以身作則推動平等就業機會

物流公司喬達集團和DHL Express致力提升職場性別平等,兩位主管談及公司採取相應措施的原由

喬達集團:以多元共融的商業思維致勝

喬達國際貨運物流集團在全球60個國家及地區設有辦事處,主張以多元共融作為招聘人才及職業發展藍圖的綱領,並建立具前瞻性的目標和政策,致力發展成為一間提供平等就業機會的跨國企業。人力資源執行副總裁Mario Ceccon闡釋人才多元化的優勢。

 

喬達集團人力資源執行副總裁Mario Ceccon
 

喬達設定的標是在2023年由女性擔任四分一的管理職位,有別於2020年貨運業內13%的平均比例。你會如何達到目標?

公司迄今的女性員工佔全體僱員人數四成,其中兩成為高級行政人員,遠高於2017年的13%。我們在世界各地的辦事處及市場,同樣以集中建立沒有歧視的開放文化為企業目標。

當中涉及的政策繁多,包括招聘及擢升候選員工必須公平公正;實施全球培訓計劃以遏止「根深蒂固的定型觀念及偏見」;以及不論集團女員工在哪一個國家任職,都劃一享有最少八星期的全薪產假。

 

喬達採取什麼行動打破業界由男性主導的固有印象?

我們會集中四個主要範疇:以各種通訊方式促進溝通、建立具影響力的網絡、制定公司女性員工數目的一套特定目標,並爭取外界的認證,提升我們推動性別多元及平等企業思維的認可和信譽。

我們亦著重取得歐洲和國際性別平等標準(GEEIS)的外部認證,確保我們上下皆朝著正確的方向努力,並在各個層面推動平等。GEEIS會考慮企業的規模、就業策略、工作間的文化,以及各地區辦事處團隊爭取認證的完善程度,作為評審準則。

我們計劃在三年內於12個有業務的國家取得認證,並向每個國家的團隊提供特定培訓,全力支援他們達到目標。我們期望這些國家的辦事處能堅守持續改進的信念,同時爭取獲得認證,並通過革新過程作為評估進度的基準。

 

喬達創建的女性網絡是怎麼一回事,又起何作用?

這是我們設立的內部網絡,讓喬達全球的男女員工一起推動職場平等,鼓勵他們改變固有的態度和習慣。喬達女性網絡有逾350名活躍成員,驅使公司所有本地及全球機制落實推動女性在職業生涯中發揮所長,例如喬達的培訓計劃MANAGE,便設有14個星期的課程提升主管的技能和領導能力。這個網絡亦特別在美國及亞太區推行師友服務計劃,展開一系列正式及非正式的活動,讓參與計劃的導師和學員可以互相交流和分享經驗。

 

未來還有什麼計劃締造更多元化的人力資源

今年1月1日開始,公司會視乎環境、社會及企業管治的關鍵績效指標,決定行政人員一個季度的年終酬金,而其中一項關鍵績效指標,便與其所屬團隊實行性別平等的成績掛鈎。公司的目標是增加管理層的女性員工數目,並積極消除她們得到晉升機會的限制。

我們亦要打破墨守成規的觀念,並通過彰顯女性在職場上的成功例子,讓年輕一輩可以表現自我才能,肯定自己的成就。在這方面,我們已有非常傑出的典範,公司的行政總裁Marie-Christine Lombard正是當中的表表者!

  

你認為人力資源多元化有何優勢?

企業發展愈大,愈需要更多人才滿足顧客的需求。我們擁有多元文化及背景的員工,不論男女,人才濟濟。他們的才能和衝勁是公司的重要資產,還有其他優點未及細數。讓員工在多元思考的環境中發揮潛能,讓創意湧現,這正是激發我們提供創新解決方案和服務的靈感之源。

DHL Express:把性別平衡放在首位

DHL Express航空商務環球主管Ingrid Raj分享其事業青雲路的點滴,並闡述德國郵政DHL集團致力從多方面糾正業界性別失衡的問題,善用每位同事的技能和經驗,讓所有人都能一展所長。

 

DHL Express航空商務環球主管Ingrid Raj
 

你為何選擇投身航空物流業?

我向來很嚮往航空業。最初投身航空業時,我從事客運業務為主,到了1991年,我獲邀參與一個中東項目,負責在沙迦建立貨運樞紐,之後就轉換跑道加入貨運業。這個項目不僅肯定了我對航空業的熱愛,還讓我大開眼界,認識了物流和空運這個全新領域。我任職漢莎貨運航空14年,期間擔任過銷售、營運、品質保證及業務發展等職務,獲得不少寶貴的經驗。

後來我從中東調到亞洲工作,並於2007年轉職DHL Express,負責地區航空商務和網絡策劃及管制等職務。過去這15年來,能夠在全球最複雜及快速成長的地區,領導亞太區首屈一指的航空團隊,協助公司完善營運和網絡,並為客戶提供卓越服務,我與有榮焉。今年1月,我獲派擔任航空商務環球主管的新崗位,並將於今年稍後移居布魯塞爾。

 

在發展事業的旅途上,你可曾遇過什麼挑戰?

剛入行時,的確有不少人對我投以奇怪的眼光,但我毫不在意,所以這算不上挑戰。我從不因為自己身為女性,卻從事男性主導的行業而自我設限。對於工作,我只問自己:「我能否勝任?」而不是:「我是否適合?」

我從來不等機會找上門,而是自己創造機會。如果你想成為作家,那就開筆寫吧,不用等待有人給你題目或寫作許可。如果你想成為領袖,那就站起來帶領眾人,你目前是什麼職位、是什麼性別,或是否有下屬都毫不相干。人們總是習慣等待別人指引和領導,只要相信自己,就在你目前所在的崗位站起來帶領吧

 

曾有恩師在事業上助你一把嗎?

雖然我不曾參加過任何正式的師友計劃,但我認為這類計劃的確能有效提攜具潛能的專業人士。至於我自己,則會常常向上司請益,徵求他們的意見;並透過每天的工作不斷學習,令我受益匪淺;他山之石,可以攻玉,聽取意見對成長至為重要。

 

貴公司採取什麽措施以提升女性職員、特別是高級職員的數目?

德國郵政DHL集團的目標是於2025年或之前,把女性管理層的比例增至三成。我們正透過多個重點計劃逐步實現此願景,以提升對新晉女性員工的關注為目標,同時建立關係網絡和輔導平台促進她們的事業發展。為此,公司特別設立了DHL4Her計劃以作支援。

 

可否介紹一下DHL4Her,它如何運作?

DHL4Her旨在培養女性人才,提升職場的性別多元化,並跟德國郵政DHL集團致力成為全球女性人才僱主首選的工作並行,以產生協同效應。DHL Express各人事經理正透過以下方法啟發未來的女性領袖:

  • 透過提高對女性人才可見層面及提攜新一代女性領袖,培養可作為榜樣的女性;

  • 連繫我們在全球各地的女性領袖,以推動招聘女性人才的程序;

  • 開發及創造讓女性充分發揮潛能的機會,並透過正式和非正式的師友計劃培養她們的個人發展。

 

空運業對女性有什麼吸引之處?空運業是適合所有人的職業嗎?

雖然外界一般仍視空運業為男性主導的行業,但我認為所有性別都有責任為提升業界的性別平等而努力,同時創造平台和機會以促進性別多元化。多元化並不限於包容職業婦女,而是要創造一個不存在對年齡、種族及性別有偏見的工作場所,公司對員工的評價必須根據工作表現、貢獻和經驗而定。在空運業,要達到理想的多元平衡仍需很多工夫,應就在當下採取行動推動多元平衡。我們肯定可以攜手努力實現目標,任何人都不能袖手旁觀!

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Leading by example on equality

GEODIS and DHL Express are two logistics companies that take commitments to gender equality very seriously. Learn about the steps they are taking and why

GEODIS: diversity means business sense

Global transport and logistics firm GEODIS has made diversity and inclusion a central plank of its recruitment and career development, setting ambitious targets and policies to make the company an equal employer for all across the 60 countries where it has a direct presence. Mario Ceccon, Executive Vice-president Group Human Resources, explains how a diverse workforce makes it stronger.

 

Mario Ceccon, Executive Vice-president
Group Human Resources at GEODIS
 

GEODIS has set a target of 25 per cent of leadership roles to be held by women by 2023 – that’s against a 2020 industry average of 13 per cent. How are you doing with this target?

Today, our female employees represent 40 per cent of our workforce and 20 per cent of our senior executives, compared to 13 per cent in 2017. We work with all our businesses and regions across the globe with the goal of developing a culture of openness focusing on non-discrimination.

Our initiatives include, among others, a requirement for parity in the lists of candidates for recruitment and promotion; the implementation of a worldwide training programme aimed at combatting ‘stereotypes and prejudices’ and the introduction of a minimum period of maternity leave of eight weeks on full pay for all women in the Group, no matter what country they work in.

 

What steps has GEODIS taken to tackle perceptions of the industry’s perceived male dominance?  

We have four main areas that we concentrate on: communication; networks of influence; a specific set of objectives that we have set ourselves for the number of women in the workforce; and, finally, achieving external certification that validates and gives credibility to our approach to gender diversity and parity.

We rely on an external accreditation: GEEIS (Gender Equality European and International Standard). This ensures that we all strive to move in the right direction, and at every level to promote parity. GEEIS audits take into account the size, strategy, culture and maturity level of the country teams seeking accreditation.

Our deployment plan includes the accreditation of 12 countries over three years, with specific coaching to best support each country in achieving its goal. We want our country organisations to maintain an ethos of continuous improvement and for accreditation to remain a benchmark for assessing progress through a renewal process.

 

What is the GEODIS Women’s Network, and what role does it have to play?

This internal network brings together women – and men – who promote parity in all the countries in which GEODIS operates and encourages a change in attitudes and habits. The GEODIS Women’s Network has more than 350 active members, and it relays all the local and global mechanisms which promote the professional careers of women, such as GEODIS’ training programme MANAGE, which aims to strengthen managers’ skills and leadership through a 14-week course. The network has also initiated mentoring programmes with a series of informal and more formal sessions, especially in the US and across Asia Pacific.

 

What other initiatives do you have in place that are working towards creating a more diverse workforce?  

As of 1 January 2022, one quarter of an executive’s annual bonus is based on an ESG (environmental, social and governance) KPI. One of the KPIs is related to their ability to ensure gender parity in their teams. Our goal is to increase the number of women in managerial positions and to work towards removing the glass ceiling.

We also need to break down stereotypes by demonstrating examples of female success in which younger generations can see and recognise themselves. We have pioneers who have led the way in that regard – such as our CEO, Marie-Christine Lombard!

  

What do you see as the benefits of a diverse workforce? 

The more a company grows, the more talent it requires to meet its customers’ challenges. Talent is found in the diversity of our employee profiles, whether they are female or male.  Competence and motivation are the main assets, yet not the only ones to remember. Diversity allows the emergence of ideas and promotes creativity, so it is a source of innovation and solutions for the services we offer.

DHL Express: putting gender balance first

Ingrid Raj, Global Head of Aviation Commercial at DHL Express, on both her successful career and the Deutsche Post DHL Group’s efforts to redress the gender imbalance and take advantage of untapped skills and experience.

 

Ingrid Raj, Global Head of
Aviation Commercial at DHL Express
 

How did you get into the industry?

I was always fascinated by the world of aviation. I started out on the passenger side of the business but moved to cargo in 1991 when I had the opportunity to work on a project in the Middle East that involved establishing a cargo hub in Sharjah. While this experience reinforced my deep-rooted passion for aviation, it also opened me up to a whole new world of logistics and air freight. I honed my craft for 14 years at Lufthansa Cargo, where I held several roles spanning sales, operations, quality assurance, and business development.

On relocating from the Middle East to Asia, I moved to DHL Express in 2007 and held regional Aviation Commercial and Network Planning and Control roles. The experience over the past 15 years of leading high-performing aviation teams in Asia Pacific to deliver operational and network optimisation, as well as service excellence across the most complex and fastest-growing region of the world, has been really exciting. In January, I took on a new role as Global Head of Aviation Commercial and will be relocating to Brussels later this year.

 

What challenges have you faced on the way to success?

Early in my career, I certainly received a few strange looks but wouldn’t consider them challenges as I never let them bother me. I have never limited myself by thinking that I am a woman in a man’s world. The question I ask myself is ‘can I do the job?’, and not ‘do I fit in?’

I have never waited for opportunities to come knocking, but created them instead. For example, if you want to be a writer, just write. You don’t have to wait to be given a title or permission to write. If you want to be a leader, just lead. It doesn’t matter what your current role or gender is or if you have direct reports or not. People are always looking for guidance and leadership — just believe in yourself and start leading from exactly where you are!

 

Did you have any mentors to help you in your career?  

While I have not participated in formal mentorship programmes, they can be effective in supporting professional people with high potential. However, I have always solicited feedback from my bosses, and benefitted immensely from the informal mentorship stemming from the everyday tasks. That has delivered powerful benefits for me; feedback is essential for growth.

 

What steps has your company taken to increase female representation, particularly in senior roles? 

Deutsche Post DHL Group is targeting management to be 30 per cent female by 2025. We are well on track to achieve this through focused programmes aimed at increasing visibility to female recruits and facilitating development through networking and mentoring platforms. Part of this is supported by the DHL4Her initiative.

 

What is DHL4Her and how does it work?  

DHL4Her is aimed at grooming female talent and augmenting gender diversity in the workplace, and builds on the Deutsche Post DHL Group’s efforts to become the global employer of choice for female talent. DHL Express people managers now inspire future female leaders by:

  • Being a role model through increasing the visibility of female talent and encouraging the next generation of female leaders;

  • Connecting our female leaders regionally and globally to drive female talent recruitment;

  • Developing and creating opportunities for women to reach their full potential, and nurturing their development through formal and informal mentorship.

 

Why should women want to work in air cargo? Is it a career for all?  

While the air cargo industry is still perceived somewhat as a male-dominated industry, I believe there is a shared responsibility for all genders in it to continue to raise the ceiling for gender fairness, while creating platforms and opportunities to encourage gender diversity. Diversity is not just about the inclusion of women in the workplace, but about creating a workplace free from bias against age, race or gender – and one that rates employees by merit, contribution and experience. There is still much work to be done to achieve the balance we need in the air cargo industry and the time for action is now. We can certainly achieve this by working together as one. There is no excuse for just standing by!

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.