,同時,國泰貨運站擁有一批能靈活調動的員工,可根據需要增加或減少人力。目前我們的地勤代理——香港機場地勤服務(HAS)正全力提供國泰貨機所需資源。

隨著限制放寬及航班增加,國泰航空是否會跟其他地區一樣出現瓶頸?

我們已全面評估網絡內的貨運服務供應商,確保在增加運力之前察覺任何潛在問題。我們編排的貨機航班時間表非常緊湊,務求充分利用現有運力,可在未來數月為公司帶來最大收益,因此我們無法承受今年下半年出現異乎尋常的重大延誤或服務受阻。別忘了,在疫情爆發期間,我們大部分時間依然營運貨機和只載貨客機往來許多網絡內的航點,因此,我們在業務重啟時無須面對太多挑戰。

 

其他外站是否曾遇過任何困難?

外站面對的問題主要是缺乏有經驗的人手,以及難以招聘到合適員工接替疫情期間離職的同事。我們將為員工提供完善培訓,確保他們符合所有規範要求並獲得最新技巧,以便在為客戶處理貨物時將安全放在首位。

 

你採取了哪些紓緩措施以迎接重啟飛行網絡和夏季高峰期來臨?

我們對航點的處貨能進行了徹底而深入的分析,當發現問題時立即與承包商溝通,並確保採取符合公司標準及要求的適當行動。他們每次均迅速回應,確保我們的貨運業務不會出現任何服務失誤。隨著運力增加,我們肯定會密切監控公司的服務水準。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Is passenger flight disruption adding to cargo’s challenges?

Ian Putzger examines the disruptions in global aviation and air cargo – and Director Cargo Tom Owen explains how Cathay Pacific Cargo is ready for the challenge

Ian Putzger on preparations for a COVID-19 vaccine for Cathay Pacific Cargo Clan
Ian Putzger

Recent weeks have been frustrating for passengers in Europe and the US. Finally free to travel again, their pent-up demand has led to long lines at airports, lengthy delays and cancellations that turned connecting flight itineraries into obstacle courses. But what are the ramifications for air cargo, and how is the industry responding where there has been an impact?

Airlines have scrapped thousands of passenger flights this summer. Lufthansa has announced 900 flight cuts for July at its hubs at Frankfurt and Munich. Other carriers, like American Airlines and United, reduced their schedules months ago. Between two and four per cent of flights in the UK were cancelled in early June, while other European countries saw cancellation rates of around three per cent over the same period while the Netherlands suffered a bigger drop of 11 per cent.

 

Airport limits

In the face of these disruptions, some airports, including London Heathrow and Gatwick, have felt compelled to impose caps on flying. Amsterdam Schiphol, one of the hardest-hit hubs, announced a ceiling on flights during the summer peak that will see a 16 per cent reduction overall.

Robert Fordree, Vice-president Cargo at handler Menzies Aviation, says Europe has been the most affected region for these current disruptions. However, Steve Saxon, a Partner at McKinsey & Company who heads the consultancy’s aviation and logistics work in Asia, says airports around the globe – from Australia and India to Canada – have been also been impacted.

‘It’s a struggle everywhere. Every airline and airport is struggling to get capacity back in the air,’ he says, noting that even Singapore Changi has wrestled with extended delays.

 

After the furlough

They are all facing the same problem. Unlike in Hong Kong where quarantine restrictions remain (see below), passenger demand has rocketed back much faster than the operational capability of many airports and airlines, which has been severely depleted by the pandemic. Carriers, handlers and airports were forced to lay off large numbers of employees. Ramping up staff numbers again has proven to be challenging, while many laid-off workers have found employment elsewhere.

Moreover, the lengthy security clearance process for staff in airside positions deters possible candidates and slows down operators’ efforts to boost numbers to keep up with demand.

The good news for air-cargo so far is that handlers have not reported any significant impact to operations from the recent disruptions, although some in the industry point to the current higher airfreight rates being a factor of not just demand, but some handling bottlenecks too.

‘We see very stable operations,’ states a spokesman for Swissport. ‘There are some local issues here and there across the globe, but nothing that leads to very substantial issues.’

 

Minimal cargo impact

Unlike on the passenger side of the aviation industry, companies handling cargo did not lay off large numbers of employees who work with cargo during the pandemic, and demand has remained strong over the past couple of years, as McKinsey’s Saxon points out. Although he adds: ‘There has been a small knock-on effect from the fact that many handlers use the same labour to load cargo and passenger bags.’

The second major reason why cargo seems to be escaping the travails of the passenger side is that cancellations have overwhelmingly affected narrow-body flights on shorter sectors. With a few exceptions, European and American airlines have maintained their long-haul operations, so the impact of the flight cuts has been limited to some parcel traffic and a small scope of feeder operations.

‘The many flight cancellations being reported are largely short-haul, holiday flights that traditionally do not carry cargo or only in a very limited capacity,’ says Menzies’ Fordree. ‘They are generally narrow-body aircraft, so cargo payload is limited and impact on our global cargo operations is, therefore, minimal.’

 

Capacity fluctuations

Even so, cargo operations are under some strain. Saxon notes that operators are contending with a convergence of disruptions, in which the current flight cancellations are but the latest hiccup. The war in Ukraine reduced Russian freighter capacity on the Asia-Europe sector and has forced European carriers to take longer routings to avoid Russian airspace, effectively reducing payload. In addition, demand for airfreight has increased because shippers have been reluctant to use rail services from the Chinese Mainland to Europe via Russia, while the lockdowns in the Chinese Mainland decimated capacity and created a backlog of orders to be shipped.

Courtesy of McKinsey & Company

‘There remains a capacity shortage,’ says Saxon. ‘There is six per cent more capacity than in 2019. However, demand is higher.’ He adds that the strain on intermodal supply chains is maintaining upward pressure on demand for airlift.

The situation remains challenging for freight forwarders, according to Rene Brzezowsky, Corporate Director Product Management Air Cargo at Vienna-based forwarder cargo-partner. ‘We are facing an uncertain and volatile market situation and an increasing imbalance of supply and demand.’

As the situation has become more fluid in recent months, flexibility and close coordination with customers has become more important than ever, he stresses. Equally important are close contacts with airlines. ‘Long-term relationships with our carrier partners have enabled us to create reliable solutions for our customers based on fixed capacity agreements on major trade lanes,’ he adds.

 

Secondary airport contingencies

Like other forwarders, cargo-partner has used charters to ensure sufficient lift for its traffic. Over the past couple of years, as hubs struggled with heavy cargo volumes, a growing number of these flights have touched down at second-tier airports, some of which place a strong focus on cargo.

‘Traditional gateways became an even greater bottleneck during the pandemic,’ says Brzezowsky. ‘Of course, alternative airports are filling some gaps, but much more so on the charter operations side.’

This concept has taken off predominantly in North America and Europe, but it is also on the increase in Asia, notes Saxon, pointing to plans in China to develop Ezhou Huahu Airport in Hubei Province, the designated hub for SF Express, and Wuhu Xuanzhou airport in Anhui.

According to most industry sources, the problems caused at airports by the imbalance between passenger demand and ground resources will persist for months, if not more than a year. If passenger hubs impose more caps on flying to cope with the issue, we can expect the momentum to grow behind alternative cargo gateways.

 

Ian Putzger is an aviation and logistics journalist

The picture at Cathay Pacific Cargo

A portrait of Tom Owen, Director Cargo of Cathay Pacific Cargo
Tom Owen, Director Cargo

Have cargo operations been affected in Hong Kong by the passenger disruptions?

No. We have been providing all the resources needed to handle the available capacity. We liaise closely with Cathay Pacific Services Ltd on tonnage-demand forecasting, and our Cargo Terminal has a flexible workforce that can scale up and down as required. Our ground handling agent HAS is now providing dedicated support resources for our freighters.

As restrictions ease and flight numbers grow, will Cathay Pacific experience the bottlenecks we’ve seen elsewhere? 

We have conducted a thorough evaluation of the cargo service providers around our network to ensure we have identified any potential capability issues in advance of new capacity being added. Our freighter schedule is very tight and optimised to deliver the greatest returns for the company in the months ahead, so we cannot afford to have significant delays or disruptions out of the normal tolerances over the second half of this year. It’s worth remembering that we have been operating freighters and cargo-only passenger flights throughout much of the pandemic to many places in the network, and so we will have fewer restart challenges as a result.

 

Are there reports of any challenges for cargo at outports?

Where there are issues, they have tended to be around a lack of skilled labour and hiring challenges to replace employees who left the industry during the pandemic. We will ensure all our compliance requirements are met through training and that skillsets are current so that we can put safety at the forefront when handling our customers’ cargo.

 

What mitigations do you have in place as the network rebuilds and we head towards the peak?

We undertook a thorough, deep-dive analysis of port capability and we have spoken to contractors where we identified issues and ensured appropriate actions have been taken in terms of meeting our standards and requirements. They have responded promptly to ensure we will not have any service breakdowns on the cargo side of the business. As we add cargo capacity, we will of course monitor our service levels very closely.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.