空中挪亞方舟

隨著運送動物的需求增加,國泰貨運致力在機上為動物提供安全、舒適及健康的旅程,並視之為首要任務

國泰航空貨運服務總經理劉爾修道出運送動物工作簡單而重要的第一步:「首要我們全都非常喜愛動物。」

他補充道:「我們向來把確保貨物得到最高水平的保障放在首位,動物有生命,具備知覺,牠們在運送途中處於跟平常不同的環境,可能會害怕。這是運送動物工作的起步點:我們不只要在運送旅途中悉心照顧動物的健康,也必須了解牠們的感受,確保牠們安全及舒適。」

畢竟不同動物的形狀及體型各異,因此有不同的考慮及要求。從動物園運送一頭稀有的豹到另一個動物園參與繁殖計劃,跟運送一群山羊或多頭全球最珍貴的馬匹,甚至數百盤雛雞都不一樣,每種動物都有其最合適的運送方式。國泰貨運的貨運服務發展經理Nadeem Khan說:「因應每種動物特點各異,我們按照各個物種設定其專屬的接受運送指引,不同動物所需的處理方式可能大相徑庭。」

準備充足便是成功的一半。貨運團隊擬定了一份清單給付運人填寫,務求在付運人預訂艙位前盡可能得知相關動物的詳細資料,並且確保運送符合國際航空運輸協會(IATA)的活體動物運輸規定及國泰本身的指引;同時,因為全球各地的嚴格規定各異,所以也要清楚了解原居地及目的地的國家法律。但最重要的是全力提升動物乘客的安全及舒適度,他說:「這麽一來,我們就能在接受運送前預先處理問題。」

專業來自經驗,自國泰在去年運送12,000頭山羊之後,Khan對牠們擁有透徹的認識,此乃一例。不過團隊並不會止步,而是繼續從付運人採用的最佳處理方法中學習,甚至會留意媒體報導的最新消息,以保持與時並進。Khan說:「我們積極獲取各種資訊,這樣才能不斷學習,不斷求進。」

由於運送動物的需求增加,同時亦為預計今年年底將會通過的IATA活體動物物流驗證做好準備,國泰貨運著手改革並專注於釐定相關政策及流程,加快汲取知識。這舉措進一步證明國泰矢志精益求精,並在運送動物的服務中不斷求進的精神。劉爾修補充說:「我們亦會向IATA分享國泰運送動物的經驗,讓IATA不斷完善活體動物運輸規定的內容。」

國泰設有專責動物運送的工作小組,由來自公司多個部門的成員組成,包括國泰貨運的策劃及商務部,以及國泰航空的工程部及航務部等。Khan說:「商務部團隊會向付運人呈交我們期望合約包含的內容,以便消除雙方的疑慮。我們也會請出發及目的地國家的團隊加入,確保他們明白接下來的流程,並準備好文件及所需設施。」

機上貴客

運送動物的飛機需要不少周詳的考慮。《毒蛇嚇機》是一部緊張刺激的優秀電影,但現實中在機上逃脫的動物對牠本身和飛機都會構成危險,因此,運送動物的籠子是非常重要的一環。

這些籠子不僅是Khan所形容的「動物的座位」,而且某些動物的籠子並不設標準規格,當中不少需特別訂製。籠子必須夠堅固,例如運送犀牛的籠子就要比運送山羊的做更多加固工夫,而設計則必須滿足不同動物對健康、安全及舒適的要求。理想的籠子必須設備齊全及擁有獨立結構,以便防止動物排泄物滲漏,這不僅是為了方便在完成航班後清潔及保持衛生,萬一排泄物溢出更可能構成潛在維修問題。

Khan表示:「有時我們會為了讓動物在運送過程中有更安全及舒適的旅程,會要求客戶修改籠子。付運人通常都很樂意接受我們的意見,因為這都是為動物設想。」

由於運作上有許多方面需要顧及,因此需要航務部及工程部的團隊幫忙。工作小組成員之一的(波音)首席副機師Stu Baker(下圖左二,他與同僚跟機上運載的山羊合照)說:「其中一個主要問題,是哺乳類動物會產生熱量及濕度,因此運載特定物種的動物數量會有上限。」

在接受運送動物的訂單之前,貨運策劃要先確保貨機有能力接載預訂數量的動物。其中一個關鍵因素是確保貨機的空調系統能夠讓動物在機上處於指定溫度的環境。

Baker說:「貨運團隊在運送動物時會與我們緊密合作。我們需讓機師事先知道機上有動物,絕不會讓他們在不知情的情況下運載動物飛行。我們會在執飛前簡報會通知他們把溫度調到適當的度數,因為每種動物需要的溫度不同。例如運載乳牛時,付運人通常會要求把溫度調至攝氏22度左右,豬大概需要攝氏18至20度之間,賽駒則喜歡攝氏15度的環境。」

進行嚴格的溫度控制也必須與綜合運作中心協調,確保機上的空調組件正常運作,而且當飛機在地面載貨及卸貨時,機尾的輔助動力系統依然能為空調設備提供電力。Baker指出,如果輔助動力系統出岔子,運載一般貨物的飛機可能會停飛,但載有動物的飛機則一定會停飛。

以動物福祉為優先

Baker表示,在國泰負責運送動物的跨部門工作小組帶領下,公司不斷改進接載動物的貨機運作,其中有些流程更納入了機師的模擬駕駛培訓內容中。

「我們發現可以從多方面精益求精,讓動物在機上更為舒適。例如降落時調至較低的自動剎停設定,讓飛機不會太快減速。飛機降落時,很多動物可能都是站立的,在跑道滑行更長距離,牠們會比較舒服。」

然後還要為意料之外的狀況做好準備。他說:「萬一機上發生緊急狀況時,我們會在可行的情況下為動物設想,制定決策及優先次序,不是每一間航空公司都會採取類似的舉措。」

以降壓措施為例,即使貨艙內設有氧氣面罩,山羊也不會懂得自行佩戴。他說:「我們已開始訓練機師,在進行緊急程序時,應該考慮將飛機維持在機上動物接受的氧氣水平的高度。萬一我們的貨機發生降壓事件,一般而言我們會下降到大約25,000呎、戴上氧氣面罩,然後再決定改道至合適的航點。現在我們會告訴機組人員:如果地形不是問題,不妨考慮把飛機下降到較低高度,並保持較低的座艙高度以維護動物的健康。」

機師的回應都很正面,他們對自己接載的動物感到自豪,尤其是賽駒。Baker憶及自己曾接載過的Coolmore牧場種馬,包括賽駒「天文學家」及「信可成真」,這些名駒身價不凡,加起來的總值比牠們乘搭的波音747貨機更昂貴。航務風險經理Pete Hudson是Baker的同事兼同行機師,他表示有時會透過控制桿感覺到馬匹在踢馬廄,「牠們是在告訴我,該派馬伕下來照顧他們了。」

就像對待最尊貴的乘客,Khan的團隊同樣會確保動物在登機及下機時都暢通無阻。「動物總是最後一個登機和第一個下機的乘客。」飛機以時速5海里的速度徐徐降落之後,動物們便會前往下一個目的地,運送動物的團隊會聚首匯報,確保下一次運送動物旅程更為舒適愉快。

如欲了解更多Live Animal LIFT的詳情,請按此

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

The flying ark

As the demand for live animal shipments increases, Cathay Pacific Cargo is putting comfort and welfare first

‘The important thing is that we are all animal lovers,’ says Frosti Lau, GM Cargo Service Delivery at Cathay Pacific. It’s a simple starting point for shipments that are anything but.

‘Shipment care has always been front of mind for us and live animals are sentient beings and they will experience some unfamiliar sensations when they travel with us,’ Lau adds. ‘That’s where it all starts: our instincts are not just about animal welfare, but also their safety and comfort as we understand it.’

After all, animals come in all sorts of shapes and sizes, and each has different considerations and requirements. What’s good for a rare leopard on a trip between zoos as part of a breeding programme is not necessarily what’s good for a herd of goats, or some of the world’s most valuable horses, or even hundreds of trays of day-old chicks. ‘Each animal has different characteristics,’ says Nadeem Khan, Cargo Services Development Manager, ‘so we have dedicated acceptance guidelines for each type of animal, and they need to be handled in totally different ways.’

Preparation is all. The Cargo team has created a checklist for shippers to get as much information about the animals as possible before a booking, and to ensure that shipments will meet the guidelines of the IATA Live Animal Regulations – plus the airline’s own guidelines, as well as the national laws at origin and destination, which vary in their stringency across the globe. But the overall aim is to maximise the safety and comfort of our animal passengers. ‘This means we can work through any concerns ahead of acceptance,’ says Khan.

Expertise comes from experience – for example, after shipping 12,000 goats in the past year, Khan knows their foibles well. But the team also learns from best practice across the industry and even monitors the media to keep up to date. ‘We are actively hungry for information,’ says Khan, ‘so that we keep learning and keep improving.’

This task is also being accelerated as Cathay Pacific Cargo streamlines and focuses its policies and processes not just because of the growing demand for animal shipments, but also in preparation for IATA’s CEIV Live Animals certification, which the airline is likely to receive before the end of the year. This is a further demonstration of the airline’s commitment to quality and continuous improvement to animal shipments. ‘We also feedback our experience to IATA so that it continues to enhance the Live Animal Regulations,’ adds Lau.

There’s a dedicated working group for animal shipments, involving teams from across the business. Typically this involves the planning and commercial teams from Cargo, along with Engineering and Flight Operations among others. ‘The commercial team will then present the shipper with the inclusions in the contract that we want to have, to clear up doubts,’ says Khan. ‘We will also involve the teams at origin and destination to ensure they know what’s coming and that the paperwork and facilities are prepared.’

Animals on board

On board the aircraft there are many considerations. Snakes on a Plane is a great title and premise for a film, but loose animals are a danger to themselves and the aircraft. That makes the shipping crate very important.

Not only is it ‘the animal’s seat’, as Khan puts it, but there is no standardised load device for some animals: many need to be custom made. They need to be sufficiently robust, with more reinforcement for a rhino than a goat, for example – and each design also has to fulfil many criteria of welfare, safety and comfort. Ideally, they need to be self-contained to prevent leakage. This isn’t just about post-flight cleaning and hygiene: excessive ‘spillages’ are potential maintenance issues.

‘Sometimes we will ask the customer to modify the crate to create a safer and more comfortable journey for the animals’ says Khan. ’Shippers appreciate this sort of feedback because it’s better for the animals.’

Operationally, there’s a lot to think about, and this is why the flight and engineering teams get involved too. ‘One of the main issues is that mammals generate heat and humidity, so there are limits on how many of a particular species can be carried,’ says Stu Baker, Deputy Chief Pilot (Boeing), and a member of the working group (second from left, below, on board with a goat shipment).

Prior to accepting a livestock shipment, Cargo Planning ensure that the aircraft is capable of carrying the planned number of livestock. A crucial element of this is to ensure that the aircraft’s air-conditioning system can keep the livestock at the requested temperature.

‘We coordinate very closely when there are livestock shipments with the Cargo team,’ says Baker. ‘The aim is that our pilots never turn up at the aircraft not knowing they’ve got livestock on board. They’ll be briefed about getting the aircraft set to the right temperature because every animal is different. If we have dairy cattle the shippers usually request a temperature of around 22 degrees, pigs tend to be between 18 and 20 degrees, and racehorses like 15 degrees.’

This temperature sensitivity also requires coordinating with the Integrated Operations Centre (IOC) to ensure they make available an aircraft which has all of its air conditioning packs operational, and the APU (auxiliary power unit) in the tail working to power them on the ground during loading and unloading. Any defects here may be a ‘no-go’ issue for an aircraft laden with general cargo, but with livestock, it’s now a mandatory consideration, Baker notes.

Thinking animal-first

The cross-airline working group’s involvement with animal shipments has led to something of a continual improvement of freighter operations with animals on board, and some of these are factored into sim training for pilots, according to Baker.

‘We realised that there are all sorts of things we could do in terms of comfort,’ he says. ‘We use lower auto-brake settings on landing, so the aircraft won’t decelerate as quickly on landing. We use a bit more runway, but we know that’s better for animals that may be standing during landing.’

Then there is preparation for those situations when the unexpected may occur. ‘I don’t know any other airline that actually has introduced decision-making and prioritisation where possible for the welfare of livestock when there’s an emergency on board,’ he says.

Take depressurisation as an example. Even if there were oxygen masks on the cargo deck, goats wouldn’t be able to put them on themselves. ‘We have now started to introduce considerations for pilots, during emergency procedures, to maintain acceptable levels of oxygen for the livestock on board,’ he says. ‘If we had a depressurization event in a freighter, we would normally descend to about 25,000 feet, put oxygen masks on and make a decision on appropriate diversion ports. Now we say to the crew: consider descending lower, if terrain isn’t an issue, and maintain a lower cabin altitude to help with animal welfare.’

Pilots are responding and they take pride in what they carry, especially racehorses. Baker recalls carrying some of the great Coolmore breeding stallions, Galileo and So You Think: taken together, they were worth more than the Boeing 747 freighter they flew on. Baker’s colleague and fellow pilot Flight Operations Risk Manager Pete Hudson says that he can sometimes feel his equine charges kicking their stalls through the control column. ‘It’s their way of telling me it’s time to send the groom down to look after them,’ he says.

And as with proper VIPs, Khan’s team will ensure that boarding and disembarkation are as stress-free as possible. ‘Live animals are last to board and first off,’ he says. After a gentle 5kph tow to the terminal, off they go to their next destination – and the team debriefs to work out how to make the next journey even better.

To learn more about Live Animal LIFT, click here.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.