調度有方

國泰航空服務有限公司常務總裁華馬克跟我們暢談,並透露早於國泰航空貨運站落成前,他已跟它結下不解之緣

國泰航空服務有限公司(CPSL)是國泰集團的全資附屬企業,位於香港國際機場的國泰航空貨運站便是由CPSL負責營運。今期《Cargo Clan》請來新接任CPSL常務總裁的華馬克暢談。

 

請介紹一下你自己

我加入國泰集團已有16年,職務涉及不同範疇,包括銷售、採購、營運和僱員關係等,不過都集中在商務層面。在效力國泰之前,我在負責出版《Cargo Clan》的公司擔任機上娛樂和傳訊的工作,那時國泰就是我的客戶。因此雖然我加入了國泰大家庭16年,但其實與國泰的工作關係已超逾20載,緣份真奇妙。

 

可否談談你在貨運方面的經驗?

我加入國泰初期曾任職資訊科技產品採購主管,當時我們負責多個國泰貨運的計劃,其中之一正是採購國泰航空貨運站的資訊科技系統。當時貨運站仍在籌建和設計階段,因此可以說,我打從第一天便已參與貨運站的工作。

 

至於比較近期的,則是我任職機組人員關係部的時期,我親眼見證國泰貨運機組人員竭盡所能的專業精神。這種精神一直延續至今,所有國泰機師面對瞬息萬變的規則和限制仍然處變不驚,保持貨運如常運作,令我甚為欽佩。

 

你對這個新崗位的第一印象是什麼?

CPSL擁有一支由資深專才組成的出色團隊,他們深諳貨運站的業務,而且以客為本,凡事均從顧客的角度考量,因此成就了出類拔萃的營運表現,服務水平首屈一指。去年我們的貨運站處理超過1.25億劑2019冠狀病毒病疫苗,我們在端到端的處理方面,進口疫苗貨品我們只需6分鐘便完成,至於轉口疫苗貨品更只需4分鐘,成績相當驕人。

創新科技對貨運站業務有何重要?

創新科技已深深刻在CPSL的營運基因裡。我們採用多層建築結構,並以非常先進的物料處理系統為操作核心,在佔地不多的空間興建這座運力龐大的貨運站。正正因為這個營運基因,直至今天,我們仍然不斷鞭策自己努力創新。

我們剛推出了「智保鮮」存儲箱,搭配物聯網冷鏈系統解決方案,確保需要嚴控溫度的貨物在空運站內能維持理想溫度。「智保鮮」是提供不同溫度選擇的流動溫控存儲箱,可以遙距監控,並精確追蹤其位置,其流動設計讓它可移至最接近的貨車停泊位收取貨物。CPSL一向重視發展創新科技並提供符合客人所需的解決方案,「智保鮮」由我們定制設計,再交由一家本地製造商生產,正是一個很好的例證。

 

面對疫情,貨運站有何應對措施?

2019冠狀病毒病所帶來的影響依然是我們目前最嚴峻而逼切的挑戰,尤其近期本港的確診人數不斷上升,為公司業務增添更多不確定因素。但無論如何,我們一定會將員工的健康和安全放在首位。我們在貨運站內分隔多個空間,安排小型團隊各自在其空間工作,並且不斷進行清潔和消毒,確保貨運站安全無虞。我們要求前線工作人員每兩天做一次病毒檢測,得到陰性報告才能回貨運站上班。我非常感激所有在貨運站工作的同事遵守嚴格規定,並能保持公司為人稱道的服務。

另一個因疫情所造成的問題,就是針對機組人員的檢疫規定,目前國泰貨運的運力因此而下調。

這對業務造成什麼影響?

貨運站的處貨量因為疫情大受影響,幸好我們成功引進新業務:去年有14位新客戶使用我們的貨運站,今年到目前為止再增添兩位新客戶,對目前情況絕對有幫助。我們將一如既往為國泰航空提供足夠運力,但開發新客戶及服務種類亦同樣重要,例如目前我們正為包機航空公司提供服務。

長遠來說你有什麼計劃?

位於華南的大灣區是我們關注的重點地區之一,因為從香港出口的貨物大多在這裡生產。香港機場管理局已宣布計劃在2025年於東莞建立設備齊全的「香港國際機場物流園」,我們亦正在準備於今年下半年推出東莞至香港的多式聯運處貨服務,經海路運送貨物往來東莞和香港。此外,我們還為客戶提供跨境快線(CBX)的貨運服務,由香港從陸路轉運貨物到大灣區內多個地點。這項業務在疫情期間快速增長,我們希望能進一步開拓。

除了擴大業務版圖,並且令貨運站的服務不斷精益求精,我們還在研究如何秉持CPSL的獨特優勢,將之應用到其他相關領域。我們與國泰貨運團隊會更緊密合作,例如在電子商貿的業務拓展商機。

此外,我們亦正在革新企業策略。我們矢志成為世界上最以客為本的貨運站服務供應商,相信熟悉國泰貨運的人士對這個目標不會感到陌生。我們期望能確立全球最佳的基準,成為全球數一數二的貨運站服務供應商。

 

你在公餘有什麼消閒活動?

我的家人大都在香港居住,只有大兒子目前在英國準備應付高考,因此公餘時我會享受家庭樂。目前,香港有不少活動因疫情緣故都無法進行,不過我很享受行山。香港有不少美麗的行山徑,是本地的寶貴資源。除此以外,我亦喜歡看書,並很喜歡看電影,不論是最新出品還是經典名片重溫都不會錯過,我也是香港電影的忠實影迷。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Taking the lead at the terminal

We catch up with CPSL Chief Operating Officer Mark Watts, whose experience with the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal dates back to before it was even built

The Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal at Hong Kong International Airport is operated by the Group’s wholly owned subsidiary, Cathay Pacific Services Limited (CPSL). Cargo Clan caught up with Mark Watts as he settles into his new role as Chief Operating Officer for CPSL.

 

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’ve worked for the Cathay Pacific Group for 16 years across a wide variety of functions, including sales, procurement, operations and employee relations, usually on the commercial side of the business. Before joining Cathay I worked in inflight entertainment and communications (for the then publishers of Cargo Clan), and funnily enough, Cathay was always my customer. So although I’ve worked in Cathay for 16 years, I’ve worked with Cathay for well over 20 years!

 

What is your previous experience with Cargo?

One of my first roles at Cathay was as Head of IT Procurement and we worked on a number of Cathay Cargo projects, including the IT systems for the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal. That was when the terminal was still in the planning and design phase, so you could say I’ve been involved with the terminal right from the very beginning!

More recently when I worked in Flight Crew Relations, I got to see first-hand just how dedicated and professional Cathay Pacific’s freighter flight crew are. I continue to be in awe of the professionalism of all Cathay’s pilots and the way they have handled the challenges of the ever-changing rules and restrictions to keep cargo flying.

 

What are your first impressions in your new role?

We have a great team of seasoned professionals who really understand the cargo terminal business and who also always look at things from the customer’s perspective. This is a key reason for our exceptional operational performance; our service levels really are second to none. We moved more than 125 million doses of COVID-19 vaccines through the terminal last year and our end-to-end processing time is down to six minutes for imports and four minutes for transhipments, which is really impressive.

How important is innovation to the business?

Innovation is built into CPSL’s DNA. The reason I say that is because we built a cargo terminal with a large capacity on a relatively small piece of land by using a multiple level structure, with a fantastically advanced material handling system at its core. Because of this DNA, we continue to push ourselves to innovate today.

We’ve just introduced MobiFresh, which is an IoT-enabled (internet of things) cold chain solution that ensures that temperature-sensitive shipments are kept at the right temperature during their time in the terminal. These are mobile containers with a variable temperature range that we can control remotely, and we can track their location too. As they’re mobile we can move them to the nearest truck dock for collection and so on. They are custom-built to our design by a local manufacturer. It’s another example of the importance we place on innovation and real customer solutions.

 

How is the terminal dealing with the pandemic?

The impact of COVID-19 continues to be the biggest immediate challenge, especially with the number of cases in Hong Kong now rising. We have always put the health and safety of our people first. We deploy small teams working in segregated areas, and there is constant cleaning and disinfecting to keep the terminal safe. Our frontline workers all have to be tested every two days and can only work at the terminal with a negative result. I am extremely grateful for them for their compliance with all of our regulations at the terminal while still maintaining the service for which we are known.

The other issue that flows from the pandemic is that Cathay Pacific’s cargo capacity is down at the moment, because of the restrictions on flight crew.

 

How has that affected business?

Tonnage through the terminal has been impacted, although we have been very successful in bringing in new business – we welcomed 14 new customers to the terminal over the past year and a further two new customers so far in 2022. This has definitely helped. We will always have sufficient capacity for Cathay Pacific, but it is also important for us to develop new customers and service lines – as we are currently doing with charter airlines.

What about the long term?

One of the big focus areas for us is the Greater Bay Area (GBA) of the southern Chinese Mainland, where much of the cargo exported from Hong Kong is produced. The Hong Kong Airport Authority has announced plans for a full scale Hong Kong logistics park in Dongguan from 2025 and we are planning to launch intermodal handling services from Dongguan later this year in preparation, shipping cargo between Dongguan and Hong Kong via sea. We also have a trucking service called CBX (which stands for Cross Border Express) allowing us to offer onbound transportation from Hong Kong to multiple destinations in the GBA. That’s a business that has done well for us during the pandemic and we’d like to develop it further.

Beyond geographic expansion and continuous improvement at the terminal, we are also examining how can we leverage our unique strengths into other related areas. And we’re obviously aligning ourselves with the Cathay Pacific Cargo team and maximising opportunities to work closely with them on e-commerce, for example.

We are also relaunching our corporate strategy. Our vision, which will sound familiar to those who are familiar with Cathay Pacific Cargo’s, is to be the world’s most customer-centric cargo terminal services provider. We want to benchmark ourselves with the world’s very best.

 

Outside of work, what are your interests and priorities?

Time with my family, who are primarily based here in Hong Kong – though my eldest son is currently preparing for his A levels at school in England. Obviously, a lot of Hong Kong activities are not really available at the moment, but I do enjoy hiking. The wonderful trails here are definitely one of Hong Kong’s hidden assets. Beyond that, I’m a keen reader and a bit of a movie buff, so I like to catch up on new releases and revisit old classics. And I’m big fan of Hong Kong cinema too.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.