美洲團隊協助南亞對抗疫情

國泰貨運運送救援物資至印度及孟加拉

國泰貨運再次參與紓緩疫情的行動。最近,美洲團隊兩次向嚴重受影響的印度及孟加拉開展救援行動,協助這兩個地區的民眾對抗疫情。

國泰貨運於5月營運一班波音747貨機,運載俄勒岡州贈予印度的300,000份2019冠狀病毒病測試套裝,由美國波特蘭出發經香港前往孟買。

俄勒岡州州長Kate Brown說:「看到變種病毒在印度造成巨大的人命傷亡,實在令人痛心。在俄勒岡州,我們將會盡力為任何有需要的人提供協助。」

在俄勒岡州州立衛生局及行政服務部的協調下,國泰貨運、貨運代理商勁達物流及物流公司Davis Trucking共同為此次行動免費提供服務。

波特蘭港的貿易及公平發展負責人Keith Leavitt補充說:「我們非常感謝州政府、國泰航空及其他本地夥伴通力合作,促成此次救援行動。」

去年,國泰貨運亦曾調動貨運航班運送重要的抗疫物資前往俄勒岡州,當時運送了100萬個醫療口罩,用於緩解當地前線醫護人員的迫切需求。

繼波特蘭貨運航班之後,國泰貨運本月再從多倫多運送救援物資前往達卡。此次與人道主義救援組織Airlink合作,以兩個集裝板合共運送5,000個面罩,用於派發給負責為羅興亞難民提供醫療服務的孟加拉醫護人員。

國泰航空美洲貨運副總裁Fred Ruggiero說:「國泰航空很榮幸能與美洲區的合作夥伴攜手對抗2019冠狀病毒病,為減緩全球疫情略盡綿力。過去一年,我們優先處理人道救援的任務,單是印度,我們已運送了超過100噸緊急人道救援及醫療物資至當地。在此,我要向美洲團隊及當地合作夥伴致以誠摯謝意,由於他們的努力,方可成就這些意義非凡的任務。」

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Team Americas chips in with COVID-19 assistance for South Asia

Cathay Pacific Cargo assists with relief flights to India and Bangladesh

Cathay Pacific Cargo has made a further contribution to pandemic relief efforts. The Americas team recently helped with two relief efforts for India and Bangladesh, to help contend with the spike in cases in the region.

The first of these was in May, with an airlift of 300,000 COVID-19 testing kits for India: a gift from the State of Oregon. The shipment departed Portland for Mumbai via Hong Kong on one of Cathay Pacific Cargo’s Boeing 747 freighters.

‘It’s simply devastating what is happening in India as COVID-19 variants exact an enormous toll on human lives,’ said Oregon Governor Kate Brown. ‘In Oregon, we step up to help those in need by offering any help we can give.’

Cathay Pacific Cargo, forwarder Expeditors and logistics company Davis Trucking partnered with the Oregon Health Authority and Department of Administrative Services, offering their services free of charge for the shipment.

Port of Portland Chief Trade and Equitable Development Officer Keith Leavitt added: ‘We’re so grateful to the state, Cathay Pacific and the other local partners that stepped up to make this flight happen.’

Last year, Cathay Pacific Cargo had adjusted its air cargo operations to ship essential COVID-19 supplies to Oregon, carrying one million surgical masks into the state when they were urgently needed by frontline healthcare workers.

The Portland freighter flight was followed by a shipment this month from Toronto bound for Dhaka. Working with Airlink, Cathay Pacific Cargo carried 5,000 face shields across two pallets for distribution to healthcare workers providing medical care to Rohingya refugees in Bangladesh.

‘Cathay Pacific is proud to work with our partners in the Americas in the global fight against COVID-19,’ said Fred Ruggiero, Cathay Pacific Vice-President Cargo, Americas. ‘We have prioritised humanitarian relief efforts over the past year, delivering more than 100 tons of much-needed humanitarian and medical supplies to India alone. I would like to thank our teams in the Americas and our local partners for making these shipments possible.’

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.