邁向可持續發展的未來

國泰航空2021年度可持續發展報告績效亮點

國泰航空最近發表的2021年度可持續發展報告,詳細列出集團致力減少碳足跡的目標和成就,以及矢志成為亞洲區內更出色和更重視環保的航空公司的決心。

國泰航空集團一直竭盡所能克服重重難關,包括應對疫情的變數,並致力實現國際航空運輸協會為航空貨運業制定於2050年達致碳中和的目標。公司秉承長遠的可持續發展信念,努力加快業務的復蘇步伐,讓業務重回正軌。以下是國泰航空迄今的部分績效表現和未來計劃,以及國泰貨運董事歐永棠對不同範疇的灼見。

氣候變化

「我們認同航空業必須減碳,同時積極參與紓解全球暖化對地球帶來的嚴重後果。我們的持份者亦期望我們採取行動,因此,國泰將會積極應對源自氣候變化的風險並把握機遇,以確保業務繼續蓬勃發展,並順利過渡至碳中和的目標。」– 國泰貨運董事歐永棠

2021年國泰航空的進展:

  • 定下目標,於2030年或之前將可持續航空燃油的使用量提升至10%,並聯同「寰宇一家」的成員航空公司共同採購超過3.5億加侖可持續航空燃油。

  • 截至目前為止,國泰共使用了68,340加侖可持續航空燃油,減少排放約521噸二氧化碳當量。

  • 與Boston Consulting Group及另外九家航空公司創立「航空界氣候變化工作組」,旨在催化初期技術方面的突破,讓航空業的運作更貼合時代需求。

  • 受新冠疫情影響,集團於2021年合共排放606萬噸二氧化碳,較2020年減少20%。

  • 透過「飛向更藍天」計劃為顧客提供的碳排放抵銷方案,2021年共抵銷了27,280噸碳排放量,當中包括個別乘客所抵銷的3,282噸,以及企業客戶所抵銷的16,236噸。

  • 持續推行機隊現代化,接收了六架全新的高燃油效益客機,包括一架A350-900、兩架A350-1000及三架A321neo;香港快運則接收了一架全新的A320neo空中巴士。

 

2022年國泰航空的目標:

  • 制訂短期、中期及長期工作計劃,以達至2050年或之前實現凈零碳排放的目標。

  • 為個別顧客及企業客戶增強碳抵銷方案。

  • 與業界夥伴合作,於亞洲區內加速研發和採用可持續航空燃油。

  • 以2018年作基線,制定計劃於2030年前減少地面排放32%及2035年前減少55%。

營運中的可持續性

「作為一家領先的航空公司,我們必須妥善管理自身業務對環境的影響。我們會繼續將環保概念及可持續措施融入企業文化以及在地面和空中的業務運作當中。」– 國泰貨運董事歐永棠

2021年國泰航空的進展:

  • 支持香港國際機場於2050年前達至凈零碳排放,以及到2035年減少實際碳排放55%的長遠減碳承諾。

  • 國泰航空貨運站成功減少663兆瓦時電力消耗,相等於減少排放245噸二氧化碳當量,同時採用含30%循環再用物料的聚氯乙烯塑膠膜,以減少使用簇新的一次性塑膠。

  • 繼續以電子化機上手冊「飛行資料夾」取代駕駛艙內重達70公斤的實體手冊和紙張文件,在所有客運及貨運航班全面運作時每年可節省約13,400噸紙張。

 

2022年國泰航空的目標:

  • 優先考慮復飛正停泊及存放在海外較新及更具燃油效益的航機。

  • 持續邁向目標,務求在2022年底前按2018年的基準減少使用50%一次性塑膠製品。

  • 繼續將多出的食物重新分配予有需要的社群,以減少浪費。

生物多樣性

「國泰航空一向積極防止瀕危動植物物種的非法貿易,不時修訂禁運清單,極力遏止該等非法貿易,並在運送活體動物的旅程中,往往以牠們的福祉和安全為首要任務。」– 國泰貨運董事歐永棠

2021年國泰航空的進展:

  • 獲國際航空運輸協會頒發活體動物物流認證

  • 增加更多對動物、野生生物及其產品的禁運清單項目,涵蓋狩獵戰利品、鯊魚翅、犀牛角和象牙製品,還有活體動物如用於賽狗比賽的格雷伊獵犬和進行實驗研究用的動物。

  • 按照國泰的《支持可持續發展貨運政策》,對151家貨運代理商進行了1,455次空運貨物審查。

 

2022年國泰航空的目標:

  • 繼續與民間保育組織合作,杜絕非法野生動物交易。

  • 檢視及更新公司的《支持可持續發展貨運政策》。

集團的同事

「我們的目標是晉身全球最以客為本之列的傑出服務品牌。為此,我們致力吸引、培育和留住背景多元而且言行恰當的人才,以便推行貨運策略。我們將會繼續投放資源,並專注於為員工帶來與時並進及令他們引以為傲的工作體驗。」– 國泰貨運董事歐永棠

An illustration of two people high-fiving, with a Cathay Pacific Cargo 747 freighter and pride rainbow flags in the background

2021年國泰航空的進展:

  • 支持國際航空運輸協會提出的「25by2025」計劃,承諾到2025年把擔任高級職位的女性人數提升25%,以達至30%的整體水平。

  • 為同事提供無意識偏見訓練及推出性小眾盟友計劃,以持續推廣共融文化。

  • 成立多元共融督導委員會和專責團隊以定立目標並推動變革。

 

2022年國泰航空的目標:

  • 繼續致力為所有同事提供包容互勉的工作環境,並以達至真正共融為目標。

社區

「在疫情持續影響全球各地社區之際,我們繼續竭盡所能從各方面施以援手,為有需要的香港市民提供協助。我們亦透過企業及義工計劃,持續不斷關注世界各地的社區,提供適當的支援。」– 國泰貨運董事歐永棠

An illustration showing a Cathay Pacific Cargo 747-8F plane carrying a vacci

2021年國泰航空的進展:

  • 已運送超過1.65億劑疫苗至香港及其他地區。

  • 捐贈超過400萬件物品,包括餐具、毛氈、兒童用品及翻新的平板電腦。

 

2022年國泰航空的目標:

  • 繼續支援社區,一起共渡時艱。

  • 鼓勵並安排同事參與義工活動服務社群。

  • 與政府緊密合作配合運送疫苗。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Working towards a sustainable future

Highlights of Cathay Pacific’s annual Sustainable Development Report

Cathay Pacific recently published its Sustainable Development Report 2021, which outlines the airline group’s commitments and achievements in reducing its carbon footprint and becoming a better and more environmentally friendly neighbour.

As an airline group, it is determined to overcome challenges to come, from pandemic uncertainties to carbon neutrality by 2050 across the air-cargo industry as outlined by IATA’s vision. It’s vital to manage the recovery and rebuilding process with long-term sustainability in mind. Below are some of Cathay Pacific’s achievements to date, and objectives with commentary from Director Cargo Tom Owen.

CLIMATE CHANGE

‘We recognise that our industry must decarbonise to contribute to global efforts to avert the worst effects of a warming planet. Our stakeholders expect us to take action, so we will be proactive in adapting to the risks and opportunities posed by climate change to ensure our business will thrive as we transition to a carbon-neutral future.’ – Tom Owen, Director Cargo

In 2021, Cathay Pacific:

  • Set a target to use 10% sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) for flights by 2030 and signed an agreement with oneworld airlines for the joint purchase of more than 350 million gallons of SAF.

  • Used 68,340 gallons of SAF to date, avoiding approximately 521 tonnes of CO2 emissions.

  • Joined with the Boston Consulting Group and nine other airlines to launch the Aviation Climate Taskforce, which aims to accelerate breakthroughs in emerging technology to modernise aviation.

  • Reduced 20% of CO2 emissions across the Group to only 6.06 million tonnes in 2021 from the year before, with further impact from COVID-19.

  • Offset a total of 27,280 tonnes of carbon emissions produced by flight operations with the Fly Greener programme, of which 3,282 and 16,236 tonnes were offset by individual and corporate customers respectively.

  • Continued to modernise its fleet by taking delivery of six new fuel-efficient aircraft, including one Airbus A350-900, two A350-1000s and three A321neos. HK Express took delivery of one new A320neo.

 

For 2022, Cathay Pacific will:

  • Devise short-, mid- and long-term work plans to meet net-zero carbon goals by 2050.

  • Strengthen its carbon-offset solutions for individual and corporate customers.

  • Work with industry partners to accelerate SAF development and deployment in the region.

  • Devise plans to reduce ground emissions by 32% before 2030 and 55% by 2035, from a 2018 baseline.

SUSTAINABILITY IN OPERATIONS

‘As a leading global airline, managing the environmental impacts of our operations is imperative. We will continue to embed an environmentally responsible mindset in our culture and sustainable practices in our operations on the ground and in the air.’ – Tom Owen, Director Cargo

In 2021, Cathay Pacific:

  • Supported Hong Kong International Airport’s (HKIA) long-term carbon pledge to achieve net zero by 2050, with a 55% reduction of absolute ground emissions by 2035.

  • Achieved a 663 MWh reduction in electricity consumption at the Cathay Pacific Cargo Terminal, representing an emissions reduction of 245 tonnes CO2e. It also adopted PVC plastic sheets made from 30% recycled content to reduce the use of virgin single-use plastic.

  • Continued to run the electronic Flight Folder, which replaces the 70 kg of manuals and paperwork needed in the cockpit on every flight. The project will save around 13,400 tonnes of paper per year when operating a full passenger and cargo schedule.

 

For 2022, Cathay Pacific will:

  • Give priority to its newer more fuel-efficient aircraft being introduced back into service from overseas parking and storage.

  • Continue to progress towards our target of reducing single-use plastics usage by 50% from a 2018 baseline by the end of 2022.

  • Engage in innovative projects related to single-use plastics and food-waste reduction.

BIODIVERSITY

‘Cathay Pacific has always played an active role in preventing illegal trade of endangered species. We regularly update our Embargo List and remain vigilant in preventing this awful trade from happening, and we will continue to ensure that all of our live animal shipments put welfare and safety first.’ – Tom Owen, Director Cargo

In 2021, Cathay Pacific:

  • Received IATA’s CEIV Live Animals accreditation.

  • Increased the number of embargoes placed on animals, wildlife and wildlife products to include items such as hunting trophies, shark fins, rhino horns and ivory, as well as live species like racing greyhounds and animals intended for testing purposes.

  • Carried out 1,455 air cargo screenings on 151 freight forwarding agents in line with its Sustainable Development Cargo Carriage Policy.

 

For 2022, Cathay Pacific will:

  • Continue to work with civil society organisations to prevent illegal wildlife trades.

  • Review and update its Sustainable Development Cargo Carriage Policy.

PEOPLE

‘Our vision is to become one of the world’s most customer-centric air cargo service brands, so we will aim to attract, develop and retain a diverse group of talented people with the right behaviours to deliver our Cargo Strategy. We will continue to invest and focus on delivering a modern, contemporary employee experience of which our people can be proud.’ – Tom Owen, Director Cargo

An illustration of two people high-fiving, with a Cathay Pacific Cargo 747 freighter and pride rainbow flags in the background

In 2021, Cathay Pacific:

  • Committed to the IATA 25by2025 initiative, which aims to increase female representation at senior levels. By 2025, we have pledged to increase the number of females in senior leadership positions by 25%, reaching 30% overall.

  • Rolled out unconscious bias and LGBTQ+ allyship training for all employees to further strengthen its inclusive culture.

  • Established a Diversity and Inclusion Steering Committee and a dedicated team to set goals and drive change.

 

For 2022, Cathay Pacific will:

  • Continue building an inclusive and supportive work environment for its people and work towards having a truly inclusive workplace.

COMMUNITY

‘As the impacts of the pandemic continue to affect communities across the world, we will continue to assist wherever we can, and support citizens in need in our home city of Hong Kong. We will also continue to aid communities around the world through our corporate and volunteer programmes.’ – Tom Owen, Director Cargo

An illustration showing a Cathay Pacific Cargo 747-8F plane carrying a vaccine syringe

In 2021, Cathay Pacific:

  • Delivered more than 165 million vaccine doses to Hong Kong and beyond.

  • Donated more than 4 million items including catering equipment, blankets, childcare kits, and refurbished tablet computers.

 

For 2022, Cathay Pacific will:

  • Continue to support the community throughout this time of crisis.

  • Encourage and arrange employee volunteering for the community.

  • Work closely with governments to facilitate the transportation of vaccines.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.