模擬駕駛以安全至上

我們與兩位機師在模擬駕駛艙體驗「酷熱高地」實際飛行時面對的挑戰

國泰航空的747機師在執飛前總會提前做好準備,以飛行安全為首要重任。他們對慣常的飛行路線已駕輕就熟,然而隨著包機服務日益增多,要求他們飛越從未涉足的領地,對其飛行技術是個很大的挑戰。Cargo Clan團隊早前與兩名747機師兼機師經理同行,了解國泰航空的飛行訓練模擬駕駛艙如何協助他們處理意料之外的突發事件,征服未竟之地。

在5月一個微風輕拂的早上,航務風險經理Pete Hudson和波音首席副機師Stu Baker整裝待發,登上波音747-8F貨機的模擬駕駛艙,做好準備練習實際飛行時的操作情況。Pete將會「單人操作」控制大局,Stu則在機師座位後的控制台負責設定天氣狀況及其他情境,並保證今天不會發生引擎起火、遇上氣流和液壓故障,這些都是機師在例行訓練和續領執照時要面對的重大考驗。他說:「今趟航程將會十分舒適。」

酷熱高地

兩位機師揀選了墨西哥城和內蒙古首府呼和浩特作為這次模擬飛行目的地。兩地擁有不少共通點,都是位於高原地帶,四周山地環抱,氣溫炙熱,正是體驗「酷熱高地」飛行的首選地點。要知道航機飛得愈高,氣溫愈趨溫熱,空氣密度和氧氣量也相應減少。機師為了保持與地面有等量的空氣推力,令機翼產生升力維持相同的空速,便要加快航速,實在是高難度的考驗。

Stu表示: 「基本上,航機會較我們所想的飛得更高更快,我們則要控制航機的飛行高度和速度。」

關於這點,我們稍後會詳細解釋當中的實況。我們目前身處香港國泰城的模擬駕駛艙,但從機艙舷窗往外看,卻是置身於海拔7,300英尺的墨西哥城機場23L跑道盡頭。這是國泰貨機離境採用的跑道,但使用率只有5%,正因如此,模擬駕駛艙便顯得難能可貴。Stu表示,在這條使用率甚低的跑道上,航機起飛時四個引擎的其中一個無法運轉,機會率可說是「微乎其微。即使不會出現的情況,我們亦會列入訓練範圍內。」

從墨西哥城展翅

我們身處的航機面向著西南方,在20英里以外幅員廣濶的墨西哥城,遠處若隱若現是一片崇山峻嶺,地勢更為高聳,左面橫臥了一座積雪封頂的活火山。這次行程會在起飛後右轉跨越墨西哥城,然後越過略為低矮的山谷折返機場。引擎開始發動,我們靠著座位,準備起飛前進,直衝天際。

起飛後,墨西哥城在飛機下怱怱掠過,但大家把所有心神都放在飛行路線顯示器上。顯示器從左到右的飛行路線,展示了航機以一定距離爬升的角度,前面的山巒迅即趨近,我們必須改變方向避開一下。Pete說:「我們可以開動四個引擎飛越群山,但實際上不會這樣做。如果其中一個引擎失效,航機爬升的坡度便會低很多。」

Pete形容開動三個引擎飛行是「頗大的挑戰,將要應付很多情況。」但今天是一趟模擬飛行的「舒適旅程」,因此當我們沿著正常航線前往瓜達拉哈拉時,他還有餘暇介紹「下面美麗的高球場」。之後我們轉向往返洛杉磯及安克雷奇貨機的路線,折返墨西哥城降落。至此我們才真正明白「酷熱高地」的飛行感受,還要加上重磅飛行,更是倍添難度。

波音747-8F貨機的降落重量上限為346噸,而國泰貨運從美國抵達墨西哥城的貨機一般負重約340噸。這條貨運路線甚具成本效益,只要有足夠燃油便可以應付兩個航段,一是前往瓜達拉哈拉,另一段是折返至燃油價格較廉宜的美國航點。Pete說:「我們要在節省成本和經營高地航點的利潤之間取得平衡,並維持具競爭力的價格。」

降落與否?

在風和日麗的海平面,一般波音747航機會以約150節(約每小時278海里)的空對地著陸速率飛行。但來到像墨西哥城如此酷熱的高地,空氣相對稀薄,要維持150節的空速,對地速度便要提升至約210節(每小時388海里)。Stu補充道:「根據飛行數據記錄顯示,墨西哥城是國泰航線網絡中進場風險最高的航點。」

原因何在?因為在這裡進場時需要加大降落坡度,以貼近下滑道不斷下降,但飛機仍然在全速飛行。Stu說:「我們認為可以讓機師體驗一點『急速觸地』的效果。陸地彷彿迅速在望,因此機師往往會在離地較高位置開始平飄(接地前機首最後上仰),或更大膽地在著陸前在跑道上『飄浮』較長時間。以這個速度飄浮五秒,相對以150節時速在海平面降落,需要更大面積的陸地才成。當機師判定情況安全,便會執行重飛程序,延遲著陸。」

這種以安全為首要考慮的導航方式,早已植根機師心中,他們絕對不會感到有辱專業水平。「我們鼓勵他們若發覺進場時情況有異,就不妨復飛。在墨西哥城,我們更加沒有太大優勢。」

即使在適當位置著陸,也需要竭盡所能,才能及時令飛機停下。Pete說:「煞停引擎的能量,就剛好在航機的能力範圍以內。」

我們終於進場,跑道似乎迅即在望。Pete說:「這就是空速和地速的分別,我的空速是173節,但相對的地速則是217節。」我們找到最佳的著陸位置,全速準備降落之際,Pete猛力推動油門桿,拉高機尖重新起飛。Stu很滿意地表示:「這處理方式稱得上準確無誤,毫無偏差。」我們爬升至某個高度,兩位機師便重新調準飛行電腦和操作系統,準備在內蒙古首府呼和浩特降落。

在呼和浩特著陸

國泰擁有兩個747貨機的模擬駕駛艙,每個價值約2,000萬美元,並結合了Rockwell Collins的模擬器數據庫和Google Earth影像,在訓練過程中提供精準的飛行資料。Stu表示:「我們之前從未到過呼和浩特,直到承辦首次包機服務才有機會踏足當地。藉著模擬駕駛艙精準的訓練設備,我們有足夠能力在這裡率先試飛。」

雖然包機服務安排在日間抵達,然而為方便機師了解當地機場附近地勢的模擬課程,因此訓練時設定了為夜間模式。呼和浩特的海拔高度為3,500英尺,較墨西哥城低,但前者同樣為盆地,四周地勢高峻,形成酷熱的高地氣候。

我們在9,500英尺的高度準備進場,放眼左邊是群山的地貌,精確進場滑降指示燈則顯示酷熱高地的效果。這些指示燈設置於跑道著陸區,讓機師於數英里以外靠目視觀察下滑道的正確位置。機師會看到四個燈號,四紅代表過於低飛,四白則是過高,兩紅兩白便是理想的著陸狀態。Stu說:「我們目前處於酷熱高地,因此看到差不多四個白燈。」他縝密地從控制台把地面溫度撥至37度,但Pete對進場程序早已瞭如指掌,迅即帶領大家完美著陸。

接著虛擬引擎開始降溫,兩位機師隨即討論剛才的經驗,以及在緊急情況下如何在墨西哥城更暢順地起飛。我們這些隨行乘客,就只會讚歎科技之發達和他們展現的專業飛行技巧。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Putting safety first in the sim

We fly with two captains in the simulator to experience the challenges of ‘hot and high’ flying

Preparation is all for Cathay Pacific’s freighter pilots; it’s how they put safety first. While some of the flying is routine, some of the ports they fly to offer real challenges – and a growing number of charter flights can take aircraft to pastures new. Cargo Clan caught up with two captains, also pilot managers, to learn how Cathay Pacific’s flight simulators help prepare pilots for the unexpected, the unlikely and the unknown.

It’s a breezy morning in May, and FOP Risk Manager Pete Hudson and Deputy Chief Pilot (Boeing) Stu Baker are gearing up for a flight in the Boeing 747-8F simulator. Pete will be at the controls flying ‘single pilot ops’, while Stu will orchestrate the weather and other settings from the control panel behind the pilots’ seats. Today, he has promised to limit the engine fires, turbulence and hydraulic failures, which are used to put pilots ‘through the wringer’ for their regular training and licence assessments. ‘It’ll be a comfort cruise,’ he says.

Hot and high

The pilots have chosen Mexico City (MEX) and Hohhot (HET) in Inner Mongolia because they share some characteristics. They’re both at altitude and ringed by higher mountainous terrain and they can both see elevated temperatures, making them prime candidates for ‘hot and high’ flying. This is a challenge for pilots because the higher you are, and/or the warmer it gets, the more air density and oxygen levels reduce. This means you need to go faster relative to the ground to get the same amount of air over the wings to maintain the same air speed.

‘Basically, the plane will fly higher and faster than you would want it to,’ says Stu. ‘We have to tease the aircraft down from what it wants to do.’

We’ll come back to that. For now, although we’re in the simulator hall at Cathay City in Hong Kong, the view out of the flight deck window shows us at the end of runway 23L at MEX, an airport that sits 7,300 feet above sea level. This runway is used for departures by Cathay Pacific’s freighters only five per cent of the time – but that’s why the sim is such a valuable tool. The chances of one of the four engines failing on take-off from this little-used departure is ‘less than 10 to the power of minus eight,’ says Stu. ‘But that’s part of the remit: we train for things that aren’t going to happen.’

Take off from Mexico City

We’re facing southwest. Twenty miles ahead of us, beyond the city’s sprawl, high mountains loom – but even higher terrain, complete with a snow-capped live volcano, lies around to the left. Our departure will take us on a right turn over the city and back over the airport, within the ‘bowl’ of slightly lower hills. The motion is engaged and we’re pushed back into our seats as we start our take-off roll and point for the skies.

After take-off, the city rushes beneath, but thoughts are on the flight path display. A line running left to right shows the angle of our climb over distance – and the mountains approaching quite quickly that we will turn to avoid. ‘We could just clear those peaks with four engines, but we won’t try,’ says Pete. ‘If we lost an engine, our climb gradient would be much lower.’

On three engines, Pete describes this departure as ‘quite a challenge – there are lots of things to contend with’. But on today’s ‘comfort cruise’ Pete has time to point out ‘quite a good golf course down there’ as we follow the track to Guadalajara, the normal route, before we turn off for the start point of our descent back into MEX, on the track the freighters use coming in from Los Angeles and Anchorage. Now we get to see what ‘hot and high’ really means, and which we are compounding with our heavy weight.

The 747-8F has a maximum landing weight of 346 tonnes. Cathay Pacific’s incoming freighters to MEX from the US will weigh around 340 tonnes. It’s a successful route for cargo, and they’re also laden with enough fuel for two sectors – on to Guadalajara and then back to a US port where fuel is cheaper. ‘It’s a trade-off between cost saving and the margins of operating at a high destination while remaining cost-competitive,’ says Pete.

To land or not to land?

On a mild day at sea level, the 747 would ideally have a landing air and ground speed of around 150kts (knots, around 278kph). But at a hot and high airport like MEX, the thinner air means that to maintain an air speed of 150kts, the speed over the ground has to increase to around 210kts (388kph). Stu adds: ‘MEX is the highest threat port on the Cathay Pacific network. The flight data tells us that.’

Why? Well, the approach requires a steeper rate of descent to stick to the glide path, and the aircraft is already going fast. ‘So what we find is that our pilots can experience a bit of a “ground rush” effect,’ says Stu. ‘The ground seems to come up faster, so our pilots tend to flare [the final lift of the nose before touchdown] higher or more aggressively. That means they then “float” down the runway for longer before touchdown. A five-second float at that speed covers much more ground than a 150kts landing at sea level, so we get some late touchdowns and go-arounds when the pilots decide it is safer to try again.’

There’s no shame in this safety-first approach – it’s instilled into pilots. Pete adds: ‘We tell all our pilots that it’s okay to go around if they are concerned about the approach in any way, and at MEX we don’t have much margin.’

Even touching down at the right point takes a lot of energy to bring the plane to a stop in time. ‘The amount of braking energy can be right at the limits of the airplane,’ says Pete.

We’re on final approach, and the runway does indeed seem to be approaching fast. ‘This is the difference between air and ground speed,’ says Pete. ‘I’m doing 173kts but I’m doing 217kts over the ground.’ Just as we hit the perfect position and speed for landing, Pete slams forward the throttles and lifts the nose for a go-around. ‘That would have been right on the money,’ says Stu approvingly, as we climb to a height where they can recalibrate the flight computers and the operating system for a landing in Hohhot, Inner Mongolia.

Touchdown at Hohhot

Each of the two 747 sims costs around US$20m, and a combination of the Rockwell Collins simulator database and imaging from Google Earth offers real fidelity. Stu says: ‘Before our first charter, we’d never been to Hohhot. But we had the capability to go there first in here, because these are incredibly accurate training devices.’

Even though the charter was scheduled to be a day flight, the aim of the sim session was to give pilots an understanding of the terrain near the airport were the flight to arrive at night, for example. Although lower than MEX at 3,500 feet, HET too is surrounded by high terrain in a basin, and the lofty temperatures make it hot and high.

We’re on approach at 9,500 feet, level with the terrain to our left, and the PAPIs (precision approach path indicators) are showing the effects of hot and high. PAPIs are lights set by the touchdown zone on the runway, which form a visual cue to pilots about their position on the glidepath from many miles out. Pilots see four lights – four reds and they’re too low, four whites too high, two of each and they’re on target for an ideal touchdown. ‘We’ve almost got four whites because we’re hot and high,’ says Stu, who has thoughtfully dialled up the ground temperature to 37 degrees from the control panel. But Pete knows exactly what to do, and he brings us in for a textbook landing.

No sooner are the virtual engines cooling than conversation between the pilots turns to what has been learned, and how to further improve the departure from MEX in an emergency. The civilians among us are just left to marvel at the technology – and the flying skills – on show.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.