香港榮登空運樞紐排名之首

香港在兩項貨運類別登上國際機場協會世界十大機場排名榜首

香港國際機場在國際機場協會的2021年度排名中,獲選為全球最繁忙的貨運機場。香港樞紐去年的貨運量達5,025,495噸,較2020年上升12.5%,迫使2020年排名榜首美國孟菲斯國際機場於2021年屈居第二。而在「國際空運」噸量方面,香港同樣冠絕全球,吞吐量高達4,986,256噸,較2020年上升12. 8%。

香港於2021年共處理約500萬噸貨品,當中國泰貨運承運1,333,353噸,與2020年的表現相若,不過仍較疫情前的水平為低。

國泰貨運董事歐永棠說:「香港保持全球首要航空物流樞紐的地位,並會繼續利用其策略位置的優勢,配合香港特區政府的未來投資及對物流有利的政策,一展所長。」

 

善用機隊

受到2021年的疫情影響,國泰不少客機均要停航,國泰貨運為此想方設法為顧客提升貨運力,包括盡用旗下的20架波音747貨機、營運破紀錄的包機,並營運7,867對只載貨客機航班及改裝六架波音777客機,拆除客艙座椅利用客艙空間載貨的「貨運客機」。此外,貨運團隊更靈活調配國泰集團的香港華民航空機隊,待專機為DHL完成通宵速遞服務後,再為亞洲區提供額外日間航班。

儘管2022年初困難重重,但國泰相信年底將可以逐步恢復更多客運運力。歐永棠補充:「在今年年底前,我們將會恢復營運疫情前約25%的客機航班,讓我們的貨運運力維持在疫情前的65%。」

 

投資不絕

再者,航空公司和機場亦積極投資,可見業界不同層面均對香港作為南中國大灣區航空門戶的地位依然充滿信心。當中包括香港國際機場開放新落成的第三跑道,預計於2024年三跑道系統便可全面啟用。

歐永棠最後總結:「國泰貨運以香港為家,對此深感自豪。未來香港空運樞紐將成就非凡,我們會繼續扮演關鍵角色,並且投資自家物流鏈,以掌握區內的發展機遇。」

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Hong Kong tops the rankings as number one air cargo hub

Airports Council International (ACI) World top ten rankings place Hong Kong top in two cargo categories

Hong Kong International Airport was the busiest cargo airport in 2021, according to the Airports Council International (ACI) World annual rankings. In 2021, the Hong Kong hub handled 5,025,495 tonnes of cargo, up 12.5 per cent on 2020, and enough to put Memphis International Airport back into second place after it had taken the top spot in 2020. Hong Kong also topped the tonnages for ‘international freight’ with 4,986,256 tonnes, an increase of 12.8 per cent against 2020.

Of the five million tonnes handled at Hong Kong in 2021, Cathay Pacific Cargo carried 1,333,353 tonnes, which was consistent with performance in 2020, but still below pre-pandemic levels.

Cathay Pacific Director Cargo Tom Owen said: ‘Hong Kong remains the premier air cargo logistics hub in the world and continues to build on the advantages of its strategic location with future investment and logistics-friendly policies from the Hong Kong SAR Government.’

 

Fleet utilisation

With so much of its passenger fleet stood down because of the pandemic in 2021, Cathay Pacific Cargo boosted cargo capacity for customers in a number of ways. It maximised usage of its 20-strong Boeing 747 freighter fleet, operated a record number of charters, flew 7,867 pairs of cargo-only passenger flights and also converted six Boeing 777s into cabin-load ‘preighters’  – passenger aircraft with their seats removed. Additionally, the cargo team was able to deploy the Cathay Pacific Group’s Air Hong Kong fleet with supplementary regional daytime flying after its overnight work for DHL.

Despite a difficult start to the year, the end of 2022 will be marked by the progressive reintroduction of the passenger fleet. ‘By the year end, around a quarter of our passenger fleet will be operating, which will enable us to operate around 65 per cent of our pre-pandemic cargo capacity,’ added Owen.

 

Investment continues

Additionally, investment at both airline and airport level has continued reflecting confidence in Hong Kong as the air gateway to the Greater Bay Area of the southern Chinese Mainland. This has included the opening of the new third runway, which will enable full three-runway operations from 2024.

‘Cathay Pacific Cargo is proud to call Hong Kong our home,’ concluded Owen. ‘We will continue to play a central role in the future success of the Hong Kong air cargo hub and make our own investments in the logistics chain to realise future growth opportunities for the region.’

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.